NOT LOGGED IN    About the Libraries' New Remote Access Login    Robeson Library  |   RU Libraries Home  |  CCC & Rowan   |  Rutgers Camden   |  Search Rutgers  |  Text Only  |  My Account

Guides/Music Reference Sources
Jim Nettleman, Reference Librarian

MUSIC REFERENCE SOURCES

Contents:


GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE
Brockman, W.S. Music: A Guide to the Reference Literature (REF ML113.B85 1987).
Summary guide to the important current and retrospective sources of information on music.
Duckles, V. Music Reference and Research Materials; An Annotated Bibliography (REF ML113.D83 1988).
Presents extensive international coverage of music research materials organized by form.
Pruett, J.W. Research Guide to Musicology (REF ML3797.P78 1985).
Essays on approaches of musicology and the scholarship of the periods of music history.
DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, & OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart: Allgemeine Enzyklopadie der Musik (ML100.M92).
Profusely illustrated; coverage is scholarly, international, and exhaustive.
Kennedy, M. The Oxford Dictionary of Music (REF ML100.K35 1994).
Entries for persons include principle works or principle compositions including year of production or year of first performance.
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (REF ML100.N48).
Most comprehensive reference source for music in the English language. Some 22,500 entries appear citing composers, instruments, instrument makers, performers, musical forms and genres, music theory and composition, terminology, etc. Covers from ancient to the modern period. Extensive bibliographies.
New Harvard Dictionary of Music (REF ML100.R3 1986).
Definitions of musical terms, music history and theory; omits biographies.
Pallay, S.G. Cross Index Title Guide to Classical Music (REF ML113.P34 1987).
Lists variant titles and indicates under which title piece is usually found.
Titon, J.T. Worlds of Music: An Introduction to the Music of the World's Peoples (REF ML3545.W67 1996).
Penguin Encyclopedia of Popular Music (REF ML3470.P46 1989).
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (REF ML105.B16 1991).

Randel, D.M. The Harvard Biograhical Dictionary of Music (REF ML 105.H38 1996).

Contemporary Musicians: Profiles of the People in Music (REF ML385.C65 1990 V.1+).

Comtemporary Composers (REF ML 105.C75 1992).

LePage, J.W. Women Composers, Conductors, and Musicians of the Twentieth Century (REF ML82.L46). MUSIC CRITICISM

Diamond, H.J. Music Analyses: An Annotated Guide to the Literature (REF ML128.A7D5 1991).
Warner, T.E. Periodical Literature on American Music, 1620-1920: A Classified Bibliography With Annotations (REF ML120.U5W18 1988).
Comprehensive list of articles on American music arranged by author. To locate information on a specific topic or composer, check in the subject index in the back of the book.
Wenk, A.B. Analyses of Nineteenth and Twentieth-Century Music, 1940-1985 (REF ML113.M92 No.25.)
Title on spine: MLA Index and Bibliography, Series 25.
AMERICAN MUSIC
Heintze, J.R. Early American Music: A Research and Information Guide (REF ML120.U5H46 1990).
New Grove Dictionary of American Music (REF ML101.U6N48 1986).
Articles on American music based on research in the New Grove, expanded and up-dated.
Resources of American Music History: A Directory of Source Materials from Colonial Times to World War II (REF ML120.U5R47).
Basically a guide to collections in libraries and archives.
Roach, Hildred. Black American Music: Past and Present. 2nd ed. (REF ML3556.R58 1992).
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (REF ML102.J3N48 1988).
Southern, E. Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians (REF ML105.S67).
Music of Black Americans, A History (REF ML3556.S74 1983).
Santelli, R. The Big Book of Blues (REF ML102.B6 S26 1993).
Women in American Music: A Bibliography of Music & Literature (REF ML128.W7B6).
OPERA & OTHER MUSICAL FORMS
Hastings, B. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: A Guide to Research (ML134.M9H34 1989).
Marco, G.A. Opera: A Research and Information Guide (REF ML128.O4M28 1984).
The New Kobbe's Complete Opera Book (REF MT95.K52 1976).
Sadie, Stanley, ed. New Grove Dictionary of Opera (REF ML102.O6N5 1992).
Baron, J.H. Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide (REF ML128.C4B37 1987).
Cobbett, W.W. Cyclopedic Survey of Chamber Music (REF ML1100.C7 1963).
Steinberg, M. The Symphony: A Listener's Guide (REF MT125.S79 1995).
Wick, R.L. Electronic and Computer Music (REF ML128.E4 W53 1997).
Daniels, D. Orchestral Music: A Sourcebook (REF ML128.D5 D3).
The New Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock & Roll (REF ML102.R6 R64 1995).
THEMATIC CATALOGS
Brook, B.S. Thematic Catalogues in Music (REF ML113.B86).
Barlow, H. Dictionary of Musical Themes (REF ML128.I65B3).
Dictionary of Vocal Themes (REF ML128.V6B3).
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Brown, H.M. Instrumental Music Printed Before 1600: A Bibliography (REF ML128.I65B77).
Davis, D. Computer Applications in Music: A Bibliography (REF ML128.C62D4 1988).
Heyer, A.H. Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music (REF ML113.H52 1969).
Details the contents of some 1300 collections of music. Standard source for locating individual pieces of music.
The Edwin A. Fleisher Music Collection (REF ML136.P4 F74 vol.1,2&suppl.)
INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS
Music Article Guide 1966+ (Index Tables in reference area).
Annotated index to articles appearing in over 200 American music periodicals.
RILM Abstracts 1967+ (Index Section in reference area).
Indexes all significant literature in the field of music. Abstracts of books, articles, essays, reviews, dissertations, catalogs, etc. Abstracts are listed by subject groups. Published 4 times a year; the last issue of each year is an author-subject index. Issues appear 5-6 years after the time period they cover.
Humanities Index, (on INFO - http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rulib/indart/arthum.shtml)
GUIDES TO WWW RESOURCES
Music Resources on the Internet
http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/
 

(Music) Rev jdc; Rev, vk,jn, & asc 6/97; vb 2002

Paul Robeson Library - Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey - Camden, NJ 08102 - (856) 225-6033 - Contact the Web Administrator - Copyright information