Guides/Film Reference Sources
Julie Still, Reference
Librarian
FILM REFERENCE SOURCES
Contents:
ENCYCLOPEDIAS, DICTIONARIES & HANDBOOKS
- Motion Picture Guide (REF PN1995.N346 1986) .
- Complete and authoritative film reference guide listing information
on 53,000 English language films. Vol. 1-9 covers films released 1927
to 1983/4; Vol. 10, silent films released 1910 to 1936. For each film,
information is provided on date of release, running time, cast, plot
synopsis and analysis, production credits, type of film, and video
cassette availability. Arranged alphabetically by title. Two volume
index includes listings of every name in the cast and production credits.
- American Film Institute Catalog of Motion Pictures Produced in
the U.S. (REF PN1998.A57).
- Description of films produced 1911-20, 1921-30 and 1961-70.
- Encyclopedia of American Film Comedy (REF PN1995.9.C55.L34
1987).
- Halliwell's Filmgoer's and Video Viewer's Companion (REF
PN1993.45.H3 1995).
- Halliwell's Film Guide (REF PN1993.45.H27 1986).
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers, Vol. 1: Films (REF
PN1997.8.F555 1984).
- Emphasizes most widely studied films; coverage is international.
Includes names of cast, list of publications on the film and a long
essay summarizing the plot and presenting critical analysis on various
aspects of the film.
- International Motion Picture Almanac (REF PN1993.3.I55 1990).
- Sections on who's who in motion pictures, current releases, services,
talent and literary agencies and other aspects of the film business.
- Chronicle of the Cinema (REF PN 1993.5.A1.C55 1995)
- Encyclopedia of European Cinema (REF PN 1993.5.E8.V56 1995)
- Hispanics in Hollywood: An Encyclopedia of Film and Television (REF
PN 1995.9.H47.R49 1994)
- Oxford History of World Cinema (REF PH 1993.5.E8.A1096 1995)
- Film Encyclopedia (REF Pn 1993.45.K34 1994)
BIO/CRITICAL REFERENCE SOURCES
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (REF PS88.D57).
- Critical essays on important writers. To locate the entry on a particular
writer, check the cumulative author index in the back of the last volume
of the set. American Screenwriters (Vol. 26) and, American
Screenwriters, 2nd Series (Vol. 44) are the volumes covering writers
for film.
- Biographical Dictionary of Film (REF PN1998.A2T55 1981).
- Biographical essays on directors, actors, actresses, producers and
other figures central to the history of the cinema.
- Bogle, Donald. Blacks in American Films and Television: An Encyclopedia (REF
PN1995.9.N4.B58 1989).
- Articles on feature films, actors, actresses, producers and others
important in black film history.
- Hochman, Stanley. American Film Directors (REF PN1995.9.P7H57).
- Excerpts from articles, essays and books on American directors.
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (REF PN1997.8.F555
1984).
- Vol. 2, Directors and Filmmakers; Vol. 3, Actors & Actresses;
Vol. 4, Writers
& Production Artists. Features long essays on both living and deceased
persons of importance in the history of film. Each entry includes a
list of films, roles, etc., a list of publications by and about the
subject and a critical essay.
- World Film Directors (REF PN1998.2.W67 1987).
- Vol.l: 1890-1945 includes directors born before 1920 and well launched
in their careers before 1945. Vol.2: 1945-1985 includes more recent
figures. Provides introductions to the works and lives of 400 of the
world's best known directors from the beginning of the cinema to the
present.
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Hyatt, Marshall. Afro-American Cinematic Experience:
An Annotated Bibliography
& Filmography (REF PN1995.9.N4H9 1983).
- Schuster, Mel. Motion Picture Directors; A Bibliography of Magazine
and Periodical Articles, 1900-1972 (REF Z5784.M9S34).
- Woll, Allen L. Ethnic and Racial Images in American Film and
Television: Historical Essays and Bibliography (REF PN1995.9.M56W65
1987).
FILM CRITICISM
- Film Review Index, Vol.1: 1882-1949; Vol.2: 1950-1985 (REF
PN1995.F513 1986).
- Features over 7,000 English language motion pictures; includes foreign
films released and reviewed in this country. Arrangement is alphabetical
by title of film, with information on the director, year of production,
country where produced and a list of reviews of the film.
- Magill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films 1st & 2nd
series (REF PN1995.M3).
- A survey of over 1200 movies, from the Jazz Singer to Kramer vs.
Kramer. Each entry features a long extended essay with plot summary
and critical examination of the contribution of the director, actors,
cinematographers, etc.
- Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971 (REF Z5784.M9B39).
- Selected Film Criticism (REF PN1995.S426 1982).
- Vol. 1 - 5 presents reprints of reviews of American films for the
years 1896 to 1950. Vol. 6 - 7 includes reprints of reviews of foreign
films for the years 1930 to 1960.
FILM REVIEWS
- To locate reviews of current releases, look under the title of the film
or the subject heading indicated in the following indexes:
- Art Index, 1929+ (Index Table 12, 12A), and 1983+
on INFO - http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rulib/indart/arthum.shtml;
and Humanities Index, 1974+ (Index Table 12), and
1983+ on INFO - http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rulib/indart/arthum.shtml.
See under
"Motion Picture Reviews - Single Works". (Both indexes
also available on Info)
- Essay and General Literature Index, 1900+ (Index Table 13,
13A).
- An index to essays and articles in collections of essays. Film criticism
can be located under the name of the film. Check from date film was
released.
- New York Times Index, 1851+ (Index Table 15, 15A).
- See under
"Motion Pictures"
- Newspaper Abstracts, 1989+ on INFO - http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rulib/indart/general.shtml.
- Indexes a number of important newspapers including the New York
Times and the Los Angeles Times.
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900+ (Index Table
6, 7A).
- See under
"Motion Picture Reviews - Single Works".
- Periodical Abstracts, 1989+ on INFO - http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rulib/indart/general.shtml.
(filmcrit) JDC 8/93, VK/JS, 4/97
|