Short Story Criticism
Julie Still, Reference
Librarian
SHORT STORY CRITICISM
Contents:
BIOGRAPHICAL/CRITICAL REFERENCE SOURCES
- CRITICAL SURVEY OF SHORT FICTION (REF PN3373.C75).
- Biographical and critical essays on important short story writers
of the world from the beginnings of the short story to the present.
Each essay contains a brief bibliography, an analysis of the author's
influence on literature, a brief biography, and lastly, an analysis
of the author's short fiction, including themes, principal characters
and important story lines. A cumulated author/title index is located
in Volume 7.
- DICTIONARY OF LITERARY BIOGRAPHY (REF PS88.D57).
- On-going series of reference works containing biographical and critical
essays on individual writers. Four volumes are devoted to writers of
short fiction:
- Vol. 78, American Short Story Writers, 1880-1910
- Vol. 74, American Short Story Writers before 1880.
- Vol. 86, American Short Story Writers, 1910-1945 (First Series).
- Vol. 102, American Short Story Writers, 1910-1945 (Second Series).
- Information on short fiction writers may also be found in other volumes.
To locate the essay on a particular author, see the cumulative author
index in the last volume of the set.
- REFERENCE GUIDE TO SHORT FICTION (REF PN 3373 .R36)
- Encyclopedia of short fiction writers works with bibliographic and
biographical data.
COMPILATIONS OF REPRINTS OF CRITICISM - The following
contain excerpts from books and articles of criticism:
- LITERATURE CRITICISM FROM 1400 TO 1800 (REF PN86.L53).
- Presents excerpts from criticism of the works of writers from the
15th to the 18th centuries, from the first published critical appraisals
to the present day. Cumulative author and title indexes can be found
at the back of the last volume.
- NINETEENTH-CENTURY LITERATURE CRITICISM (REF PN761.N5).
- Contains excerpts from criticism of the works of creative writers
who lived between 1800 and 1900, from the first published critical
appraisals to current evaluations. Cumulative author and title indexes
are located in the back of the last volume.
- TWENTIETH CENTURY LITERARY CRITICISM (REF PN771.G27)
- Presents long excerpts from criticism of writers of the period, 1900-1960.
Cumulative author and title indexes are located in the back of the
last volume.
- CONTEMPORARY LITERARY CRITICISM (REF PN771.C59).
- Provides excerpts from current criticism of major authors now living
(or deceased since 1960). A cumulative author index is located in the
back of the last volume.
- SHORT STORY CRITICISM (REF PN3373.S56).
- Provides excerpts from criticism of the works of short fiction writers
of all eras and nationalities. Cumulative author and title indexes
are located in the last volume.
LOCATING CRITICISM OF INDIVIDUAL SHORT STORIES
- The following bibliographies list criticism of short stories by
author and then by title:
- TWENTIETH CENTURY SHORT STORY EXPLICATION (REF DESK PN3373.W33
1977).
- Criticism of short fiction written after 1800 by writers of all nationalities.
Supplements I - V bring the coverage to 1988; the index to the set
is now available (REF DESK PN3373.W36 1992). New Series (REF DESK PN
3373 .W33 1993) vol. 1 covers 1991-1993.
- AMERICAN SHORT-FICTION CRITICISM AND SCHOLARSHIP; 1959-1977; A
CHECKLIST (REF DESK PS374.S5W3 1983).
- Criticism of American short stories.
- ARTICLES ON WOMEN WRITERS (REF Z2013.5.W6S37).
- Includes criticism on American & British writers of poetry, fiction,
and short stories. Vol. 1, 1960-1975, Vol. 2, 1976-1984.
- LITERARY CRITICISM INDEX (REF DESK PN523.W44 1994).
- Index to 86 major indexes and bibliographies of literary criticism.
Arranged by author and then title, the listing is to one of the 86
indexes rather than directly to the criticism.
SERIAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES & INDEXES
- Serial bibliographies are bibliographies that are issued regularly.
The following indexes may be used to update the sources already listed:
- ESSAY AND GENERAL LITERATURE INDEX, 1900+ (Index Table in
Reference Area).
- An index to essays and articles in collections of essays.
- HUMANITIES INDEX, 1974+ (Index Table in Reference Area), 1983+
on INFO
- A quarterly index to a selected number of important literary periodicals.
- MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY, 1950+ (Index Table in Reference
Area), 1963+ on INFO
- An annual index to books and articles published on modern literature.
Critical works on literature are included, literary works and translations
are generally excluded.
(shortstc) JDC 8/93, VK 7/97 |