NOT LOGGED IN    About the Libraries' New Remote Access Login    Robeson Library  |   RU Libraries Home  |  CCC & Rowan   |  Rutgers Camden   |  Search Rutgers  |  Text Only  |  My Account

INFORMATION SOURCES FOR SOUTH JERSEY LOCAL AREAS
 NO. 4: CAMDENCITY & COUNTY


DIRECTORY & GENERAL SOURCES

CamdenCounty Area: Cherry Hill-Pennsauken [Telephone directory] (REF DESK).

Telephone and city directories for Camden County are available back to 1837 (M/FILM F132.3.G5 & F144.C2C26).

CamdenCountyGuide to Elected Officials (REF DESK JK3531.G85).

Annual.

CamdenCountyChurch Development Report (Camden Special Collections HN60.C35 1983).

CamdenBase(http://libserv4.rutgers.edu/camden/)

Contains references to newspaper articles (mainly from the Courier Post), periodical articles, books, and reports on Camden City, mostly from 1946 Council of Churches (N.J.).

Camden Resource Guide (http://www.camdenresources.org/demographics.html)

A guide to services and resource intended for Camden residents

Churches and Church Membership in the United States (REF BR526.C48 1992).

County statistics by denomination.

Courier-Post. [South Jersey] Community Guide (REF F142.C16A15 2003/2004).

Directory of cultural, religious, health, governmental, recreational, educational, business, and shopping facilities in Camden, Burlington, and Gloucester counties.

Courier-Post [Newspaper] 1949+ (PER).

Published daily. Current issues available in paper, older issues in microfilm. Robeson Library's collection of Camden newspapers goes back to 1834.

Inquirer Regional Almanac (REF DESK AY286.P5l57).

Directory and statistical information on Philadelphia and local places in South Jersey.

League of Women Voters of Camden County (N.J.). Know Your County: A Citizen's Guide to CamdenCounty Government (REF F144.C42K57 1990).

Philadelphia Inquirer, Dialog On Disc. [Computer File], 1991+ (REF DESK).

Annual with quarterly updates. Includes full text of the Philadelphia Inquirer. This can be searched by subject or keyword.


STATISTICAL SOURCES – The 2000 and 1990 CENSUS

2000 Census of Population and Housing (http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html) (REF-COM –REF DESK LB2846.C39 1995)

Statistics for Camden County and municipalities within Camden County. Statistics on population by race, age, Hispanic origin, citizenship, language, ancestry, family, and household characteristics. Statistics also on education, school enrollment, employment status, labor force status, income, poverty status, and housing and transportation.

1990 Census of Population and Housing (http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/90pubs/cph-4.htm) (REF-COM –REF DESK LB2846.C39 1995)

Statistics for Camden County and municipalities within Camden County. Statistics on population by race, age, Hispanic origin, citizenship, language, ancestry, family, and household characteristics. Statistics also on education, school enrollment, employment status, labor force status, income, poverty status, and housing and transportation.

1990 Census of Population and Housing - Block Statistics (REF-COM – REF DESK HA201 1990.C36 ).

Presents statistics by block for selected areas within the census tract. Must be used with block maps.


OTHER STATISTICAL/ ANALYTICAL SOURCES

Beauregard, Robert A. Selected Twentieth-Century Historical Data: City of Camden, New Jersey (REF F144.C2B43 1990).

Statistics on population by ward, race and housing, vital statistics, crime, employment, taxable value, and assessments,

Bulletin Almanac, 1924-1976 [Inc.] (Stacks AY286.P5B9).

For years covered, presents directory and statistical information on the city and county.

CamdenCity and CountySections of the Philadelphia Bulletin Almanac: 1924-1939. (Camden Special Collections F144.C2C55 1999 vol. 1-4)


BUSINESS & INDUSTRY

Camden County (N.J.) Office of Small Minority and Women Owned Business Enterprises. Doing Business with CamdenCounty Government (Camden Special Collections and Stacks JK1683.N5C36 1990).

CamdenCountyDirectory of Minority and Women-Owned Businesses (Camden Special Collections and Stacks HD2346.N5C36 1990).

Camden County Improvement Authority. CamdenCounty Industrial Directory (Camden Special Collections HC107.N52C344 1993-1994).

Profile; Camden County, New Jersey: A Business and Economic Guide (Camden Special Collections and Stacks HC107.N52C362 1995).

Overview of infrastructure, business climate, industry, quality of life, etc.

Sorell, Michael. Assessment of Minority Owned Business in the City of Camden (Camden Special Collections HD62.7S67 1991).

List of minority owned businesses plus survey on business characteristics, obstacles for doing business in the city and problems minority businesses face.

Southern New Jersey Chamber of Commerce. Directory (REF HF5056.N4S68 Latest edition). Annual.


ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT & STATISTICS

Camden, N.J. Department of Economic Development. Overall Economic Development Program, 1993-1994 (Camden Special Collections and Stacks HT177.C2O94 1993).

Description of economic development strategy and on-going projects.

Camden, N.J. Division of Economic Development. Camden's Economic Revitalization: Building a Development Strategy (Camden Special Collections HT177.C22C36 1991 vol. 1-3).

Assessment of Camden's economy, labor force, target industry, identification and development strategy.

Courier-Post. South Jersey Economy: What's Hot in Jobs, Housing, Market trends and More (Camden Special Collections HD5725.N5S69 1994-1998).

Annual overview on Camden City and County economic development. .

Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission. CamdenCounty Public Transportation Plan (Camden Special Collections HE4487.N5D45 1993).

Operations and planning for public transportation.

Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission. Camden County Highway Circulation Plan: Working Document (REF HE5633.N5D44 1993).

Report on county-owned roads, travel demand, volume, etc.

Lutz, William E. City of Camden Twenty Year Analysis: 1971 to 1991 (REF and Camden Special Collections HC108.2.C2L88 1992)

Land Valuation Analysis (REF and Camden Special Collections HD184.N55L88 1993)

 Impact Study: 1992 Property Revaluation (Camden Special Collections HD1387.L88 1992).

Reports presenting statistics, description, analysis, and recommendations on property valuation in Camden.

N.J. Dept. of Labor & Industry. An Economic Profile of CamdenCounty (Stacks HC107.N52C347).

Based on 1970 Census. Sections on economic history, area industry, natural features, etc.; county and some municipal data only.

An Economic Development Profile for CamdenCounty: Update for May 1992 (Camden Special Collections and Stacks HA527.C2H37 1992).

Rutgers University. Center for Community Education. State of Hispanics in CamdenCounty(REF and Camden Special Collections F145.S75S73 1992).

Walter Rand Institute for Public Affairs. Camden City Council Needs Assessment (Camden Special Collections and Stacks JS685.5.W35 2001)


EDUCATION

Burch, Philip. Dropout Problem in New Jersey's Big Urban Schools (REF LC148.3.N5B87 1992b).

Statistics by city and school.

Camden County, New Jersey. Public Schools Directory (REF LA332.C3C3). Annual

Higher Education & Healthcare Task Force. A Winning Investment for the City of Camden & New Jersey. (Camden Special Collections HT177.C2H54 2001)

Kozol, Jonathan. Savage Inequalities: Children in America's Schools (Camden Special Collections and Stacks LC409l.K69 1991).

Camden school system described in this expose of inner city schools.

Moore, Lee. "Camden: City at the Crossroads", Courier-Post, July 23-26, 1995.

5 part series on the Camden Public school system including articles on violence in the schools, involvement of family, teacher retention, improvements, problems, attendance, and successes.

N.J. State Department of Education. Commissioner's Report to the Education Committees of the Senate and General Assembly on Violence, Vandalism, & Substance Abuse in New Jersey's Schools, 2001-2002 (Stacks LB3249.C66 2001/2002).

N.J. State Department of Education. New Jersey School District Report Card(Stacks LB7.N49 1992).

Results by school district of pupil performance, student attendance, students on basic skill levels, and high school proficiency tests.

Rutgers' Center for Strategic Urban Community Leadership. Camden Counts: A Strategic Plan for the ProjectLeapAcademy (Reserve LC71.3.C22R97).


HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

CamdenCounty Comprehensive Human Services Plan: As Adopted by the CamdenCounty Board of Chosen Freeholders March 22, 1990 (REF and Camden Special Collections HV98.N5C36 1990) and the Update, dated 1992.

CamdenCounty Adult & Children's Mental Health Plans, 1993-1994 (Camden Special Collections RA790.65.N5C17 1993).

Camden County Health Dept. Departmental Statistics and Annual Report, (Camden Special Collections RA115.C2C3611 1992 +).

Community Planning & Advocacy Council. CamdenCounty Homeless Continuum of Care System (Camden Special Collections HV4506.N5C67 1995).

Homeless provider inventories, homeless needs, long-range strategy and action steps, statistics.

Union Organization for Social Service CamdenCounty Guide: Area Community Resources (Camden Special Collections HV89.C336 1994).

Listing of agencies and services: recreation, health, day care, legal aid, job referral, vocational training, etc.


HISTORY

Camden, N.J. Bureau of Planning, Office of Development. Camden Historic Survey: Prepared for the City of Camden, New Jersey(REF NA735.C3C36 1982).

Descriptions of historical buildings in Camden. Robeson has volumes 2 and 3. CCHS has complete set.

Camden County Historical Society. Historical Tours of CamdenCounty (REF F142.C16C3 v.1-3).

Descriptions of historic buildings and sites.

Cunningham, John T. This is New Jersey. 4th ed. (REF F134.C87 1994).

Chapter on Camden is good summary of Camden history to the present.

Dorwart, Jeffery M. Camden County, New Jersey: The Making of a Metropolitan Community, 1626-2000 (REF and Stacks F142.C16D675 2001)

The standard history of the county and the city.

Heston, Alfred M., Ed. South Jersey; a History, 1664-1924 (Stacks F134.H58 v. 1-5).

General history of the area; with histories of the South Jersey counties. Vols. 3-5 contain biographical data; emphasis on living persons (at time of publication) with deceased included as part of genealogical information.

Lazare, Daniel. "Collapse of a City: Growth and Decay of Camden, New Jersey." Dissent 38, (March 1991): 267-275.

History of urban decay in Camden from the 1920's to the present.

Prowell, G.R. The History of CamdenCounty [1886] (REF and Stacks F142.C16P9 1974).


MASTER PLANS

Camden (N.J.) Mayor. Philadelphia and Camden Empowerment Zone Strategic Plan; Excerpts (Camden Special Collections HC108.C22P57 1994).

Camden, N.J. Redevelopment Agency. City of Camden Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy: Five Year Plan: 1994 - 1999 (Camden Special Collections HD7304.C22C17 1993).

Camden, N.J. Redevelopment Agency. City of Camden Consolidated Plan, 1995-2000 for Submission to: U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (Camden Special Collections HT168.C22W72 1994).

Camden, N.J. Redevelopment Agency. Downtown Camden Master Plan - 1992 (Camden Special Collections and Stacks NA9127.C22A34 1992).

Updated redevelopment plan for area bounded by Ben Franklin Bridge on the north, Mickle Boulevard on the south, Interstate 676 on the east, and parts of the Waterfront on the west.

City of Camden, Camden County, New Jersey: Comprehensive Plan 1977-1992: Technical Summary Report (Reserve Desk and Stacks HT168.C22W3).

The official plan, which is now gradually being updated.

FutureCAMDEN: Master Plan City of Camden, NJ. (Camden Special Collections HT168.C22C32 2003)

FutureCAMDEN: MasterPlanSummaryReportCity of Camden, NJ. (Camden Special Collections HT168.C22C33 2003)

North Camden Planning Project. North Camden Plan (Camden Special Collections and Stacks HT177.C22N67 1993).

Official master plan for area.

Lenaz, Mueller & Associates, et al. FutureCamden : Master Plan for the City of Camden(Camden Special Collections HT168.C22C29 2000)

Save Our Waterfront, Inc. The People's Plan for the North Camden Waterfront (Camden Special Collections HT168.C344S2 1990).

An alternate plan for the Waterfront. The Robeson Library has a number of other neighborhood planning reports in the collection; see IRIS or the CamdenBase.

Summary of the Redevelopment of the Camden Waterfront (Camden Special Collections HT168.C22C77 1994).

Wallace, Roberts & Todd. The Camden Waterfront Master Development Plan. (Camden Special Collections HT168.C22W35 1987a).

See also: Cooper's Ferry Development Association.


URBAN CONDITIONS

Camden Initiative (Project). Citizens Task Force. Camden Initiative: "A Program of Putting People First": Camden Today and Tomorrow. (Camden Special Collections HT177.C22C35 1993)

Announces and describes the Camden Initiative. For other material, see CamdenBase.

Enda, Jodi. "A Question for Camden: Just the Beginning. Will Development on the Waterfront Help the City's Neighborhoods?" Philadelphia Inquirer, 5 Apr. 1992: C1-C4.

Fedarko, Kevin. "The Other America: Who Could Live Here? Only People with No Other Choice - and in Camden That Usually Means Children." Time 139, (20 Jan. 1992): 20-23.

Widely cited article.

McKinsey and Company. A Path Forward for Camden: Report (Camden Special Collections HN80.C2M35 2000)

Moore, Lee. "Amid Millions Promised for Revival, Camden Waits and Worries: Will Eagerly Sought Industries Hire and Buy From Camden Residents? Those Who Know the Record Remain Skeptical. Courier-Post, 9 January 1994: 9A-10A.

Morgan, Peggy. "The Fish that Saved Camden: Can the Nation's Poorest City be Rescued by a Vat of Sharks." Philadelphia Magazine 81, (Jan 1990): 67-72. Article on controversy on long time benefits of Aquarium.


WASTE DISPOSAL

Camden County Municipal Utilities Authority. Records Relating to the CCMUA, 1974-1985 (Camden Special Collections).

50 linear feet of documents produced by CCMUA in their study of developing and operating a countywide wastewater treatment system.

James C. Anderson Associates. CamdenCounty Resource Recovery Facility (Camden Special Collections TD793.3.J28 1986 vol. 1-3)

Identifies and evaluates potential environmental impacts of Camden County Resource Recovery Facility (Trash-to-Steam Plant).

Day & Zimmermann. Engineer's Report for CamdenCounty Wastewater Treatment Facilities Project (Camden Special Collections HT393.N52C362 1985).

Robeson has a complete set of CCMUA technical reports.

Greeley and Hansen. Coincineration Feasibility Study: Final Report (Camden Special Collections TD770.G743 1983b).

Greenwald, Maria B. The "Clear" Plan: A Comprehensive, Long-Term, Environmental, Action, Recycling Plan For CamdenCounty: A Proposal (Camden Special Collections TD794.5.G74 1990).

"Power to Pollute: How Camden Came to Bear the Burden." Courier-Post (21 September 1992).

First of two part series. (Part 2, 22 Sept. 1992).


Camdenco JDC 9/95/ updated by KG 9/04

Paul Robeson Library - Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey - Camden, NJ 08102 - (856) 225-6033 - Contact the Web Administrator - Copyright information