Guides/European Writers
Julie Still, Reference
Librarian
EUROPEAN WRITERS
Contents:
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
& BIOGRAPHICAL/CRITICAL SOURCES
- Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia (REF PN41.B4 1987).
- Brief articles on writers of all nations and all periods, literary
allusions and expressions, literary schools and movements, and plots
and characters.
- Contemporary Foreign Language Writers (REFPN771.C585 1984).
- Critical essays on prominent living foreign language writers.
- Critical Survey of Drama: Foreign Language Series(REF PN1625.C74
1986).
- Critical Survey of Poetry: Foreign LanguageSeries (REF PN1021.C7
1984).
- Critical Survey of Short Fiction (REF PN3373.C75).
- Essays on important world authors from ancient times to the present.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (REF PS88.D57).
- Critical essays on individual authors. To find the entry on a particular
author, check the cumulative author index in the back of the last volume.
- Encyclopedia of Continental Women Writers (REFPN481.E5 1991).
- European Writers (REF PN501.E9 1983).
- Multivolumeset in 14 volumes; presents extended essays on important
writers from the Middle Ages to the Twentieth Century. Vol. 14 includes
extensive author and subject indexes for the set.
- Wilson Author Series presents biographical sketches, with
critical commentary, of authors from 1000 to the present. The index
to the set up to 1980 is
- titled Index toThe Wilson Author Series (REF PN451.I5 1986).
The following are the volumes in the series:
- European Authors, 1000-1900 (REF PN451.K8)
- Twentieth Century Authors (REF PN771.K86)
- Twentieth Century Authors, First Supplement (REFPN771.K8
Suppl)
- World Authors, 1950-1970 (REF PN451.W3)
- World Authors, 1970-1975 (REF PN451.W67)
- World Authors, 1975-1980 (REF PN451.W672)
- World Authors, 1980-1985 (REF PN451.W672 1991)
World Authors, 1985-1990 (REF PN451.W673 1995).
If you have difficulty locating information on an author, The
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (REF CT1214.B561) indexes
over 500 biographical dictionaries which contain over 5,000,000
biographical sketches. It is also available on CD-ROM at the Reference
Desk.
COMPILATIONS OF REPRINTS OF CRITICISM
- Literature Criticism From 1400 to 1800 (REFPN86.L53
1984).
- Excerpts from criticism of the works of writers of the 15th to 18th
centuries from criticism of the time to current evaluations.
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (REFPN761.N5).
- Excerpts from criticism of the works of writers who lived between
1800 and 1900.
- Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (REFPN771.G27).
- Excerpts from criticism of writers of the period 1900-60.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism (REF PN771.C59).
- Excerpts from criticism of writers living or deceased since 1960.
LOCATING CRITICISM OF INDIVIDUAL WORKS
- Continental Novel: A Checklist of Criticism in English,
1967-1980 (REF PN3451.F57 1983).
- Earlier edition covering criticism written 1900-1966 is at (REF
Z5916.K4).
- English Language Criticism on the Foreign Novel (REF PN3335.A39
1989 V.1).
- Epic and Romance Criticism, Vol. 2: A Checklist of Interpretation
1940-1973 of Classical and Continental Epics & Metrical Romances (REF
Z7156.E6C64 Vol. 2).
- European Drama Criticism, 1900-1975 (REF Z5781.P21977).
- Literary Criticism Index (REF Desk PN523.W441994).
- Index to bibliographies of literary criticism.
- Twentieth Century Short Story Explication:Interpretations
1900-1975 of Short Fiction Since 1800 (REF DESK PN3373.W33
1977) &
- Supplements 1-5 & Index (REF DESKPN3373.W36 1992).
CLASSICAL LITERATURE
- Ancient Writers: Greece & Rome (REF PA3002.A51982).
- Classical Greek and Roman Drama (REF PA3024.F571989).
- Classical Scholarship (REF DE59.H34 1986).
- Crowell's Handbook of Classical Drama (REFPA3024.H35).
- Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C. - A.D. 1000 (REFPA31.G7).
- Greek and Roman Authors: A Checklist of Criticism(REF Z7016.G9).
- Oxford Companion to Classical Literature (REFPA31.H69 1989).
FRENCH LITERATURE
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of French Literature(REF
PQ41.C6 1976).
- Dictionary of Modern French Literature; From the Age of Reason
Through Realism (REF PQ41.D65).
- Modern French Literature (REF PQ306.M57).
- Excerpts of criticism of modern French literature.
GERMAN LITERATURE
- Oxford Companion to German Literature (REFPT41.G3).
- Twentieth-Century German Novel; A Bibliography of English Language
Criticism, 1945-1986 (REF PT772.O63 1989).
RUSSIAN LITERATURE
- Dictionary of Russian Literature Since 1917 (REFPG2991.4.K3513
1988).
- Handbook of Russian Literature (REF PG2940.H291985).
- Modern Slavic Literature. Vol. 1: RussianLiterature (REF
PG501.M518 Vol. 1).
- Excerpts from criticism of 20th Century Russian Literature.
- Reader's Encyclopedia of Eastern European Literature (REF
PN 849.E9R38 1993).
SPANISH LITERATURE
- Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninisula (REF
PN849.S6D54 1993).
- Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature (REFPQ6006.O93).
- Modern Spanish & Portuguese Literatures (REFPQ6072.M57
1988).
- Excerpts from criticism.
SERIAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES & INDEXES
- HUMANITIES INDEX, (1974+ in paper; 1983+ on INFO -
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rulib/indart/arthum.shtml).
- A quarterly index to a selected number of important literary periodicals.
- MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY, (1950+ in paper, 1963+ on
INFO - http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rulib/indart/arthum.shtml).
- An annual index to books and articles published on modern literature.
SELECTED RELEVANT WORLD WIDE WEB SITES
- WESSWeb
(Western European Studies) (http://viva.lib.virginia.edu:80/wess/)
-
(European) JDC 8/93, VK, JS 4/97
|