Research Resources:
Subject Research Guides:
African Studies:
Indexes
Specialized Indexes
Abortion in Africa
L'avortement en Afrique: une revue de la litterature des annees 1990s a
nos jours = Abortion in Africa: a review of the literature from the 1990s
to the present day. A database of an estimate of 600 references,
searchable by keyword in French or in English, with a thematic summary
divided into 6 chapters. By Agnes Guillaume, in collaboration with
William Molmy. In French and English. (Paris, France: Centre Population
et Developpement, 2004)
Africa-Wide: NiPAD [Rutgers restricted]
Incorporates the information from a variety of
databases and covers African and South African studies using information
from Africa, Europe and the United States. The subject areas covered
include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences,
environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature,
language, law, music, tourism, and many more.
African Online Digital Library
Working in cooperation with the African Studies Center at MSU, and in partnership with
premiere research institutions in Africa, is pioneering the African Online Digital Library.
AODL serves scholars and students conducting research and teaching about West and South
Africa as well as teachers and students of African languages in both the United States and
Africa. It also provides a valuable model for creating and distributing a diverse array of
materials in a region with very limited electronic connectivity.
AFRINUL: African Newspapers Union List
The Cooperative African Newspapers Project is an initiative to enhance the utilization of newspapers as a source of information about Africa. The project explores issues related to the preservation of this inherently ephemeral and fragile form of publication and access to contents through both traditional and new technologies. AFRINUL currently consolidates holdings information for collections in North America, and will later expand to include holdings in Africa, Europe, and elsewhere.
Black Drama: 1830 to the Present [Rutgers restricted]
When complete, Black Drama will contain the full text of 1,200 plays
written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights
from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other
African diaspora countries.
Cooperative Africana Microform Project (CAMP)
A joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center
for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications
and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa
and to make these materials in microform available to researchers.
Guides to collections and Foreign Newspaper Database. This page describe
various aspects of the CAMP collection, including finding aids and
collection guides. This site will be added to as resources become
available and does not represent the complete holdings of CAMP, but is
rather a representative description of some of the items in the
collection. You can also access the
Foreign Newspaper Database,
a collection of more than 6,000 newspapers titles published outside the
United States. It also contains periodicals and newspapers published by
various ethnic groups in North America. Materials from CAMP can be
obtained through Inter-Library Loan.
Country Information, Regional and World Rankings
Aneki.com is an independent, privately operated website based in Montreal,
Canada. They are dedicated to
promoting knowledge of the world's countries and regions. The website
serves as a comprehensive
source of world rankings in a number of categories. The data is derived
from numerous sources including United Nations agencies and the United
States' Central Intelligence Agency's World Factbook.
A Current Bibliography on African Affairs
Roger W. Moeller, ed. Baywood Publishing. 4 issues per year. Includes books, articles and
papers.
ALEX REF
Database of African Theses and Dissertations (DATAD) [Rutgers restricted]
A unique resource
for scholarly research published by African Universities. Made available
by the Association of African Universities, this database may be searched
by author, title, degree, supervisor, university, department, year of
submission, and keywords.
Ethnic NewsWatch (1960-present) [Rutgers restricted]
A thorough collection of newspapers, magazines
and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes many African
and African American publications. Available in English and Spanish. Full-text.
Index Islamicus on CD-ROM.
A Bibliography of Publications on Islam and the Muslim World from 1906 to 1998.
The Index Islamicus is available in the Alexander Library.
International African Bibliography. Compiled and Edited by David Hall
in association with the Centre of African Studies at the Library, School
of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. Published
quarterly. Includes current books, articles and papers.
International African Bibliography.
Compiled and Edited by David Hall
in association with the Centre of African Studies at the Library, School
of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. Published
quarterly. Includes current books, articles and papers.
ALEX REF
The Kenya Indexing Project
Indexkenya.org is an online index of articles published in Nairobi
newspapers. Among the topics indexed are culture, law/governance and
reproductive health.
Quarterly Index to Africana Periodical Literature.
In 1991, the Library of Congress Nairobi Office initiated the
publication of this Quarterly Index. The Office is now indexing over 300
selected periodicals, which are acquired regularly from 29 African
countries. Available online and also in print format
ALEXANDER DOCUS LC1.30/8-4]
See also:
Accessions list
Library of Congress, Nairobi, Kenya: Library of Congress Office.
A bimonthly list of acquisitions.
ALEXANDER DOCUS LC 1:30/8/
SA ePublications Social Sciences & Humanities Collection
A comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic journals from South Africa with broad multidisciplinary coverage of the social sciences and humanities. Journals in the fields of communications, education, history, library & information science, linguistics, literature, music, political science, psychology, sociology, and other disciplines are included.
Indexes with International Scope
The scope of these databases
is international, providing a wealth of citations and/or articles
in the area of Africa and the African diaspora. The databases are available
through Rutgers University Library unless otherwise
noted. For a complete description of these and other databases or to begin
a search go to the Indexes and Databases page.
Academic Search Premier (Varies by source, but generally from 1996 on)
Contains
a wide range of popular magazines and scholarly journals covering general
reference, business, health, social sciences, humanities, education, and
general science. Full-text.
AccessUN
(1966-present)
Provides access to current United Nations documents and publications.Peace
and security, world hunger, human rights, economic development, the environment,
and atomic energy are among the issues addressed.
Full-text.
American Humanities Index
The American Humanities Index is a collection of bibliographic references to literary, scholarly, and
creative journals published in the United States and Canada. The database covers over 1,000 journals
published from 1975 to the present, many of which are not indexed elsewhere.
Anthropological Plus
(1957 - present)
Indexes articles and essays two or more pages long published in English and other European
languages. This source is one of the most important research tools available in the fields of anthropology
and archaeology. Covers the subfields of art, biological anthropology, cultural anthropology,
demography, economics, ethnohistory, folklore, geography, geology, physical anthropology, psychology,
and social anthropology. This database includes materials from the Tozzer Library at Harvard University and
the former Royal Anthropological Institute library.
Anthrosource
This package from the American Anthropological Association indexes and provides online access
to current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including
American Anthropologist,
American Ethnologist,
Anthropology and Education Quarterly,
Anthropology and Humanism,
Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association,
Cultural Anthropology,
Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology,
Medical Anthropology Quarterly,
NAPA Bulletin and
PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through
historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held
in archives around the world.Thousands of libraries, museums, and
archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions
to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about
the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to
arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
Art Full Text
ARTbibliographies
Modern (1974-present)
Abstracts of the current literature
of modern art, photography and design. Regularly indexes five hundred art, photography,
and design journals and museum bulletins and selectively indexes over two
thousand historical and cultural journals published throughout the world.
ATLA Religion Database
A compilation of three print indexes Religion Index One: Periodicals (RIO(R)),
Religion Index Two: Multi-Author Works (RIT(R)), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBBR(R)).
Covering such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on
social issues, ATLA Religion Database contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Contains citations
and abstracts of journals from 16 different countries (including the
U.S. and U.K.) Major areas of coverage include health, social services,
psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Avery
Index to Architectural Periodicals (1977 to present)
The
Avery Index is the foremost periodicals index for architecture and related disciplines. It indexes over 1,000
periodicals published worldwide.
Business Source Premier
Covers most business and management topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance,
international trade, marketing, and public administration. It contains the full-text (or abstracts) of
articles from thousands of scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade
magazines. This database also includes profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies, reports for over
two thousand industry sectors, and hundreds of country risk and economic reports.
CAB Abstracts (1973-present)
A bibliographic database compiled by
CAB INTERNATIONAL. It covers the significant research and development literature
in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human
nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural
resources.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (Monthly Catalog) (1976 to present)
Contains records of items received by libraries from the GPO. Most federal
publications are available in the Alexander Library or the Library of Science
and Medicine. Many items are not in IRIS; consult a Reference Librarian
for holdings information.
CQ Researcher
News: Winner, Society of Professional Journalists Award for Excellence
CIAO:
Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-present)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional
papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings
from conferences.
Contemporary
Women's Issues (1992-present)
Global information on
women, from journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit
groups, and publications of government and international agencies. Full-text.
Declassified Documents Reference System
The Declassified Documents Reference System is a full-text database of
previously classified documents declassified by the federal government.
It includes material on both domestic and international affairs from
such agencies as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Central
Intelligence Agency, and the National Security Agency.
Dissertations and Theses (1861 to present)
The database includes citations
and some full-text of materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation,
accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester.
Education Index/Abstracts/Full Text
Covers the latest
concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and
theoretical aspects of education. It includes citations and abstracts
from over 500 English-language periodicals, and full-text for over 200
of these periodicals.
ERIC (1965 to present)
U.S. Department of Education. Presently the largest
education database in the world, ERIC contains over 700,000 citations covering
research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions
and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
EconLit
(1967 to present)
Provides citations and abstracts to economic literature,
including journals, books, dissertation, working papers, collective volume
articles, and the full texts of book reviews.
Factiva
A vast archive of the world's most important
publications, reports and news, focusing on business. Includes a large number of African publications.
Full-text.
GeoRef
(1933-present)
References and selected abstracts to the world's literature
in the geosciences. Covers journal articles (more than 3500 journals are indexed), books,
maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is a comprehensive bibliography for material on the history of the world
from 1450 to the present. It covers all countries and regions, excluding the United States and Canada
(for those countries, see
America: History and Life).
History
of Science and Technology (1976 to present)
The definitive
international bibliography for the history of science and technology and
its influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Contains records
to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations
in all scientific disciplines.
Humanities Full Text
Provides full text, images, abstracts, and
bibliographic citations for noted scholarly resources as well as
specialized magazines in the humanities.
The Humanities and Social Sciences Data Center
At Alexander Library is a unique, central
resource for Rutgers faculty, students, and other scholars.. The Data Center
provides a customized desktop for humanities and social sciences scholars
to make effective use of special tools and data for their respective disciplines.
The Social Sciences Data Center will facilitate access to some of the RUL
government documents, ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political
and Social Research) and networked CD-ROM data, while also serving as a
clearinghouse for existing or newly created data collections located elsewhere.
The International Medieval Bibliography
The IMB, is the most comprehensive index for Medieval Studies. The
online database comprises over 300,000 records. All subjects relating to
the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 400-1500 AD.
Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Dates covered: 1967 to date.
ICPSR The Inter-University
Consortium for Political and Social Research
A membership-based,
not for profit organization serving member colle ges and universities in
the USA and abroad. Access to the world's largest archive of computerized
social science data. Resources for social scientists using advanced computer
technologies. Contact the Humanities and Social Sciences Data Center for
more information.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.
LexisNexis Statistical
Indexing and abstracts of U.S. government statistical
publications, state statistical publications, and approximately 2000 documents
from international governmental organizations, e.g. the United Nations,
the International Monetary Fund. Dates of coverage vary.
Library
Literature and Information Science (1984 to present)
Indexes
articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals
published in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected
works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets
are also indexed. Full-text.
LLBA, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Among topics covered are linguistic theory, syntax, phonology, semantics, psycholinguistics,
sociolinguistics, and discourse analysis. Scans more than 1500 publications for relevant articles and
includes items in English and thirty other languages. Also includes recently published books and web
sites.
MLA
International Bibliography (1926 to present)
Produced
by the Modern Language Association of America. Includes bibliographic information
for critical scholarly materials in literature, criticism, drama, language,
linguistics, humanities, and folklore. Coverage is worldwide.
PAIS International and Archive (1972 to present)
Contains
records of articles in 1400 periodicals and thousands of government documents,
statistical directories, reports, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and
books. It includes international materials from the entire spectrum of
public and social policy issues.
Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Index Online is a major online periodical archive which makes the full
image of periodical articles, from 1770 to 1995, available in digital
form.
POPLINE
Provides comprehensive coverage on population, family planning, and related health issues.
Over 265,000 abstracts with citations are drawn from published and unpublished sources all over the
world.
PsycINFO
(1887 to present)
Produced by the American Psychological Association
and covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related
disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education,
pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide.
Readers' Guide Full Text
Part of the Wilson OmniFile. It provides
indexing and full text articles from both the popular press and peer
reviewed journals.
SCIPIO:
Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs (1599 to present)
Describes
art and rare books auction sales catalogs dating from 1599 to currently
scheduled auctions that have not yet been held.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current
research focused on social work, human services, and related areas,
including community development, gerontology, homelessness, social
policy, and social welfare.
Social Sciences Full Text
Covers the latest concepts, trends,
opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects
of the social sciences. It includes citations and abstracts from a broad
array of important international, English-language periodicals, and
full-text for selected key periodicals.
Sociological Abstracts
Contains nonevaluative abstracts of the world's
literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and
behavioral sciences.
UNdata
UNdata provides selected series from 30 specialized international data
sources for all available countries and areas.
Web of Science (1994 to present)
The Web of Science is an enhanced web version of the Institute for Scientific Information's
citation indexes, including the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the
Arts and Humanities Citation Index. The Web of Science measures the impact of particular journals
and is one of the sources used by the National Research Council to rank graduate programs.
Women's Studies International
Women's Resources International is one of the most comprehensive women's
studies resource available. Citations and abstracts are drawn from a
variety of essential women's studies databases which range in coverage
from classic works & core studies to the latest scholarship in feminist
research
World Biographical Index =Internationaler biographischer Index
This database provides unified indexing for the following K.G. Saur
biographical archives which include more than 5,300 individual
biographical sources:
African Biographical Archive,
American Biographical Archive,
Archives Biographiques Françaises,
Archivio Biografico Italiano,
Archivo Biográfico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica,
Australasian Biographical Archive,
Baltisches Biographisches Archiv,
Biografisch Archief van de Benelux,
Biographisches Archiv der Antike,
British Biographical Archive,
Chinese Biographical Archive,
Deutsches Biographisches Archiv,
Indian Biographical Archive,
Jüdisches Biographisches Archiv,
Polskie Archiwum Biograficzne,
Russisches Biographisches Archiv,
Scandinavian Biographical Archive
World News Connection
Offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information.
Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides references and abstracts from public affairs magazines, major
newspapers, professional journals, and books devoted to politics and political analysis.
Links to other Library
Catalogs outside of Rutgers University.