Guides/References in Social Work and Psychology
Susan Beck, Reference Librarian
*Susan will be on leave until July 2007
REFERENCE SOURCES IN SOCIAL WORK AND PSYCHOLOGY
GENERAL SOCIAL WORK SOURCES
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Guide to Information Sources for Social Work and the Human Services (REF
HV 91.M43 1987)
Reference Sources in Social Work (REF HV 40.C66 1982)
Social Welfare in America: An Annotated Bibliography (REF HV 91.S6
1983)
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
Biographical Dictionary of Social Welfare (REF HV 27.B57 1986)
DICTIONARIES
The Social Work Dictionary (REF HV .B12 37 1995)
DIRECTORIES
Directory of Colleges and Universities with Accredited Social Work
Degree Programs (REF HV11.C64 1995)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Social Work 19th ed. [1995] (REF HV 35.S6 v.19)
3 vol.
HANDBOOKS
An Author's Guide to Social Work Journals (REF HV 85.M46 1992)
Career Explorations in Human Services (REF HV 10.5.C37 1991)
STATISTICAL SOURCES
Social Work Almanac (REF HV 90.G53 1995)
AGING
ALMANAC
Older American's Almanac : A Reference Work on Seniors in the United
States (REF HQ
1064.U5 Q416 1994)
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Elder Neglect and Abuse: An Annotated Bibliography (REF HV 1461.J56
1985)
Retirement: an Annotated Bibliography (REF HQ 1062.M53 1986)
Sociology of Aging An Annotated Bibliography and Sourcebook (REF
HQ 1061.H374 1985)
DICTIONARIES
Dictionary of Gerontology (REF HQ 1061 .H338 1988)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Aging (REF HQ 1061.E53 198
HANDBOOKS
Fact Book on Aging in the United States (REF HQ 1064.U5 V494 1990)
STATISTICAL SOURCES
Statistical Handbook on Aging Americans (REF HQ 1064.U5 S695 1994)
ADOPTION
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Adoption (REF HV 875.55.A28 1991)
ALCOHOLISM AND DRUG ABUSE
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Alcohol and the Family: a Comprehensive Bibliography (REF HV 5132.B364
1987)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Alcoholism (REF HV 5017.E5 1991)
Encyclopedia of Drug Abuse (REF HV 5804.E94 1991)
Encyclopedia of Drugs and Alcohol (REF HV 5804.E53 1995) 4 vols.
HANDBOOKS
Drugs of Abuse (REF HV 5800.D781 1996) (Earlier edition located
in GOV DOCS at
J24.2:D84/yr)
Substance Abuse: The Nations Number One Health Problem Key Indicators
for Policy (REF HV
4999.2.S2 1993)
STATISTICAL SOURCES
Statistical Perspectives on Alcoholism Treatment in New Jersey (DOC
REF HV 5280.N5 S741
1990)
ASSESSMENT
HANDBOOKS
DSM-IV Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (REF
RC 455.2.C4 D54 1994)
(ON RESERVE)
DSM-IV Personality Disorders (REF 554.D78 1995) (ON RESERVE)
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques (REF HQ 728.T68 1990)
Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders (REF RC 480.T69 1989) 4 vols.
Using DSM-IV (REF RC 469.L33 1994)
CHILD ABUSE
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Child Molestation Bibliography (REF HQ 71.D39 1987)
Incest: An Annotated Bibliography (REF HQ 71.D4 1985)
Sexual Abuse of Children a Resource Guide and Annotated Bibliography (REF
HQ 72.C3 S35
1982)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Child Abuse (REF HV 6626.5.C57 1989)
CHILDHOOD AND ADOLESCENCE
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Adolescence (REF HQ 796.E58 1991)
HANDBOOKS
Violent Children: A Reference Handbook (REF HQ 784.V55K56 1995)
STATISTICAL SOURCES
Kids Count Data Book State Profiles of Child Well Being (REF HQ
792.U5 K53 1992 +)
The Child Welfare Stat Book 1993 (REF HV 741.C5347 1993)
A State By State Look at Teenage Childbearing in the U.S. (REF
HQ 759.4.S73 1991)
The State of America's Children 1992 (REF HV 741.C5375 1992)
Statistical Record of Children (REF HQ 767.8.S73 1994)
Youth Indicators 1993 Trends in the Well-being of American Youth (DOC
REF HQ 796.Y68
1993)
CRIMINAL JUSTICE
DICTIONARIES
Crime Dictionary (REF HV 6025.D43
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice (REF HV 6017.E52 1983)
GUIDELINES
New Jersey Law Enforcement Guidelines (DOC REF HV 7280.A6 1995)
MANUALS
Crime Classification Manual A Standard System for Investigating and
Classifying Violent Crimes
(REF HV 6253.C75 1995)
STATISTICAL SOURCES
Crime in New Jersey Uniform Crime Report (DOC REF HV 9475.N5 U54
1994)
Crime in the United States Uniform Crime Report (DOC REF HV 6787.A3
1994)
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (DOC REF HV 6787.S68
1994)
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Spouse Abuse : an Annotated Bibliography (REF HV 6626.E53 1986)
Violence in the Family: an Annotated Bibliography (REF HV741.K46
1994)
HANDBOOKS
Domestic Violence a Reference Handbook (REF HQ 809.3.UM385 1995)
ETHNIC GROUPS
STATISTICAL SOURCES
The State of Black America (REF E 185.5.N317 1979 +)
Statistical Handbook on U.S. Hispanics (REF E 184.S75 S27 1991)
Statistical Record of Black America (REF E 185.86 .S74 1993)
FAMILY AND MARRIAGE
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Marriage, Divorce and the Family (REF HQ 9.D38
1989)
HANDBOOKS
Fatherhood USA, The First National Guide To Programs, Services, And
Resources For and
About Fathers (REF HQ 756.K55 1984)
Handbook of Parenting (REF HQ 775.8.H357 1995)
Sourcebook on Death and Dying (REF HQ 1073.5.U6.S68 1982)
STATISTICAL SOURCES
Atlas of American Society (REF HN 60.A5 1995)
Statistical Handbook on the American Family (REF HQ 536.S727 1992)
World Access to Birth Control (REF HQ 766.7.P67 1992)
HOMELESSNESS
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Council of Planning Librarians Bibliography 168 Homelessness: An Annotated
Bibliography (REF
HV 4505.C52 1986)
Council of Planning Librarians Bibliography 228: Homeless: Does Anyone
Care? (REF HV
4505.G73 1988)
Contemporary Social Issues A Bibliographic Series No. 12 Homeless
in America (REF HV
4505.N67 1988)
The Essential Reference on Homelessness: A Fully Annotated Bibliography (REF
HV 4505.E77
1994)
Homelessness: An Annotated Bibliography (REF HV 4493.H46 1993)
2 vols.
Homelessness in America, 1893-1992 an Annotated Bibliography (REF
HV 4505.H66 1994)
HANDBOOKS
American Homelessness: A Reference Handbook (REF HV 4505.H647
1994)
Homelessness: A Sourcebook (REF HV 4505.F36 1994)
STATISTICS
A Demographic Profile Of New Jersey's Homeless Population (REF
HV 4506.N5D46 1994)
HOMOSEXUALITY
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Lesbianism: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to the Literature
1976-1986 (REF HQ
75.6.U5M33 1988)
DICTIONARIES
Cassell's Queer Companion: a Dictionary of Lesbian and Gay Life and
Culture (REF HQ
76.25.S74 1994)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality (REF HQ 76.25E53 1990 2 v.)
PORNOGRAPHY
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Pornography: an Annotated Bibliography (REF HQ 471.B93)
PROSTITUTION
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Prostitution A Guide to Sources, 1960-1990. (REF HQ 111.P76 1992)
PSYCHIATRY AND PSYCHOLOGY
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
A Guide to Psychologists and Their Concepts (REF BF 109.A1 N67)
DICTIONARIES
American Psychiatric Association's Psychiatric Glossary (REF RC
437.A54 1984)
A Comprehensive Dictionary of Psychological and Psychoanalytical Terms (REF
BF 31.E58
1958a)
Dictionary of Behavioral Science (REF BF 31.W64)
Dictionary of Counseling (REF BF 637.C6B444 1994)
The Dictionary of Family Psychology and Family Therapy (REF RC
488.5 D525 1993)
The Dictionary of Family Therapy (REF RC 488.5.M5313 1995)
Dictionary Of Mental Handicap (REF HV 3004.L74 1989)
A Dictionary for Psychotherapists (REF RC 475.7.C48 1993)
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Psychology (REF BF 31.E555 1983)
International Dictionary of Psychology (REF BF 31.S83 1996)
Psychiatric Dictionary (REF RC 437.H5 1981)
Psychological Terms (REF BF 31.H33 1965)
Psychoanalytic Terms and Concepts (REF RC 501.4.P79 1990)
The Language of Psychoanalysis (REF RC 473.L313 1974)
DIRECTORIES
Directory of Credentials in Counseling and Psychology (REF RC
440.9 .M37 1989)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Companion Encyclopedia of Psychology (REF BF 121.C65 1994)
Encyclopedia of Adult Development (REF BF 724.5.E53 1993)
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior (REF BF 31.E5 1994) 4 vols.
Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence (REF BF 431.E59 1994)
Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory (REF BF 318.E53 1992)
Encyclopedia of Memory and Memory Disorders (REF BF 371.N55 1994)
Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears and Anxieties (REF RC 535.D63 1989)
Encyclopedia of Psychoanalysis (REF BF 173.E5)
Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and the Psychotic Disorders (REF
RC 514.N63 1991)
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming (REF BF 1078.E63 1993)
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Sleep Disorders (REF RC 547.Y34 1991)
Family Encyclopedia of Child Psychology and Development (REF BF
721.B7157 1992)
Family Mental Health Encyclopedia (REF RC 437.B69 1989)
HANDBOOKS
Handbook of Child Psychology (REF BF 721.H242 1983)
Handbook of Emotions (REF BF 561.H35 1993)
Psychology Almanac A Handbook for Students (REF BF 31.W49)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 4th ed.
(BF 76.7.P82 1994)(ON
RESERVE)
Reference Handbook of Research and Statistical Methods in Psychology
for Students and
Professionals (REF BF 76.5.R43)
JOURNALS
Journals in Psychology (REF BF 76.8.568 1993)
STATISTICAL SOURCES
Mental Health, United States, 1992 (DOC REF RA 790.6.M45 1994)
earlier editions at(GOV
DOC HE20.8137:yr)
THESAURUS
Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms (REF BF 1.P7 1994)
SOCIOLOGY
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Sociology (REF HM 17.E5 1991)
International Encyclopedia of Sociology (REF HM 17.I53 1984)
SEXUALITY
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Studies in Human Sexuality (REF HQ 21 .F73 1995)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior (REF HQ 9.E4)
Human Sexuality An Encyclopedia (REF HQ .H846 1994)
HANDBOOKS
A Research Guide to Human Sexuality (REF HQ 21.L53 1994)
SOCIAL HISTORY
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of American Social History (REF HN 57.E58 1993)
SOCIAL SERVICES - AGENCIES AND ORGANIZATIONS
DIRECTORIES
Charitable Organizations of the U.S. (REF HV 89.C48 1992/1993)
Camden County Guide: Area Community Resources (X HV 89.C336 1994+)
Latest edition ON
RESERVE
Delaware Valley Resource Directory For Children with Special Needs (REF
HV 898.P5 D45
1992)
Directory of Human Services for Southern New Jersey (REF HV 89.D6
1980) another copy is in
Special Collections
1987 Where to Turn: The Comprehensive Directory of Human Services
in Philadelphia,
Montgomery and Delaware Counties (REF HV 98.P4 W482 1987)
1992-1994 Human Services Directory (United Way of Burlington County)
(REF HV 97.U54 H85
1992/94)
1992 The Complete Directory for People With Disabilities (REF
HV 1551.C66 1992)
Private Social Services in Philadelphia: A Survey of the Records (REF
HV 87 .P5P5)
The Self Help Group Directory (REF HV 547.S39 1991/92)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Associations (READY REF HS 17.G321 yr.)
Social Service Organizations (REF HV 88.S59)
PLAN
Camden County Comprehensive Human Services Plan (REF HV 98.N5C36
1990) (ON
RESERVE)
SUICIDE
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Suicide (REF HV 6545.E87 1988)
U.S. GOVERNMENT STATISTICS
CENSUS
1990 Census of Housing Detailed Housing Characteristics (GOV DOC
C3.224/3-6:990)(ALSO
AVAILABLE ON CDROM)
1990 Census of Papulation and Housing Census Tracts and Block Numbering (GOV
DOC
C3.223/11:990)(ALSO AVAILABLE ON CDROM)
1990 Census of Population: General Population Characteristics (GOV
DOC
C#.223/6:990)(ALSO AVAILABLE ON CDROM)
1990 Census of Population Social and Economic Characteristics (GOV
DOC
C3.223/7:990)(ALSO AVAILABLE ON CDROM)
1990 Census of Population Summary of Population and Housing Characteristics (GOV
DOC
C3.223/18:990)(ALSO AVAILABLE ON CDROM)
GENERAL
County and City Data Book (READY REF HA 202.A36 1994) another
copy at DOC REF
Municipal Yearbook (REF JS 344.C5A24 1948, 1951 -)
Statistical Abstracts of the United States (READY REF HA 202;
also on RESERVE and at
DOC REF HA 202. Earlier editions at GOV DOC C3.134)
HISTORICAL
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 (DOC
REF HA 202.B87 1975)
VIOLENCE
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Violence: Origins, Attitudes, Consequences (REF
HM 291.D4857 1993)
WOMEN
HANDBOOKS
Psychology of Women a Handbook of Issues and Theories (REF HQ
1206.P747 1993)
The 1995 Information Please Women's Sourcebook (REF HQ1236.I54
1995)
STATISTICAL SOURCES
Statistical Handbook on Women in America (REF HQ 1420.T34 1991)
Statistical Record of Women Worldwide (REF HQ 1150.S73 1991)
(Susan J. Beck 6-96) PAUL ROBESON LIBRARY INFO GUIDE
RUTGERS, the STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW JERSEY
CAMDEN, NEW JERSEY [socwrk96.sjb]
INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS FOR SOCIAL WORK AND PSYCHOLOGY
INDEXES
American Statistics Index : A Comprehensive Guide and Index to the
Statistical Publications of
the U. S. Government (DOC REF Z 7554.U5A46 1974 +)
Education Index (REF Z 5813.E23) v. 1+ 1929+ REF INDEX TABLE
Index to U.S. Government Periodicals (DOC REF Z1223.Z9 I5) ALSO
ON INFO as a Eureka
database
Personnel Literature v29+ 1970+ (REF HF 5549.A2P4) REF INDEX TABLE |