LIBRARIES HOME
SEARCH IRIS AND OTHER CATALOGS
FIND ARTICLES
FIND ARTICLES WITH SEARCHLIGHT
FIND RESERVES
RESEARCH RESOURCES
RUCORE
CONNECT FROM OFF-CAMPUS
HOW DO I...?
REFWORKS
SEARCHPATH
LIBRARY INSTRUCTION
BORROWING
DELIVERY AND INTERLIBRARY LOAN
REFERENCE
FACULTY SERVICES
ABOUT THE LIBRARIES
NEWS AND EVENTS
ALUMNI LIBRARY




RETURN TO RUTGERS HOME PAGE

SEARCH RUTGERS


VALE - Virtual Academic Library Environment
Rebecca Gardner
Geography Librarian
rgardner@rci.rutgers.edu
January 30, 2007
Research Resources: Subject Research Guides: Geography:
Indexes and Databases

This is a list of selected electronic Indexes and Databases for finding information and literature in geography. Find a complete list of Rutgers Restricted Indexes and Databases as well as step-by-step instructions on how to find a journal article at: http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/indexes/findarticles.shtml

Rutgers Restricted Indexes and Databases

GeoRef
- GeoRef, a database established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, is the premier international resource for bibliographic information about geology and the geosciences. References and selected abstracts for the North American literature cover the period 1693 to the present. Coverage for areas outside of North America is from 1933 to the present. GeoRef includes journal articles (more than 3500 journals are indexed), books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses, as well as references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Academic Search Premier (Varies by source, but generally from 1996 on)
- Contains a wide range of scholarly journals and popular magazines covering general reference, business, health, social sciences, humanities, education, and general science. Full-text.
Web of Science (1994 to present)
- An enhanced web version of the Institute for Scientific Information's citation indexes, including the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Includes citations and references from articles in more than 8,000 journals.
IngentaConnect
- Rutgers IngentaConnect Gateway provides access to more than 25000 publications, many of them available full-text to Rutgers registered users.
Left Index
- An important source of information - political, economic, social and cultural from the leftist and radical media available from 1982 onwards.You will find citations to research in political geography.
LexisNexis Statistical
- Search the American Statistics Index, the Statistical Reference Index, and the Index to International Statistics with links to full-text as well as tables.
Humanities and Social Sciences Data Center
- The Humanities and Social Sciences Data Center in the Scholarly Communication Center (On the 4th floor of the Alexander Library) is a unique resource for Rutgers faculty, staff, and students.. The Data Center is a special purpose laboratory which offers a number of services for users who are interested in accessing numeric data and humanities texts.
Numeric and GIS Data Research Guide
- This guide provides access to numeric data that is available on the Internet or via print or CDROM collections at Alexander Library, Rutgers University.
Print Indexes
- Several print indexes to older literature are available in the Rutgers University Libraries. Consult IRIS for holdings and locations of these indexes. Geographical abstracts (Annual index, C:Economic geography, D:Social and historical geography) and current geographical publications are available at Alexander, Dana, and LSM for various periods.

Indexes on the Web

GeoCommunicator
- GeoCommunicator is a land management and land records community based web site for the distribution of information and data from the National Integrated Land System.
GNIS
- The Geographic Names Information System (GNIS), developed by the USGS in cooperation with the U.S. Board on Geographic Names (BGN), contains information for almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States and its territories. The Federally recognized name of each feature described in the data base is identified, and references are made to a feature's location by State, county, and geographic coordinates. The GNIS is our Nation's official repository of domestic geographic names information.
U.S. Gazetteer
- This gazetteer is used to identify places to view with the Tiger Map Server and obtain census data from the 1990 Census Lookup server. You can search for places, counties or MCDs by entering the name and state abbreviation (optional), or 5-digit zip code.
GeoSource
- A classified directory of web resources for human geography,physical geography, planning,geoscience and environmental science
Population Index on the Web
- Population Index is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000.
 
URL: http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/geography/databases.shtml
Send Website feedback to the Libraries Webmaster
© Copyright 1996-2008, Rutgers University Libraries   (Further Copyright Information)