Guides/Art
Refrence Sources
Vibiana Bowman, Reference
Librarian
ART
REFERENCE SOURCES
Contents :
BIBLIOGRAPHICAL
GUIDES
- Arntzen,
E. Guide to the Literature of Art History (REF N380.A7) [1980]
.
- Annotated
guide; listing over 4,000 general and specialized reference sources,
bibliographies, histories, and handbooks. Does not list articles or
monographs on individual artists.
- Freitag,
Wolfgang. Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists
(REF 40.F73 1985).
- Lists
monographs on 1,870 sculptors, painters, architects, graphic artists,
and photographers.
- Jones,
L.S. Art Research Methods and Resources (REF N85.J64 1984).
- Carefully
selected list of art reference sources combined with a guide to research
techniques. Omits books or articles on individual artists.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
& DICTIONARIES
- Encyclopedia
of World Ar t, 1959-1987 (REF N31.E533).
- Contains
long, heavily illustrated articles on all aspects of world art by some
of the most distinguished scholars in the field. Detailed indexes in
Vol. 15 with additional indexes in the supplements.
- International
Dictionary of Art and Artists (REF N31.I58 1990).
- Vol. 1
presents biographical and critical essays on important artists from
the 13th to the 20th centuries; also includes bibliographies and locations
of works. Vol .2, discuses over 500 individual works in chronological
order.
- McGraw-Hill
Dictionary of Art (REF N33.M23) [1969].
- Excellent
for quick reference. Contains over 15,000 entries on all aspects of
art. Illustrated, with short bibliographies at the end of each article.
- World's
Master Paintings From the Early Renaissance to the Present Day (REF
ND40.W75 1991).
- Lists
information on the paintings of 1,300 artists including biographical
material, name, and location of paintings and a short biography.
BIOGRAPHICAL
SOURCES
- Contemporary
Artists (REF N6490.C6567 1989).
- Biographical
data on over 1,000 living artists. Includes a signed critical essay,
a bibliography of books and articles about the artist, and photographs
of the artists works.
- World
Artists, 1950-1980 (REF N6489.M37 1984) and World Artists, 1980-1990
(REF N6489.W67 1991).
- Biographical
and critical essays on artists influential during the period covered.
- Havlice,
P.P. Index to Artistic Biography (REF N40.H38) [1973] and Supplement
(REF N40.H38 Suppl..) [1981].
- Indexes
134 biographical directories for information on individual artists.
PERIODICAL
INDEXES
- Art
Index, 1929+ (INDEX AREA).
- Subject
and author index to 230 major journals in architecture, art history,
architecture, painting, folk art, etc. Also available in CD-ROM, 1983+
(REF DESK). (This will become available on INFO, Fall 1995).
- Humanities
Index, 1974+
- indexes
a number of important fine arts journals; also available, 1983+ in CD-ROM
(REF DESK). (This will also become available on INFO, Fall 1995).
- Modern
Arts Criticism, 1991+ (REF N6490.M63)
- reprints
criticism of painters, sculptors, and architects.
AMERICAN
ART
- American
Art Directory, 1995-96 (REF N9.A3 V.55) and Official Museum Directory
(REF AM10.A2O4 1990)
- are standard
art directories.
- Arts
in America; A Bibliography (REF NX503.A1A7) [1979] .
- Most comprehensive
and important bibliography on American Art. In 4 volumes, includes more
than 25,000 entries on all aspects of the arts in America. Vol. 4 is
a comprehensive index to the set.
- Harlem
Renaissance: A Historical Dictionary (REF NX511.N4H37 1984);
also see, Perry M., Harlem Renaissance (REF NX511 .N4P47 1982).
- A
bibliography of writings on the Harlem Renaissance. Also,
- Cederholdm
T.D. Afro-American Artists; A Bio-Bibliographical Directory (REF
N6538.N5C42) [1973].
- Dawdy,
D.O. Artists of the American West (REF N6536.D38) [1974].
- Opitz,
G.B. Dictionary of American Sculptors: "18th Century to the present"
(REF NB236.O64 1984).
- Opitz,
G.B. Mantle Fielding's Dictionary of American Painters, Sculptors
& Engravers (REF N6536.F5 1986)
- and, Groce,
G.C. New-York Historical Society's Dictionary of Artists in America,
1564-1860 (REF N6536.N4)
- are Important
reference works for information on lesser known American artists.
- Thomson,
Ellen M. American Graphic Design: A Guide to the Literature (REF
NC998.5.A1T56 1992).
- Who's
Who in American Art (REF N6536.W5 1993/94).
- Short
biographies of contemporary artists.
ARCHITECTURE
- Ehresmann,
D. Architecture: A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works,
Histories & Handbooks (REF NA2520.E38 1984).
- Harris,
Cyril M. Dictionary of Architecture & Construction (REF NA31.H32
1993).
- Definitions
with over 2000 illustrations.
- International
Dictionary of Architects and Architecture (REF NA40.I48 1993).
- Volume
1 features 523 architects important in Western architectural history.
Volume 2 covers 467 buildings from Ancient Greece to the present day.
- Macmillan
Encyclopedia of Architects (REF NA40.M25) [1982].
- Presents
information on architects of all ages.
- Contemporary
Architects (REF NA680.C625 [1987].
- Profiles
living architects.
WOMEN
ARTISTS
- Dunford,
Penny, A Biographical Dictionary of Women Artists in Europe and America
Since 1850 (REF N6757.D86 1989)
- Petteys,C.
Dictionary of Women Artists: An International Dictionary of Women
Artists Born Before 1900
- (REF N43.P47
1985)
- Presents
information on women artists of Europe and America..
- Rubinstein,
C., American Women Artists, From Early Indian Times to the Present
(REF N6505.R8 1982).
- Bachmann,
D., Women Artists (Z7963.A75B32) [1978]
- Tufts,
E., American Women Artists, Past and Present: A Selected Bibliographic
Guide (REF N6505.T84 V.1)
- Lists
of writings on women artists.
- Piland,
S. Women Artists: An Historical, Contemporary and Feminist Bibliography
(REF N8354.P55 1994).
- Contains
biographical information on individual women artists and citations to
books and articles.
(ArtRefsources) jdc
8/95
|