Guides/Information Sources for Small Business
Theo
Haynes, Reference Librarian
INFORMATION SOURCES FOR SMALL BUSINESS
- Small Business Sourcebook. Detroit, Gale Research Company.
Biennial. (REF HD2346.U5S66).
- A guide to the information services and sources provided to
small businesses by associations, consultants, government agencies
(federal, state, and local), suppliers, trade shows and venture capital
firms. Kinds of small business arranged alphabetically, with start-up
information, professional or trade associations, educational programs,
reference works, sources of supply, statistics sources, trade periodicals,
trade shows and conventions, consultants, franchises and business opportunities,
computerized databases, computer systems/software, libraries, research
centers, and other resources of interest, specific to each type of
business.
- Business Plans Handbook. Detroit, MI , Gale Research, 1995.
(RESERVE HD62.7.B865 yr.1995).
- A compilation of actual business plans developed by small
businesses throughhout North America.
- Small Business Profiles: A Guide to Today's Top Opportunities
for Entrepreneurs. Detroit, MI, Gale Research, 1994+. (REF HD62.7.S62
v1+).
- For about 70 types of business in each volume, this series provides
specific information on costs and profits, financing, location and
setup, layout and design, management issues, staffing, training employees,
inventory, marketing, advertising, licenses and insurance.
- Business Plans to Game Plans : A Practical System for Turning
Strategies into Action, by Jan B. King ; edited by James Walsh.
Santa Monica, CA, Merritt Publishing, 1994. (REF HD62.5.K46 1994).
- Includes tactics, setting direction, setting budgets, financial
scorekeeping, marketing, product development, and operations.
- Complete Handbook for the Entrepreneur, By Gary Brenner,
Joel Ewan, Henry Custer. Englewood Cliffs, NJ, Prentice Hall, 1990.
(REF HD62.5.B74 1990).
- Designed to cover the topics most asked abut by entrepreneurs, this
deals with getting started, franchises, legal forms of business, government
requirements, the business plan, marketing, accounting, taxes, insurance,
funding, and operation of the business.
- The Small Business Resource Guide: Government and Private-Sector
Assistance for Small Growing Companies, sponsored by U.S. Dept.
Of Commerce and IBM. Alexandria, VA, Braddock Publications, 1994.
(REF HD2346.U5S62 1994).
- Includes federal government resources by subject; state specific
ones, including state chambers of commerce; private sector business
associations; information on technology and on-line resources; a listing
of SBDC's; and a glossary.
- Mancuso's Small Business Resource Guide, by Joseph R. Mancuso.
Naperville, Ill., Sourcebooks, 1996. (REF HD62.7.M367 1996).
- Arranged alphabetically by topic, this lists sources for all types
of information of use to the entrepreneur.
- Small Business Bible: The Make-or-Break Factors for Survival
and Success, by Paul Resnik. New York, J. Wiley, 1988. (HD62.7.R47
1988).
- "The underlying, basic requirements for success in small business
[and] how to understand and apply them to your venture."
- Starting and Operating a Business in New Jersey : A Step-by-Step
Guide , by Michael D. Jenkins and Richard Sackin. Grants Pass,
OR, Oasis Press/PSI Research, 1991. (REF KFN2034.J46 1991).
- The Legal Guide for Starting & Running a Small Business,
by Fred Steingold; edited by Mary Randolph and Ralph Warner. Berkeley,
CA, Nolo Press, 1992. (REF KF1659.Z9S84 1992).
- How to Start a Business in the State of New Jersey, by Lawrence
Novick. Metuchen, NJ, L.N. Inc., 1989 (REF HD62.7.N68 1989).
- Covers topics like registering your trade name, payroll reporting,
incorporating your business, with specifics for New Jersey.
- Target Marketing for the Small Business: Researching, Reaching,
and Retaining Your Target Market, by Linda Pinson. Dover, NH,
Upstart Pub. Co., 1993. (HD2346.U5P56 1993).
- How to gather the information for market research, and prepare
a marketing plan.
- Business Plans to Game Plans: A Practical System for Turning
Strategies into Action (REF HD62.5.K46 1994).
- Deals with the implementation of tactics, budgets, accounting, marketing,
product development and operations.
- The Business Planning Guide: Creating a Plan for Success in Your
Own Business, by David H. Bangs, Jr. 6th ed. Dover, NH, Upstart
Pub. Co., distributed by Dearborn Trade, 1992. (REF HD30.28.B362
1992).
- "A handbook to help you design, write and use a business plan
and a financing proposal tailored to your specific business needs."
- The Ernst & Young Business Plan Guide, by Eric S. Siegel,
et al. New York, Wiley, 1987. (HD62.5.E71 1987).
- "Advice on how to write and develop business plans, [including]
a sample business plan, and tips for tailoring plans to the decision-makers."
- Entrepreneur Group's business plan manuals for specific types
of small businesses. (HD62.7.A32 1979 no.x).
- Irvine, CA, Entrepreneur Inc. All these are on RESERVE at the Robeson
Library, Rutgers-Camden.
- Directory of Incentives for Business Investment and Development
in the United States: A State-by-State Guide, by the National
Association of State Development Agencies. Washington, DC, Urban
Institute Press, 1991. (REF HC110.I53N4 1991).
- For each state this includes direct financial incentives, basic
business taxes, and tax exemptions, deductions, credits, and special
treatment to encourage business within that state.
- The Competitive Intelligence Handbook, by Richard E. Combs
and John D. Moorhead. Metuchen, NJ, Scarecrow Press, 1992. (REF HD38.7.C657
1992.)
- An extensive bibliography of information sources available in or
through most large libraries. Includes much discussion of CI gathering
research techniques and strategy. Written by a librarian and a Navy
intelligence officer.
|