LOGIN HERE    About the Libraries' New Remote Access Login    Robeson Library  |   RU Libraries Home  |  CCC & Rowan   |  Rutgers Camden   |  Search Rutgers  |  Text Only  |  My Account

Guides/Company Information
Theo Haynes, Reference Librarian

Company Information
Contents:
DIRECTORIES - UNITED STATES
The following books provide standard information on U.S. companies: name, address, phone number, headquarters, annual sales, number of employees, principal products, as well as name, title and functions of officers, directors and principals. Generally companies can be found through an alphabetical, geographical or SIC Code index (REF HF1042 .N67 and HF1042 .S72 Company Table).

The books are arranged from the first having the most comprehensive information, generally about the largest companies, to the last which are local directories, usually with the least information, but which include the tiniest companies.

Compact Disclosure (Ask at the Reference Desk). This CD-ROM provides data on over 12,000 public companies extracted from SEC filings and annual reports submitted by public companies to the Securities and Exchange Commission. Financial data back 8-10 years, ratios and text from the most recent reports are all indexed in detail so that customized reports can be created; the menu driven format makes it easy to pull together comparative data on companies or industries.
Directory of Corporate Affiliations (REF HG4057.A219 Company Table). Start with the Master Index to find subsidiaries and affiliates of parent companies. this multi-volume set includes U.S. public and private as well as international companies. The main entries give ownership structure and major officers, with other directory information.
Moody's Manuals with biweekly News Reports for each title (All on Company Table). This set provides much information on the companies listed on the U.S. stock exchanges. Standard information plus brief corporate history, subsidiaries, plants and properties owned and each company's income statement and balance sheet are given. Use the paper index to find the volume and page for the parent company.
    Moody's Industrial Manual (REF HG4961.M711).
    Moody's Bank & Finance Manual (REF HG4961.M71).
    Moody's OTC Industrial Manual (REF HG4961.M7237).
    Moody's Public Utility Manual (REF HG 4961.M713).
    Moody's Transportation Manual (REF HG4961.M714).
    Moody's International Manual (REF HG4905.M66 see Directories- International).
Hoover's Handbooks (Company Table). This set provides one page descriptions of selected public and private U.S. and world companies, with histories, products, and 10-year performance summaries. Information for new, growing companies is also included, along with major global enterprises.
    Hoover's Handbook of American Business: Profiles of Major U.S. Companies (REF HF3010.H662)
    Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies: Profiles of Major U.S. Private Enterprises (REF HF5035.H68)
    Hoover's Handbook of World Business: Profiles of Major Global Enterprises (REF HF3010.H66)
    Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies: Profiles of America's Most Exciting gowth Enterprises (REF HG4057.U6H66).
    Hoover's Handbooks Index (REF HG4057 .A286213)
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies (REF HD2709.W313 Company Table). Includes coverage for tens of thousands of private and public companies. Main listing alphabetic by company name, with a geographic index by zip code within state. The arrangement by SIC code is especially useful because companies are ranked by sales within each four-digit SIC code; the zip code listed with each here makes cross-referencing by geographic location easy.
Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives (REF HG4057.A4 Company Table). Covers 36,000 U.S. and Canadian corporations with brief entry for each. Includes an index of directors and executives by name.
D & B Directory of Service Companies (REF HD9881.3.D86 Company Table). Only companies in service industries, so far more than found elsewhere in national directories. With geographic index, and SIC listing subarranged by state.
American Wholesales & Distributors Directory (REF HF5419.A51 Company Table). Brief entries for 18,000 companies in alphabetic order, with geographic index and SIC rankings by estimated annual sales.
Thomas Register (REF T12.T612). Multi-Volume set includes data given for 100,000 U.S. manufacturing companies. Includes companies by type of product, a company name index, and product catalogs of many companies.
DIRECTORIES - LOCAL
Offical N.J. Manufacturers Directory (REF HD9727.N5H37 Company Table). With product/services, SIC and company name indexes. This is arranged geographically by county then city.
D & B Regional Business Directory: Philadelphia Area (REF HF5068.P55 D37 Company Table). Also available: New York Metropolitan Area (REF HF5065.N7D86). Main entry list is geographic by zip code within town, with company name and SIC indexes.
Dalton's Philadelphia Directory (REF HC108.P5D35 Company Table). Coverage of 10,000 leading businesses and manufacturers in the Delaware Valley. This has geographical arrangement with company name, product/services, and classified (3-digit SIC industries) indexes.
Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce Membership Directory and Buyer's Guide (REF HF5068.C44 Company Table). Member businesses listed by name, by county, by business type; also lists of importers and exporters, and women and minority owned businesses.
 
Corporate Technology Directory - CorpTech (REF HG4057.A16 Company Table). Corporate profiles include directory information, description of each business and its products. Indexes by company name, geographic index by state by place, and product indexes by type with SIC cross references.
DIRECTORIES - INTERNATIONAL
Disclosure Worldscope Global (Ask at the Reference Desk). This CD-ROM has directory information, financial statement data, ratios, growth rates, and per share data for 6-10 years for the largest companies in each country. Allows users to generate industry averages. The search software and downloading capabilities are like those for Compact Disclosure.
Directory of Corporate Affiliations (REF HG4057.A219 Company Table). Includes a volume on international companies.
Moody's International Manual (REF HG4905.M66 Company Table). See entry on Moody's Manuals above under Directories - U.S. for description of contents.
Hoover's Handbook of World Business (REF HF3010.H66 Company Table). Like Hoover's Handbook of American Business, but also includes short regional and country overviews as well as company coverage.
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries (REF HG4538.A1D5 Company Table). Listing by country of U.S. firms with operations in other countries. Gives contact information for the foreign offices. Also: Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in U.S. (REF HG4057.A155 Company Table)
World Class Business: a Guide to the 100 Most Powerful Corporations (REF HD2755.5M384 1992). For each company this has history, operations, top execs, outside directors, revenues, income, labor relations, environmental and health record, and a bibliography.
ADDITIONAL SOURCES
International Directory of Company Histories (REF HD2721.I63 1988). This multi-volume set includes long histories of major companies, arranged by industry. Because it is a continually published series, most company histories include information more recent than 1988. Use the cumulative index in the highest numbered volume to find the bold faced main entry for a company.
Business Rankings Annual Compiled by Brooklyn Public Library (REF HG4050.B88). European Business Rankings (REF HG4132.E8). Lists of companies, products, services and activities compiled form a variety of published sources.
Market Share Reporter (REF HF5410.M37) and European Market Share Reporter (REF HF5415.12.E8E95). An annual compilation of reported market share data on companies, products, and services.
Periodical and Newspaper Indexes. See the Library Guide: PERIODICAL INDEXES FOR BUSINESS for descriptions of these available in the Robeson Library.
Annual Reports for Companies. The Paul Robeson Library also collects, and keeps for five years, the annual reports of the Fortune 500 companies. These are located in file cabinets near the government documents shelving. (Ask at the Reference Desk).

Theo Haynes haynes@camden.rutgers.edu company.995 revised mar.99 th/rm

Paul Robeson Library - Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey - Camden, NJ 08102 - (856) 225-6033 - Contact the Web Administrator - Copyright information