Guides/Information on Industries
Theo
Haynes, Reference Librarian
INFORMATION ON INDUSTRIES
Contents:
OVERVIEW SOURCES
- Encyclopedia of American Industries (REF HC102.E53 1994)
- Arranged by SIC, this includes an industry snapshot, organization
and structure, background and development, current conditions, industry
leaders, work force, America and the world, research and technology,
and industry information sources.
- Standard
& Poor's Industry Surveys (REF HC106.6.S74 on Table 2)
- This gives background information on over 60 major industries, detailed
composite statistics, latest developments, trends, earnings prospects,
and data on the leading firms in an industry.
- U.S. Global Trade Outlook (REF HC101.U54 on Table 1 & on
the NESE-DB cd-rom at the Reference Desk; succeeds the U.S. Industrial
Outlook at GOV DOC C61.34:yr.)
- "This report provides: projections for economic growth and trade
over the next five years; assessments of major industrial and developing
country markets for U.S. exports; and analyses of the prospects for
major sectors of the economy."
- Periodical indexes:
- You can also use these to get an overview of what is happening within
an industry, to get a feel for the national and international economy,
and to do environmental scanning for events that may affect an industry.
A list of relevant periodical indexes in the Robeson Library, with
description of their coverage, is LIBRARY GUIDE: PERIODICAL INDEXES
FOR BUSINESS.
GENERAL SOURCES
- SIC Manual (REF HF1042.S72 1987 on Table 1; in REF stacks;
and at GOV DOC REF; the 1972 ed. with its 1977 Suppl. is at REF HF1042.A55)
- This is the first source to check when researching an industry or
a product. The Standard Industrial Classification Manual assigns a
four-digit code to most industries whether in manufacturing or service.
This code is standardized and used widely in the business literature
listed below.
- Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources by James Woy (REF
HF5353.E9 at the Reference Desk)
- For most industries, this lists the best publications available
by type: abstracts
& indexes, almanacs, bibliographies, biographical sources, directories,
financial ratios, handbooks, online data bases, periodicals & newsletters,
statistics sources, trade & profession associations, and other
sources.
- Encyclopedia of Associations (REF HS17.G321 at the Reference
Desk)
- Because trade associations are often the only detailed source of
information on an industry, check this to identify relevant ones and
the information they make available.
FINANCIAL RATIO SOURCES
- RMA Annual Statement Studies (REF HF5681.B2R6 on Table 2)
- This provides 5-year ratios, as well as the current year's broken
down by size of companies. Draws primarily from small company data
so only includes industries for which RMA had enough participating
companies.
- Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios, by Dun & Bradstreet
Credit Services (REF HF5681.R25I525 on Table 2)
- Covers almost every SIC code, providing operating ratios divided
by quartile.
STATISTICS SOURCES
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (REF HA202 at the
Reference Desk; also on RESERVE and at GOV DOC C3.134)
- Extracts statistics from the Censuses and many other statistical
sources. Good for time series too, and it always indicates the source
used.
- American Statistics Index (GOV DOC REF Z7554.U5A46)
- Index to and abstracts of all the statistical publications of the
U.S. government.
- Statistical Reference Index (REF HA214.A12S7)
- Index to and abstracts of most non-federal statistical publication
on the U.S.
- Economic Report of the President (REF HC106.5.A272 on Table
1; also in GOV DOC REF; and on the NESE-DB cd-rom at the Reference
Desk)
- Detailed statistical tables cover income, employment and production
industry-wide, with long time series.
- Value Line Investment Survey (on RESERVE HF4501.V2)
- Reports on over 70 major industries and leading companies within
the industry. Provides statistics for current and previous years and
forecasts future activity.
- Moody's Industry Review (REF HG4961.M68 1994+ on Table
2)
- For each industry, this includes top companies ranked by revenues,
income, profit margin, p/e ratio, yield, 12-month and 7-year price
scores, with 10 year market trends graph.
- Manufacturing USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading
Companies (REF HD9724.M35 on Table 1)
- For SIC 2011-3999, this pulls together tables on the general statistical
characteristics of each industry back ten years, indices of change
for that period, selected ratios, leading companies, materials consumed,
product share, occupations employed by each industry, and state and
regional concentration of the industry. Most of the data has been taken
from the U.S. Economic Censuses and Ward's Business Directory.
- Service Industries USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and
Leading Organizations (REF HD9981.4.S47 on Table 1)
- For SIC 7011-8999, this provides the same information as described
above for Manufacturing USA, but for the service industries. A second
part of this volume also has data on service industries in cities and
statistical areas.
- Finance, Insurance, and Real Estate USA (REF HG181.F55)
- For SIC 6010-1799, this provides the same information as described
above in Manufacturing USA, but for the three areas in its title.
CENSUS STATISTICS
- Census of Agriculture (GOV DOC C3.31)
- Census of Construction Industries (GOV DOC C3.245)
- Census of Manufacturers (GOV DOC C3.24);
- Census of Retail Trade (GOV DOC C3.255)
- Census of Service Industries (GOV DOC C3.257)
- Census of Transportation (GOV DOC C3.233); Census of
- Wholesale Trade (GOV DOC C3.256)
- Begun in 1967, except for the Census of Agriculture which originated
the series in 1954, the US Economic Censuses are taken every five years
(ending in 2 and 7). They publish statistics by product and industry
for the US as a whole, states and SMSAs and some counties. These censuses
gives data on number of establishments, sales, employment and production.
These are now available on cd-rom (Ask at the Reference Desk) as well
as in print.
- County Business Patterns (GOV DOC C3.204)
- and on cd-rom at the Reference Desk) In a volume for each state,
this gives for each county by SIC code, the number of employees, payroll
and establishments for each industry.
|