Guides/Latin American Literature
Julie Still, Reference
Librarian
LATIN AMERICAN LITERATURE
Contents:
LITERARY DICTIONARIES & ENCYCLOPEDIAS
- Diccionario de Literatura Espanola (REF PQ6006.D5 1964).
- Covers all periods of Spanish literature; includes biographies, articles
on literary forms, literary terms, etc.
- Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century (1975)
(REF PN774.L433).
- Articles on important authors, literary movements, genre, and national
literatures.
- Handbook of Latin American Literature (REF PQ7081.A1H36 1987).
- Essays on the literatures of individual countries.
- Newmark, M. Dictionary of Spanish Literature (REF PQ6006.N4
1957A).
- Presents brief biographical sketches of Spanish and Spanish American
authors and definitions of terms.
- Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature (1980) (REF PQ6006.O93).
- Articles on authors, individual works, allusions, places, and general
survey articles.
BIOGRAPHICAL/CRITICAL SOURCES
- Caribbean Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical-Critical Encyclopedia (REF
PN849.C3C3).
- Cortes, Eladio. Dictionary of Mexican Literature (REF PQ7106.D53
1992).
- Contains approximately 500 entries covering the most important writers,
literary schools, and cultural movements in Mexican literary history.
Emphasis on 20th century figures.
- Flores, Angel. Spanish American Authors: The Twentieth Century.
(REF PQ 7081.3 F57 1992)
- Foster, D.W. Modern Latin American Literature (REF PQ7081.F63
1975).
- Provides reprints of criticism of the works of 137 major 20th Century
Latin American authors. Also see Contemporary Literary Criticism (REF
PN 771.C59) for excerpts from criticism of Latin American writers.
- Hill, M.D. Puerto Rican Authors; A Biobibliographic Handbook (1974)
(REF Z1556.H55).
- Biographical information on Puerto Rican writers from 1493 to the
present.
- Hispanic Literature Criticism. (REF PQ 7081 .A1 H573 1994)
- Kanellos, Nicolas. Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature
in the United States: the Literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, & Other
Hispanic Writers (REF PQ7420.2.K3 1989).
- Emphasis is on Puerto Rican and other Hispanic writers in the United
States.
- Latin American Writers (REF PQ7081.A1L37 1989).
- Extended essays on Latin American writers from Las Casas to the present.
Index to the set is in the back of Vol.3.
- Magill, Frank N. Masterpieces of Latino Literature (REF PQ
7081 .A1 M29 1994)
- Marting, Diane E. Spanish American Women Writers (REF PQ7081.S63
1990).
- Ocampo de Gomez, A.M. Diccionario de Escritores Mexicanos (1967)
(REF PQ7106.O24).
- Biographical information on Mexican authors with bibliographical
notes.
- Wilson Author Series is a series of biographical dictionaries
which include a number of Spanish and Spanish American authors from
1000 to the present. The index, which covers volumes published up to
1980, is titled Index to The Wilson Author Series (REF PN451.I5
1986).
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Bleznick, D.W. A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language:
A Selected, Annotated Guide to Spanish, Spanish American, and Chicano
Bibliography, Literature, Linguistics, Journals... (REF PC4071.B55
1983).
- Guide to reference books, histories and anthologies; does not include
criticism on individual authors.
- Flores, A. Bibliografia de Escritores Hispanoamericanos, 1609-1974
- A Bibliography of Spanish-American Writers (REF Z1609.L7F55).
- Lists writings with bio/critical references.
-
- Foster, D.W. Mexican Literature: A Bibliography of Secondary
Sources (REF PQ7141.A12F67 1992).
- Puerto Rican Literature: A Bibliography of Secondary Sources (REF
PQ7421.F67 1982).
- Research Guide to Argentine Literature (1970) (REF Z1621.F66).
- The 20th-Century Spanish-American Novel: A Bibliographic Guide (REF
Z1609.F4F68).
- The four bibliographies cited above include listings of bibliographies,
literary criticism, general histories, and criticism of individual
authors.
- Gonzalez Olle, F. Manual Bibliografico de Estudios Espanoles (1976) (REF
Z2681.G58).
- More than 35,000 entries covering literature, language, and culture.
- Pedreira, A.S. Bibliografia Puertorriquena (1493-1930) (REF
Z1551.P37 1974).
- Lists works of Puerto Rican authors for dates indicated.
- Rela, W. A Bibliographical Guide to Spanish American Literature;
Twentieth-Century Sources (REF PQ7081. R438 1988).
- Describes contents of a number of anthologies, bibliographies and
critical studies on Latin American literature. The index lists references
to critical studies on individual authors included.
- Woodbridge, H.C. Spanish and Spanish-American Literature: An Annotated
Guide to Selected Bibliographies (REF PQ6033.W66 1983).
- Lists important bibliographies on Spanish & Spanish American
literature published since 1950. Does not include entries for individual
authors.
- Zubatsky, D.S. Latin American Literary Authors; an Annotated Guide
to Bibliographies (REF PQ7081.Z82 1986).
- Lists bibliographies of the writers of novels, dramas, short stories,
literary criticisms, etc. Includes references to many of the bibliographies
cited above.
SERIAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES & INDEXES
The following indexes, which are published quarterly and/or annually,
can be used to supplement the bibliographies listed above:
- Essay and General Literature Index, 1900+ (Index Tables in
Reference Area) .
- Index to essays and articles in collections of essays.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies, 1935+ (REF Z1605.H23).
- Extensive, annotated bibliography of materials relating to Latin
American. Materials on Latin American Literature included in Humanities
volume.
- Humanities Index, 1974+ (Index Table in Reference Area), 1983+
on INFO.
- A quarterly index to a selected number of important literary periodicals.
- MLA International Bibliography, 1950+ (Index Table in Reference
Area), 1963+ on INFO.
- An annual index to books and articles published on modern literature.
- Year's Work in Modern Language Studies, 1960+ (REF PB1.Y45).
- Annual bibliography; summarizes work in modern languages and literatures
in narrative form; section on Spanish American literature.
SOURCES FOR THE STUDY OF LATIN AMERICA THEATER
- Acuna, R. El Teatro Popular en Hispanoamerica: Una Bibliografia
Anotada (1979) (ALEX Z2694.F6A25).
- Bibliography on Spanish American theater from Pre-Columbian times
to 1970.
- Allen, R.F. Teatro Hispanoamericano; Una Bibliografia Anotatado/Spanish
American Theatre; An Annotated Bibliography (REF PQ7082.D7A44
1987).
- Lists plays by country and author with description of play and location.
- Carpenter, C.A. Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism, 1966-1980 (REF
PN1621.C37 1986).
- This is updated by an annual bibliography in the journal, Modern
Drama (PER).
- Finch, M.S. "An Annotated Bibliography of Recent Sources
on Latin American Theater: General Section, Argentina, Chile, Mexico
and Peru." (Diss., 1979) (ALEX M/FILM 2520).
- Grismer, R.L. Bibliography of the Drama of Spain and Spanish America
(1967-69) (REF Z2694.D7G75).
- Arrangement is alphabetical by critic; author/critic index at back
of Volume.
- Hebblethwaite, F.P. A Bibliographical Guide to the Spanish American
Theater (1969) (ALEX REF Z1609.T43H4 & DGLS REF Z1609.D7H42).
- Hoffman, H.H. Latin american Play Index (REF PQ 7082 .D7 H63).
- Includes references to separately published plays, plays in collections
and anthologies and plays published in periodicals.
- Lamb, R. Bibliografia del Teatro Mexicano del Siglo XX (1962) (Z1424.D7L34).
- Alphabetical listing by author of plays; also lists reviews, newspapers,
periodicals, anthologies, critical notes.
- Lyday, L.F. A Bibliography of Latin American Theater Criticism,
1940-1974 (REF Z1609.D7.L9).
- Monterde Garcia Icazbalceta, F. Bibliografia del Teatro en Mexico
(1933) (ALEX REF Z1424.D7M7).
- Bibliography of works by Mexican authors, including original works,
translations and adaptations, and works containing studies on the Mexican
theater.
- Neglia, E.G. Repertorio Selecto del Teatro Hispanoamericano Contempor'aneo (REF
Z1609.D7.N43 1980).
- Contains: List of playwrights by country, chronological list of dramas,
many anthologies and partial sources for each author.
- Toro, F.de. Bibliografia del Teatro Hispano-Americano Contemporaneo,
1900-1980 (ALEX Z1609.D7T67 1985).
- (For other sources, see the literature guide on "Drama Criticism"
located next to the Reference Desk and the sources listed previously
on Spanish & Spanish American Literature.)
(Latiname) jdc 9/89, vk 7/97 |