Guides/Art Research
Vibiana Bowman, Reference Librarian
ART RESEARCH
Contents:
RESEARCH GUIDES
- Arntzen, E. Guide to the Literature of Art History (REF N380.A7)
[1980].
- Annotated guide.
- Jones, L.S. Art Research Methods and Resources(REF N85.J64
1984).
- Art reference sources and research techniques.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
& DICTIONARIES
- The Dictionary of Art 34 vols. (REF N31.D5 1996)
- Extensive coverage of all areas of art. Most entries include a source
bibliography.
- Dictionary of the Middle Ages 13 vols. (REF D114.D5 1982).
- Multi volume set on all aspects of the period.
- Encyclopedia of World Art, 1959-1987 16 vols. (REF N31.E533).
- Scholarly, authoritative articles.
- International Dictionary of Art and Artists 2 vols. (REF
N31.I58 1990).
- Two volume set presenting essays on important artists and discussions
of over 500 individual works of art.
- McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Art (REF N33.M23).
- Over 15,000 entries on all aspects of art.
- New Catholic Encyclopedia 17 vols. (REF BX841.N44 1967).
- Background information on religious art, saints, etc.
- Renaissance Art: A Topical Dictionary (REF N6370.E27 1987).
- Rochelle, M. Historical Art Index, A.D. 400-1650: People, Places,
and Events Depicted (REF N8210.R6 1989).
- Wright, C. World's Master Paintings From the Early Renaissance
to the Present Day (REF ND40.W75 1991).
- Contains information on the paintings of 1,300 artists including
biographical material, name and location of paintings and short bibliography.
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES ON ARTISTS
- Benezit, E. Dictionnaire des Peintres Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs
et Graveurs 10 vols. (REF N40.B47 1976).
- Champlin, J.D. Cyclopedia of Painters and Paintings (REF
ND30.C4 1969).
- Havlice, P.P. Index to Artistic Biography [1973] and Supplement (REF
N40.H38 Suppl.) [1973].
- Finding list for locating information about individual artists from
over 134 biographical dictionaries. Biography and Genealogy Master
Index (REF CT214.B561) also is helpful for locating information
in a number of biographical source books. The latest edition is available
in CD-ROM (REF DESK).
SYMBOLISM
& ICONOGRAPHIES - DICTIONARIES & HANDBOOKS
- Bernen, S. Myth & Religion in European Painting,1270-1700
(REF ND1288.B47 1973).
- Cooper, J.C. Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Traditional Symbols (REF
BL603.C66) [1978].
- Gaskell, G. Dictionary of All Scriptures and Myths, (REF
BL603.G3 1960).
- Hall, J. Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (REF N7560.H34
1974B).
- Jobes, G. Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols 3
vols. (REF GR35 .J6).
- Liungman, C.G. Dictionary of Symbols (REF BL603.L5413 1991).
- Mercatante, A. S. Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology
and Legend (REF BL303.M45 1988).
- Olderr,S. Symbolism: A Comprehensive Dictionary (REF CB475.O38
1986).
MYTHOLOGY
& CLASSICAL ART
- Coulson, W.D. Greek and Roman Art, Architecture, and Archaeology (REF
N5610.C68 1987).
- Fox, W.S. Mythology of All Races 13 vols. (REF BL25.M81964)
- Halton, T. Classical Scholarship (REF DE59.H341986).
- Jobes, G. Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols (REF
GR35.J6).
- Oxford Classical Dictionary (REF DE5.O9 1970).
- Peradotto, J. Classical Mythology: An Annotated Bibliographic
Survey (REF Z7836.P4).
- Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites (REF DE59.P7).
- Reid, J.D. Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts,
1300-1990s (REF NX650.M9R45 1993).
- Rochelle, M. Mythological and Classical World Art Index : A Locator
of Paintings, Sculptures,...executed 1200 B.C.to A.D. 1900 (REF
N7760.R63 1991).
- Tripp, E. The Meridian Handbook of Classical Mythology (REF
BL303.T755 1970).
- Van Keuren, F.D. Guide to Research in Classical Art and Mythology (REF
N7760.V3 1991).
RELIGIOUS ART & ICONOGRAPHY
- Anchor Bible Dictionary (REF BS440.A54 1992).
- Apostolos-Cappadona, D. Dictionary of Christian Art (REF
BV150.A66 1994).
- Butler, A. Lives of the Saints (REF BX4654.B81956).
- Child, H. and D. Colles. Christian Symbols, Ancient and Modern (REF
BV150.C53 1972).
- Delaney, J. Dictionary of Saints (REF BX4655.8.D44) [1980].
- Duchet-Suchaux, G. The Bible and the Saints (REF N7825.D8413
1994).
- Encyclopedia of Religion (REF BL31.E46 1987).
- Jacobus de Voragine. The Golden Legend of Jacobus de Voragine (BX
4654.J334 1969).
- Standard source for lives of the saints.
- Metford, J. Dictionary of Christian Lore and Legend (REF
BR95.M396 1983).
- Roberts, H. Iconographic Index to Old Testament Subjects... (REF
ND1430.R63 1987).
- Sill, G. Handbook of Symbols in Christian Art (REF N8010.S54
1975).
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Cutul, A. Twentieth-Century European Painting (REF ND458.C87)
[1980].
- DeWinter, P. European Decorative Arts, 1400-1600 (REF NK1840.D38
1988).
- Dunkelman, M. Central Italian Painting, 1400-1465(REF N6919.C46D86
1986).
- Freitag, W. Art Books; A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on
Artists (REF N40.F73.1985).
- Glass, D. Italian Romanesque Sculpture (REF NB613.G57 1983).
- Kaufmann, T. Art & Arch. in Central Europe 1550-1620 (REF
N6375.M3K38 1988).
- Lane, B. Flemish Painting Outside Bruges,1400-1500 (REF ND669.F5L36
1986).
- Lucas, S. Bibliography of Water Colour Painting and Painters (REF
Z5948.W38L82) [1976].
- Lyman, T. French Romanesque Sculpture (REF NB543.L95 1987).
- Mundy, E. Painting in Bruges, 1470-1550 (REF ND671.B7M86
1985).
- Nees, L. From Justinian to Charlemagne: European Art, 565-787 (REF
N7832.N44 1985).
- Parshall, L. Art and the Reformation (REF N7862.P37 1986).
- Rosenberg, C. Fifteenth-Century North Italian Painting & Drawing (REF
N6949.N67R67 1986).
- Stubblebine, J. Dugento Painting (REF ND613.S881983).
- Wilk, S. Fifteenth-Century Central Italian Sculpture (REF
NB619.C44W54 1986).
BIBLIOGRAPHIES - AMERICAN ART
- Bronner, S.J. American Folk Art, A Guide to Sources (REF
NK805.A53 1984).
- Ekdahl, J. American Sculpture: A Guide to Information Sources (REF
Z5954.U5E37) [1977].
- Karpel, B., ed. Arts in America; A Bibliography (REF NX503.A1A7)
[1979].
- Keaveney, S.S. American Painting; A Guide to Information Sources (REF
Z5949.A45K4) [1974].
PHILADELPHIA MUSEUM OF ART
- British Paintings in the Philadelphia Museum of Art :From the
Seventeenth Through the Nineteenth Century (REF ND466.P5 1986).
- John G. Johnson Collection. Catalogue of Flemish and Dutch Paintings (REF
ND634.J63) [1972].
- John G. Johnson Collection. Catalogue of Italian Paintings (REF
ND614.J6) [1966].
- The Louis E. Stern Collection (REF N685.A58)[1964].
- Louise and Walter Arensberg Collection (N685.A6)[1954].
- Northern European Paintings in the Philadelphia Museum of Art:
From the Sixteenth through the Nineteenth Century (REF ND625.P48
1990).
- Paintings from Europe and the Americas in the Philadelphia Museum
of Art (REF N685.A63 1994).
- Philadelphia Museum of Art Bulletin (title varies), 1948+
(PER).
OTHER LIBRARY & MUSEUM CATALOGS
- Archives of American Art. The Card Catalog of the Manuscript
Collections of the Archives of American art (REFN6505.A72) [1980].
- The Archives contain more than 6,000,000 items such as diaries,
letters, photographs, sketchbooks, and exhibition brochures on individual
artists. The material has been photocopied and is available at each
of five locations or through interlibrary loan.
Also see: A Checklist of the Collection. 2nd ed. rev. (REF N6536.A73
1977), which is a list of the collections available as of September 1977
and the directory shelved at (REF Z6611.A7M3). There is also a Card
Catalog of the Oral History Collections of the Archives of American Art (REF
N6536.A73 1984).
- Library Catalog of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York (REF
Z881.N6624 1980).
- Author/Subject catalogue of one of the largest art libraries in
the world. Covers entire history of art with American art one of the
areas of special emphasis.
- Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts. American Paintings in
the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: An Illustrated Checklist (REF
ND205.F728 1989).
- University of Pennsylvania. University Museum. Catalogue of the
Mediterranean Section (REF N5603.P5U551921)
- A Guide to the University Museum Archives of the University of
Pennsylvania (REF CD3479.P5U55 1984).
SOURCES OF INFORMATION ON REPRODUCTIONS
- Havlice, P. World Painting Index (REF ND45.H38) [1977] .
- Monro, I.S. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings (REF
ND205.M57) [1948] .
- Monro, I.S. Index to Reproductions of European Paintings (REF
ND45.M6) [1956].
- New York Graphic Society. Fine Art Collections (REF N4035.N48
1986).
- Parry, P. Contemporary Art and Artists; An Index to Reproductions (REF
N6490.P3234) [1978].
- Smith, L.W. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings Appearing
in More Than 400 Books (REF ND205.S575)[1977].
- Thomison, D. Black Artist in America: An Index to Reproductions (REF
N6538.N5T46 1991).
PERIODICAL INDEXES*
- ANL
- Anthropology Literature (1984+)
The Anthropological Literature contains records describing articles
and essays in anthropology and archaeology of two or more pages,
from works published in English and other European languages.
- Art
Index (1983+) (1929-1983 - available in paper in index
area).
- The Art Index is a database that cites articles from more than
285 periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage
includes English language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins,
as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese,
Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, the Art Index
indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
- Avery
Index to Architectural Periodicals (1977+)
- The Avery Index is the foremost periodicals index for architecture
and related disciplines. It indexes over 1,000 periodicals published
worldwide covering the subject areas of architecture, architectural
design, city planning, historic preservation, history of architecture,
interior design and landscape architecture. Updated daily.
- BHA
- Bibliography of the History of Art (1973+)
- Contains records describing the current literature of art, including
books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and journal articles in
more than 2,500 periodicals. Produced by the Getty Information
Institute, formerly the Getty Art History Information Program, and
the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique (INIST). BHA
incorporates the art indexes RILA (International Repertory of the
Literature of Art) and RAA (Repertoire d'art et d'archeologie).
Humanities
Index (1983+ -) (1929-1983 - available in paper in index area)
The Humanities Index is a bibliographic index that cites articles from
more than 335 English language periodicals in the fields of archaeology
and classical studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship,
history, journalism and communications, language and literature,
literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy,
and religion and theology.
- Proquest
Direct
- General periodical index that covers news magazines and important
journals from all areas.
- Modern Arts Criticism, 1991+ (REF N6490.M63)
- Reprints criticism of painters, sculptors, and architects of the
modern era.
* Online databases are available through the Indexes section of Library
Web site [http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu]. If you are connecting from
a text based connection, e.g. your e-mail account, you will want to use
the links to the databases found on the following page: http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/
DESCRIPTIONS OF LOCAL HISTORIC SITES & BUILDINGS
- Architecture and Preservation in the State of New Jersey: A Guide
to Municipalities, Regions, Historic Homes, Church Architecture and
Architectural Styles (REF NA107.N5C6).
- Bibliography listing books on New Jersey architecture and buildings.
- Balch, P.B. Public Art in Philadelphia (REF N8836.P4B33 1992).
- Description of art, and particularly sculpture which adorns parks
and buildings in Philadelphia.
- Burlington County Inventory and Survey of Historic, Architectural
and Cultural Resources (M/fiche F144.B87).
- Inventory and description of historic buildings and sites in Burlington
County.
- Camden Historic Survey (REF NA735.C3C36 1982).
- Inventory and description of historic buildings and sites in Camden
City. (Robeson has vol. 2 & 3; Vol. 1 available at the Camden County
Historical Society).
- Historic American Building Survey of New Jersey: Catalog of the
Measured Drawings (REF NA730.N36H57 1977).
- Catalog lists 834 structures and includes information on data available
on the houses.
- Selective Index to New Jersey Architectural Illustrations, 1876-1980 (M/FICHE
26).
- Index to illustrations of New Jersey architecture in American periodicals.
ART ON THE INTERNET
There are numerous guides to art information on the Internet. Below is
a list of sources that will help you get started.
- ADAM, art, design, architecture,
and media information gateway - http://adam.ac.uk/
- ArtSource -
http://www.uky.edu/Artsource/artsourcehome.html
-
- Musee directory of museums
by name, location, and type - http://www.musee-online.org/
- National
Gallery of Art: Index of American Design - http://www.nga.gov/collection/gallery/iad.htm
- National Gallery
of Art: the Collection - http://www.nga.gov/collection/collect.htm
- National Museum of American Art -
http://americanart.si.edu
- Rodin Museum - http://www.rodinmuseum.org/
- University of Pennsylvania
Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology - http://www.upenn.edu/museum/
- Winterthur Museum - http://www.winterthur.org/
- Web Wide Arts Resource - http://wwar.com/
-
Jdc 8/95; ASC 11/98 |