Guides/Foreign Country Information
Foreign Country Information for International Marketing
Contents:
COUNTRY OVERVIEWS
- World Factbook (latest ed. GOV DOC REF PrEx3.15 and on NTDB
cd-rom, see below).
- One page statistical overview for each country.
- Statesman's Yearbook (REF JA51.S7).
- A narrative overview for each country of its history, economic affairs,
social welfare, education and government, with a statistical summary.
- Europa Series.
- Concise, well organized, detailed encyclopedia type entries for each
country with statistics, administration, constitution, press, educational
institutions, finance, trade, etc.
- Africa South of the Sahara (REF DT352.A4).
- Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States (REF
HC244.E225).
- Far East and Australasia (REF HC411.F18).
- Middle East and North Africa (REF DS49.M4)
- Europa World Year Book (REF JN1.E85).
- Background Notes (ON RESERVE).
- Eight-page summary for each country includes: geography, people,
history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations,
defense, travel notes and bibliography for further information.
- Area Handbook for... (GOV DOC D101.22).
- Each volume is an in-depth examination of social, political, economic
and national security aspects of a country. Each has an extensive bibliography.
They are infrequently updated, every 10+ years. BUSINESS
AND ECONOMIC TRENDS
- Exporter's Encyclopedia (REF HF3011.E9 on INDEX TABLE 4).
- Includes sections on the export order, export know-how, communication
and transportation data and information sources and services of the
U.S. government and of associations fostering trade. For 175 countries,
this covers in detail: country profile, communications (telephone,
mail, radio and cable), key contacts in the U.S. and the other country,
trade regulations, documentation, marketing data, transportation and
business travel tips. The accompanying EE Fact File, a biweekly supplement,
has news notes by country to update the annual volume. See the most
recent of these for a cumulative index.
- NTDB: the Export Connection (on CD-ROM, ask at the Reference
Desk).
- The National Trade Data Bank contains data concerned with international
economics and trade, of interest to U.S. businesses engaged in export-related
activities and to federal and state agencies that promote exports.
Data supplied by Commerce Dept., CIA, BLS, and others. Includes Understanding
Foreign Trade Data, The Basic Guide to Exporting, World Factbook, Overseas
Business Reports, U.S. Industrial Outlook, Handbook of Economic Statistics,
Market Research Reports, and numerous spreadsheets of import-export
related data.
- Price Waterhouse Information Guide series: Doing Business in...
(REF HF5616 on TABLE 4).
- Each book covers one country with 1) Investment Climate, a profile
of the country and its people and foreign investment opportunities;
2) Doing Business, which covers restrictions on foreign investment,
regulatory agencies, investment incentives, banking, business entities,
labor relations and social security; 3) Accounting and 4) Taxation.
- Foreign Economic Trends and Their Implications for the United
States (ON RESERVE).
- For each country, describes economic trends: growth, prices, wages,
employment, balance of payments, monetary policy, trade & industrial
policy, investment climate, implications for the U.S. and statistics
on imports from the U.S. Updated annually or semiannually.
- Foreign Labor Trends (ON RESERVE).
- Prepared by the American Embassy in each country, includes a table
of Key Labor Indicators (birth rate, employment, average weekly earnings
and many more) and up to 10 pages of discussion of the factors in that
country relevant to the labor market and conditions. Updated every
2-3 years.
- Overseas Business Reports (ON RESERVE and some on NTDB cd-rom,
see above).
- For one country per issue, this has the foreign trade outlook, the
country's market, distribution and sales channels, transportation,
utilities, advertising and market research, credit, trade regulations,
customs provisions, investment in the country, taxation, labor, sources
for more information and a market profile. Updated every 3-4 years.
- OECD Economic Surveys... (see IRIS, the online catalog, for
call number of the country you need).
- These surveys discuss recent trends in prices, wages, trade, economic
policy, etc. Each OECD member country is covered in a separate volume. INTERNATIONAL
STATISTICS
- International Marketing Data and Statistics (REF HA41.I56
on INDEX TABLE 4)
- European Marketing Data and Statistics (REF HA1107.E87 on
INDEX TABLE 4).
- Figures on population, employment, production, trade, economy, standard
of living, consumption, market sizes, retailing, consumer expenditure,
housing, health, education,culture, mass media, communications, travel
and tourism. Tables are comparable from one country to another and
often give time series for a country as well.
- U.N. Statistical Yearbook (REF HC57.U661).
- General socio-economic statistics, statistics of basic economic
activity by country and with a world summary.
- U.N. Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (REF HC57.U66).
- Updates the U.N. Statistical Yearbook. Provides 10-year series data
with monthly or quarterly series for the most recent year. Each issue
also has special feature tables.
- International Financial Statistics (REF HG61.I57).
- Annual has 35-year series data by country on exchange rates, international
liquidity, bank reserves, life insurance, interest rates, prices, production,
balance of payments, government finance and national accounts. Monthly
has comparable data for the past 8 years with last 4 years by quarter
and past year monthly.
- Direction of Trade Statistics (REF HF91.I651).
- Annual gives 7-year series of import and export statistics in U.S.
dollars for every country with every other country; monthly is similar
with 7 months of the past year.
- Balance of Payments Statistics (REF HF1014.I5).
- Detailed 8-year balance of payments data for about 75 countries.
th 6-8-93 (internat)
|