LIBRARIES HOME
SEARCH IRIS AND OTHER CATALOGS
FIND ARTICLES
FIND ARTICLES WITH SEARCHLIGHT
FIND RESERVES
RESEARCH RESOURCES
RUCORE
CONNECT FROM OFF-CAMPUS
HOW DO I...?
REFWORKS
SEARCHPATH
LIBRARY INSTRUCTION
BORROWING
DELIVERY AND INTERLIBRARY LOAN
REFERENCE
FACULTY SERVICES
ABOUT THE LIBRARIES
NEWS AND EVENTS
ALUMNI LIBRARY




RETURN TO RUTGERS HOME PAGE

SEARCH RUTGERS


VALE - Virtual Academic Library Environment
Rebecca Gardner
Anthropology and Human Ecology Librarian
rgardner@rci.rutgers.edu
January 30, 2007
Research Resources: Subject Research Guides: Anthropology:
Indexes and Databasess

Specialized Indexes

Abstracts in anthropology.
Westport, Conn., Greenwood Periodicals.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLASS REF GN1.A15 1997

Anthropology Plus (1957 - present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Indexes articles and essays two or more pages long published in English and other European languages. This source is one of the most important research tools available in the fields of anthropology and archaeology. Covers the subfields of art, biological anthropology, cultural anthropology, demography, economics, ethnohistory, folklore, geography, geology, physical anthropology, psychology, and social anthropology. This database includes materials from the Tozzer Library at Harvard University and the former Royal Anthropological Institute library.

AnthroSource (Varies by title) [Rutgers Restricted]
This package from the American Anthropological Association indexes and provides online access to current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications. AnthroSource also includes an electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003.

Anthropological index to current periodicals in the Library of the Royal Anthropological Institute.
Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland. Library. London, Royal Anthropological Institute.
DANA REF Z6945.G7R6 v.7-v.12 1969-1974

Anthropology of southern Africa in periodicals to 1950: an analysis and index compiled under direction of N.J. van Warmelo.
Johannesburg: Witwatersrand University Press, 1977.
ALEXANDER: FOLIO Z5113.A56

Archivio per l'antropologia e la etnologia, fondato da Paolo Mantegazza: indici dei cento volumi, 1871- 1970. a cura di Edoardo Pardini, Vitaliano Rossi; presentazione di Giuseppe Genna.
Firenze: Sicieta italiana di antropologia e etnologia, 1975.
ALEXANDER STACKS GN1.A82P37

C.R.I.S.: the combined retrospective index set to journals in sociology, 1895-1974. executive editor, Annadel N. Wile, assistant editor, Arnold Jaffe; with an introd. And user's guide by Evan I. Farber.
Washington: Carrolton Press, 1978.
ALEXANDER REF AI3.C19 v. 1-6; DOUGLASS: REF H1.C19 1978 V. 1-6

Finding the source in sociology and anthropology: a thesaurus-index to the reference collection compiled by Samuel R. Brown.
New York: Greenwood Press, c1987.
ALEXANDER REF Z7164.S68B75 1987; DANA, DOUGLASS REF HM51.B75

General index, American anthropologist, and Memoirs of the American Anthropological Association.
[Menasha, Wis.]
ALEXANDER GN1.A5 Index yr.1888-1928

Related Indexes

Academic Search Premier (Varies by source, but generally from 1996 on) [Rutgers Restricted]
Contains a wide range of popular magazines and scholarly journals covering general reference, business, health, social sciences, humanities, education, and general science. Full-text.

Art Full Text [Rutgers Restricted]

ATLA Religion Database [Rutgers Restricted]
A compilation of three print indexes Religion Index One: Periodicals (RIO(R)), Religion Index Two: Multi-Author Works (RIT(R)), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBBR(R)). Covering such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues, ATLA Religion Database contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages.

Contemporary Women's Issues (1992-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Global information on women, from journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, and publications of government and international agencies.

Dissertations and Theses (1861 to present) [Rutgers Restricted]
The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960 to present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (1990 to present)
Contains records describing books, book chapters,articles, conference papers published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings. Approximately 60% to 70% of the records contain evaluative annotations.

HAPI - Hispanic-American Periodical Index (1970 to present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Contains bibliographic citations to articles from over 400 scholarly journals published in the United States and Latin America in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Updated annually.

JSTOR [Rutgers Restricted]
Provides electronic access to back runs of over 289 journal titles, beginning with Volume 1 of each journal.

LIBDEX
Contains the catalogs of a very important group of libraries worldwide.

MLA International Bibliography (1926 to present) [Rutgers Restricted]
MLA International Bibliography is produced by The Modern Language Association of America. This database includes bibliographic information for critical scholarly materials in literature, criticism, drama, language, linguistics, humanities, and folklore. Coverage is worldwide, and includes articles scanned from over 3,500 journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. The database currently contains references to over half a million documents.

MEDLINE [Rutgers Restricted]
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries [Rutgers Restricted]
When complete, North American Women's Letters and Diaries will be the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it will bring the personal experiences of 1,500 women to researchers, students, and general readers.

PAIS International and Archive (1972 to present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Contains records of articles in 1400 periodicals and thousands of government documents, statistical directories, reports, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and books. It includes international materials from the entire spectrum of public and social policy issues, with an emphasis on factual and statistical information.

PrimateLit: A Bibliographic Database for Primatology
Index to books, articles, dissertations, documents, and technical reports from 1940 to the present relating to nonhuman primates. Link to NLM-PubMed abstract when available.

Project Muse [Rutgers Restricted]
A project of the John Hopkins University provides worldwide, networked, subscription access to the full text of the Press's 40+ scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

PsychINFO (1887 to present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Psychology, Psychiatry and related fields - PsychINFO is produced by the American Psychological Association and covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language.

Web of Science (1994 to present) [Rutgers Restricted]
An enhanced web version of the Institute for Scientific Information's citation indexes, including the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Includes citations and references from articles in more than 8,000 journals.

Back to Top of Page
 
URL: http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/anthro/databases.shtml
Send Website feedback to the Libraries Webmaster
© Copyright 1996-2008, Rutgers University Libraries   (Further Copyright Information)