LOGIN HERE    About the Libraries' New Remote Access Login    Robeson Library  |   RU Libraries Home  |  CCC & Rowan   |  Rutgers Camden   |  Search Rutgers  |  Text Only  |  My Account

How to Do Research at Paul Robeson Library/Chemistry

Liaison Information:
John Maxymuk
Reference Librarian
Phone: (856) 225-2842
maxymuk@camden.rutgers.edu

Contents:
Liaison Information Web Resources
Finding Books Chemistry Departments at Rutgers University
Finding Articles  

Finding Books

To Find a Book at the Paul Robeson Library, Use:

IRIS the Rutgers University Library Catalog

Reference Books Available at Paul Robeson Library

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 86th ed., REF QD65.h4 2005/06 (requires log on first above)
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry, 3 vol ., REF QD95.E55 2000
Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 5 vol., REF QD148.D53 1992
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry, 8 vol., REF QD148.E53 1994
Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 5 vol., REF QD251.D49
Polymer Handbook, REF QD388.P65 1999
 

Electronic Books

Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry
Encyclopedia of Surface and Colloid Science
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
 
 
Finding Articles

Primary Indexes

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) -- covers the world-wide literature of chemistry. SciFinder Scholar is not a web based product and can be accessed only through specific computers located in the library and the Chemistry Department, one user at a time. Reference guides are available here
CrossFire Beilstein -- covers the organic chemistry literature (primarily journal articles plus patents) back to the late 1700's. It indexes over seven million organic and organo-metallic compounds, 10 million chemical reaction references, and 20 million associated chemical, physical, and biological property records. The Beilstein CrossFire database is currently available on public library computers, and reference guides are available here.
STN (Chemical Abstracts) -- The Paul Robeson Library maintains an Academic account with STN to allow faculty to search Chemical Abstract online evenings and weekends. More details can be found here.
Web of Science -- an enhanced web version of the Institute for Scientific Information's citation indexes, includes citations and references from articles in more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 1994 to the present. Link to selected full-text since 1999.


Web Sites
Professional Societies
American Chemical Society
Royal Society of Chemistry

Other

Rutgers Chemical Sciences Research Guide
Chemistry Departments at Rutgers University

Department of Chemistry (Camden)
Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology (New Brunswick)
Department of Chemistry (Newark)
Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering (New Brunswick)
Department of Chemical Biology (School of Pharmacy, New Brunswick)

Paul Robeson Library - Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey - Camden, NJ 08102 - (856) 225-6033 - Contact the Web Administrator - Copyright information