LOGIN HERE    About the Libraries' New Remote Access Login    Robeson Library  |   RU Libraries Home  |  CCC & Rowan   |  Rutgers Camden   |  Search Rutgers  |  Text Only  |  My Account

Guides/Poetry Criticism
Julie Still, Reference Librarian

POETRY CRITICISM
 

Contents:


BIOGRAPHICAL/CRITICAL REFERENCE SOURCES
Contemporary Poets (REF PR603.C6 1991).
Presents biographical and critical essays on living poets writing in English.
Critical Survey of Poetry: English Language Series (REF PN1021.C69 1982).
Essays on important English-language poets from the beginnings of oral poetry to the present. The cumulated author/title index is included in Vol. 8.
Critical Survey of Poetry: Foreign Language Series (REF PN1021.C7 1984).
Essays on important foreign language poets from Homer to the present. Cumulated author/title index is in Vol. 5.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (REF PS88.D57).
An on-going series of reference works with entries consisting of extended critical essays on individual writers. To find the entry on a particular poet, check the cumulative author index in the back of the last volume of the series.
Oxford Companion to Twentieth Century Poetry in English (REF PR 601.O9 1994)
COMPILATIONS OF REPRINTS OF CRITICISM
- The following contain excerpts from articles and books of criticism:
Literature Criticism from 1400 TO 1800 (REF PN86.L53).
Presents excerpts from criticism of the works of fifteenth, sixteenth, seventeenth, and eighteenth-century writers, from the first published critical appraisals to current evaluations. Cumulative author and title indexes are located in the back of the last volume.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (REF PN761.N5).
Excerpts from criticism of the works of writers who lived between 1800 and 1900, from the first published critical appraisals to current evaluations. Cumulative author and title indexes are located in the last volume.
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism(REF PN771.G27).
Presents excerpts from criticism of writers of the period, 1900-1960. Cumulative author and title indexes are located in the back of the last volume.
Contemporary Literary Criticism (REF PN771.C59).
Provides excerpts from current criticism of major authors now living (or deceased since 1960). The cumulative author index is located in the back of the last volume. A cumulative title index is located at REF PN771.C591.
Poetry Criticism (REF PN1010.P63).
Excerpts from criticism of the works of significant and widely studied poets.
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
A bibliography is a list of writings relating to a particular subject or author. Most scholarly books of criticism will have bibliographies, some quite extensive. To find book length bibliographies, search the author's name as subject in the online catalog - for example,

WORDSWORTH, WILLIAM--BIBLIOGRAPHY.

LOCATING CRITICISM OF INDIVIDUAL POEMS
- The following bibliographies list criticism of individual poems:

American and British Poetry: A Guide to the Criticism (REF DESK PS303.A44 1984).

Criticism of poems 1000 lines or less. vol.: 1925-1978; vol. 2: 1979-1990.

Old and Middle English Poetry to 1500, A Guide to Information Sources (REF Z 2014.P7B34).

Articles on Women Writers (REF Z2013.5.W6S37).

Vol. 1 includes criticism written 1960-75; Vol 2, criticism written 1976-84 on American & British writers of poetry, fiction, and short stories.

English Poetry: Select Bibliographica Guides(REF Z 2014 .P7D9).

Epic and Romance Criticism (REF Z7156.E6C64).

 Lists criticism of longer poems.
Vol. 1: A Checklist of Interpretations 1940-1972 of English & American Epics and Metrical Romances, covers Beowulf to Ginsberg.
Vol. 2: A Checklist of Interpretations 1940 -1973 of Classical and Continental Epics and Metrical Romances, covers poems originally written in a foreign language.
Greek and Roman Authors: A Checklist of Criticism (REF Z7016.G9). Lists criticism written mainly 1930-1970.

Guide to American Poetry Explication.

Lists criticism written 1925 to 1987.
Vol. 1: Colonial & Nineteenth Century (REF DESK PS201.R87 1989).
Vol. 2: Modern & Contemporary (REF DESK PS221.L46 1989).
Guide to British Poetry Explication (REF DESK PR311.M37 1991).
Vol. 1: Old English - Medieval
Vol. 2: The Renaissance.
Vol. 3: Restoration - Romantic
Vol. 4: Victorian - Contemporary
Poetry Explication: A Checklist of Interpretation since 1925 of British and American Poems Past and Present (REF DESK PR502.K8).
Criticism of poems of less than 500 lines long, published through 1977.

Sonnet in England and America: A Bibliography of Criticism (REF PR509.S7D66 1982).

Literary Criticism Index (REF DESK PN523.W44 1994).

An index to 86 major indexes and bibliographies of literary criticism. Arranged by author and then poem title, the listing is to one of the 86 indexes rather than directly to the criticism.
SERIAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES & INDEXES
- To update the bibliographies listed above, the following indexes, which are published periodically, may be used:
MLA International Bibliography, 1950+ (Index Table 13, 13A), 1963+ on INFO - http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rulib/indart/arthum.shtml.
An annual index to books and articles published on modern literature. Critical works on literature are included, literary works and translations are generally excluded.
Humanities Index, 1974+ (Index Table 12), 1983+ on INFO - http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rulib/indart/arthum.shtml.
A quarterly index to a selected number of important literary periodicals. Also available on CD-ROM for the period 1983+ .
 
(poetrycr) JDC 8/93, VK, JS 4/97
Paul Robeson Library - Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey - Camden, NJ 08102 - (856) 225-6033 - Contact the Web Administrator - Copyright information