Melissa Gasparotto
Latin America, Spanish & Portuguese, and Africa Librarian
gasparom@rci.rutgers.edu
Created by Lourdes Vazquez
July 2007
|
Research Resources:
Subject Research Guides:
Latin American Studies:
Databases
The indexes listed below include both specialized indexes for Latin
American, Spanish, Portuguese, and/or Latino Studies as well as indexes
with an international scope which provide coverage in these areas. Access
is limited to Rutgers University students, faculty, and staff.
Specialized Indexes
Black Drama: 1830 to the Present [Rutgers Restricted]
When complete, Black Drama will contain the full text of 1,200 plays
written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights
from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other
African diaspora countries.
Brazil's Popular Groups Index
This Index makes accessible a bibliographic body of primary materials,
mostly non-commercially produced and difficult to acquire and obtain,
which is basic to the study of grass-roots political and social
movements in Brazil. RUL is in the process of obtaining the entire
collection on microform.
CARINDEX
CARINDEX is an index to the contents of some 70 West Indian journals,
published within in the Caribbean region. It also includes theses and
papers presented at conferences. CARINDEX covers publications in the
social sciences and humanities from 1983 onwards, with priority being
given to indexing materials of immediate relevance to the teaching and
research at the three campuses of the University of the West Indies.
Chicano Database (1967-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Includes records for material on the broader
Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central
American immigrants. Subject coverage includes many areas of the humanities
and social sciences.
CINDOC Database
This database developed by the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones
Científicas(Spain), contains bibliographic citations to a selected list
of journals and conference papers published in Spain in the humanities
and social sciences areas as well as the sciences. Limited access is
available free.
Compludoc/Universidad Complutense/Spain
Database of articles from periodicals. Compludoc contiene las reseñas bibliográficas de los artículos publicados en una selección de revistas analizadas en las bibliotecas de la Biblioteca de la Universidad Complutense de Madrid. Compludoc nació en el año 1997 e incluye artículos de revistas de ciencias sociales, la mayor parte de ellas españolas junto a algunas de las principales editadas en inglés y francés.
DIALNET/Universidad de la Rioja/Spain
Indice de revistas llamado servicio de alertas documentales que le permite estar al día de la producción científica en lengua española.
Ethnic NewsWatch (1960-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
A thorough collection of newspapers, magazines
and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes many African
and African American publications. Available in English and Spanish. Full-text.
Handbook
of Latin American Studies (1990-present)
Contains works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities..
Hispanic-American
Periodicals Index (1970-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Contains bibliographic citations to articles from over 500 scholarly journals published in the United States and Latin America in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Full Text.
Inter-American Human Rights Database (Center for Human Rights and Humanitarian Law)
Contains documents in English and
Spanish adopted by the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights since its first session in 1960. Includes full-text for
many recent documents.
Latin American Microform Project (LAMP) and Foreign newspapers
collection. (Center for Research Libraries)
A collection of more than 6,000 newspapers titles published
outside the United States. It also contains periodicals and newspapers
published by various ethnic groups in North America. This database contains
more than 2,000 titles, available to Rutgers University through Interlibrary
Loan.
The Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)
A searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents
of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America.
Latin American Twentieth-Century Pamphlets Database Part I: The Southern Cone
Rutgers University Libraries Twentieth Century Latin American Pamphlets Database is
a work-in-progress. While Part I indexes over 1400 items documenting the "Southern Cone"
countries (Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay), further iterations of this project will
comprise the Caribbean, Central America, and the remaining countries of South America.
The original pamphlets are accessible through RUL Special Collections and University Archives,
although advanced notice may be required to use them. The Twentieth Century Latin American
Pamphlet Collection is being microfilmed by IDC Publishers and a copy will be available in the
Archibald S. Alexander Library.
Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y El Caribe, España y Portugal
A database of scientific and scholarly journals from Latin America,
Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Full Text.
Scielo
The Scientific Electronic Library Online - SciELO is an electronic
library covering a selected collection of Brazil, Chile, Cuba and Spain
scientific journals. The library is an integral part of a project being
developed by
FAPESP - Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa
do Estado de São Paulo, in partnership with
BIREME
- the Latin American and
Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information. Since 2002, the Project
is also supported by
CNPq - Conselho Nacional de
Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico. The Project envisages the
development of a common methodology for the preparation, storage,
dissemination and evaluation of scientific literature in electronic
format in Latin America and Spain. As the project develops, new journal
titles are being added in the library collection. Full Text.
Indexes With International Scope
Academic Search Premier (Varies by source, but generally from 1996 on) [Rutgers Restricted]
Contains
a wide range of popular magazines and scholarly journals covering general
reference, business, health, social sciences, humanities, education, and
general science. Full-text.
AccessUN (1966-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Provides access to current United Nations documents and publications.Peace
and security, world hunger, human rights, economic development, the environment,
and atomic energy are among the issues addressed.
Full-text.
America:
History and Life (1964-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
A complete bibliographic
reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory
to the present. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Anthropological Plus [Rutgers Restricted]
(1957 - present)
Indexes articles and essays two or more pages long published in English and other European
languages. This source is one of the most important research tools available in the fields of anthropology
and archaeology. Covers the subfields of art, biological anthropology, cultural anthropology,
demography, economics, ethnohistory, folklore, geography, geology, physical anthropology, psychology,
and social anthropology. This database includes materials from the Tozzer Library at Harvard University and
the former Royal Anthropological Institute library.
Anthrosource [Rutgers Restricted]
This package from the American Anthropological Association indexes and provides online access
to current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including
American Anthropologist,
American Ethnologist,
Anthropology and Education Quarterly,
Anthropology and Humanism,
Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association,
Cultural Anthropology,
Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology,
Medical Anthropology Quarterly,
NAPA Bulletin and
PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review.
ArchiveGrid [Rutgers Restricted]
ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through
historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held
in archives around the world.Thousands of libraries, museums, and
archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions
to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about
the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to
arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
Art Full Text [Rutgers Restricted]
ARTbibliographies
Modern (1974-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Abstracts of the current literature
of modern art, photography and design. Regularly indexes five hundred
art, photography, and design journals and museum bulletins and selectively
indexes over two thousand historical and cultural journals published throughout
the world.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts [Rutgers Restricted]
Contains citations
and abstracts of journals from 16 different countries (including the
U.S. and U.K.) Major areas of coverage include health, social services,
psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
ATLA Religion Database [Rutgers Restricted]
A compilation of three print indexes Religion Index One: Periodicals (RIO(R)),
Religion Index Two: Multi-Author Works (RIT(R)), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBBR(R)).
Covering such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on
social issues, ATLA Religion Database contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages.
Avery
Index to Architectural Periodicals (1977-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
The Avery
Index is the foremost periodicals index for architecture and related disciplines.
It indexes over 1,000 periodicals published worldwide.
Bibliography
of the History of Art (1973-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Covers European and American
art from late antiquity to the present, indexing books, conference proceedings
and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from
more than 2,500 periodicals.
Business
& Industry Database (1994-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Draws business news, facts
and events from over 1000 trade publications, national, international,
regional newspapers, business dailies, and newsletters.
Business Source Premier [Rutgers Restricted]
Covers most business and management topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance,
international trade, marketing, and public administration. It contains the full-text (or abstracts) of
articles from thousands of scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade
magazines. This database also includes profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies, reports for over
two thousand industry sectors, and hundreds of country risk and economic reports.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (Monthly Catalog) (1976-present)
Contains
records of items received by libraries from the GPO. Most federal publications
are available in the Alexander Library or the Library of Science and Medicine.
Many items are not in IRIS; consult a Reference Librarian for holdings
information.
CIAO:
Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional
papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings
from conferences.
CQ Researcher [Rutgers Restricted]
News: Winner, Society of Professional Journalists Award for Excellence
Contemporary
Women's Issues (1992-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Global information on
women, from journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit
groups, and publications of government and international agencies. Full-text.
Declassified Documents Reference System [Rutgers Restricted]
The Declassified Documents Reference System is a full-text database of
previously classified documents declassified by the federal government.
It includes material on both domestic and international affairs from
such agencies as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Central
Intelligence Agency, and the National Security Agency.
Dissertations and Theses (1861-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
The database includes citations
and some full-text of materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation,
accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 [Rutgers Restricted]
(A considerable collection of titles pertaining to Latin America (by country) and the West Indies.)
A full text, online version of all the titles originally published in the
Early American Imprints, Series I, microform set.
Based on Charles Evans' comprehensive American Bibliography,
it includes the more than 36,000 works from the microform edition,
plus more than 1,000 additional works located, cataloged, and
digitized since completion of the earlier effort.
Eighteen Century Collections Online [Rutgers Restricted]
(A considerable collection of titles pertaining to
Latin America (by country) and the West Indies).
A nearly comprehensive collection of the works
published in the English language (and non-English language works printed in England) during
the eighteenth century, approximately 150,000 books, with 33,000,000 pages. Covers the full
spectrum of intellectual activity in the century: literature, history, geography, law, science,
medicine, technology, the fine arts, religion, philosophy, political science and government.
Includes poems, plays, novels, histories, travel books, parliamentary papers, parish registers,
conduct books, cook books, almanacs-all the categories and genres published during the period.
Translations into the English language and foreign language works printed in England (often
because of censorship) are also included.
EconLit (1967-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Provides citations and abstracts to economic literature,
including journals, books, dissertation, working papers, collective volume
articles, and the full texts of book reviews.
Education Index/Abstracts/Full Text [Rutgers Restricted]
Covers the latest
concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and
theoretical aspects of education. It includes citations and abstracts
from over 500 English-language periodicals, and full-text for over 200
of these periodicals.
EEBO - Early English Books Online [Rutgers Restricted]
This online image collection
contains practically all books printed in English up to the 18th century,
in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and
the fine arts. Includes several hundred titles relating to Latin America,
Portugal, or Spain.
EEBO - TCP
[Rutgers Restricted]
This online structured SGML/XML text edition collection
will contain 25,000 books printed in English up to the 18th century,
in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and
the fine arts. Includes several hundred titles relating to Latin America,
Portugal, or Spain.
ERIC
(1965-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
U.S. Department of Education. Presently the largest
education database in the world, ERIC contains over 700,000 citations covering
research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions
and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
Factiva [Rutgers Restricted]
A vast archive of the world's most important
publications, reports and news, focusing on business. Includes a large
number of African publications. Full-text.
GeoRef
(1933-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
References and selected abstracts to the world's literature
in the geosciences. Covers journal articles (more than 3500 journals are
indexed), books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Historical Abstracts [Rutgers Restricted]
Historical Abstracts is a comprehensive bibliography for material on the
history of the world from 1450 to the present. It covers all countries
and regions, excluding the United States and Canada (for those
countries, see
America: History and Life).
Humanities Full Text [Rutgers Restricted]
Provides full text, images, abstracts, and
bibliographic citations for noted scholarly resources as well as
specialized magazines in the humanities.
Index
of Christian Art [Rutgers Restricted]
The largest archive of materials on Early Christian
and Medieval Iconography. It documents Christian art from early apostolic
times to 1400 AD with no geographic limitations.
The International Medieval Bibliography [Rutgers Restricted]
The IMB, is the most comprehensive index for Medieval Studies. The
online database comprises over 300,000 records. All subjects relating to
the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 400-1500 AD.
Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Dates covered: 1967 to date.
Iter:
Gateway to the Renaissance [Rutgers Restricted]
Coverage of scholarly literature on
the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes indexing for articles,
reviews, bibliographies, catalogues, editions, abstracts, discographies,
and notes.
JSTOR [Rutgers Restricted]
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.
Library
Literature & Information Science (1984-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Indexes articles
and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published
in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected works
such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are
also indexed. Full-text.
Literature Online (LION) [Rutgers Restricted]
Searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language-poetry, drama,
and prose; 175 full-text literary journals; the
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature;
and reference sources including bibliographies, biographies, and Dictionaries.
Individual units run from Anglo-Saxon literature, through the Middle Ages and the Renaissance,
the 18th and 19th centuries right up to the late 20th Century. The geographical span
includes England, Scotland, Ireland, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the West Indies, Africa,
and South Asia.
Literature Online (LION) also offers comprehensive cross-searching of
EEBO -Early English Books Online, thus bringing together
the two leading textual resources for scholars of Early Modern literature. Results from the
Quick Search and Search Texts options within
Literature Online will include full results from
the entire set of EEBO citation data (125,000 titles).
LLBA, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts [Rutgers Restricted]
Among topics covered are linguistic theory, syntax, phonology, semantics, psycholinguistics,
sociolinguistics, and discourse analysis. Scans more than 1500 publications for relevant articles and
includes items in English and thirty other languages. Also includes recently published books and web
sites.
MLA International Bibliography (1926-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America. Includes bibliographic information
for critical scholarly materials in literature, criticism, drama, language,
linguistics, humanities, and folklore. Coverage is worldwide.
Music
Index [Rutgers Restricted]
A subject and author guide to music periodical literature,
indexing 640 international music periodicals from 1979-1998. Covers musicological
or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances,
and obituaries.
PAIS International and Archive (1972-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Contains records
of articles in 1400 periodicals and thousands of government documents,
statistical directories, reports, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and
books. It includes international materials from the entire spectrum of
public and social policy issues.
Periodicals Index Online [Rutgers Restricted]
Periodicals Index Online is a major online periodical archive which makes the full
image of periodical articles, from 1770 to 1995, available in digital
form. Full-text.
Philosopher's
Index (1940-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Covers scholarly research in the fifteen fields
of philosophy, published in journals and books. Over 480 journals are covered,
from 38 countries.
POPLINE [Rutgers Restricted]
Provides comprehensive coverage on population, family planning, and related health issues.
Over 265,000 abstracts with citations are drawn from published and unpublished sources all over the
world.
PsycINFO (1887-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
Produced by the American Psychological Association and covers the professional
and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including
medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology,
linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide.
Readers' Guide Full Text [Rutgers Restricted]
Part of the Wilson OmniFile. It provides
indexing and full text articles from both the popular press and peer
reviewed journals.
RILM
Abstracts of Music Literature [Rutgers Restricted]
Documents the music scholarship of
some 60 countries. Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies,
catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries,
ethnographic recordings and reviews.
Social Sciences Full Text [Rutgers Restricted]
Covers the latest concepts, trends,
opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects
of the social sciences. It includes citations and abstracts from a broad
array of important international, English-language periodicals, and
full-text for selected key periodicals.
Social Services Abstracts [Rutgers Restricted]
Provides bibliographic coverage of current
research focused on social work, human services, and related areas,
including community development, gerontology, homelessness, social
policy, and social welfare.
Sociological Abstracts [Rutgers Restricted]
Contains nonevaluative abstracts of the world's
literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and
behavioral sciences.
Statistical
Universe [Rutgers Restricted]
Indexing and abstracts of U.S. government statistical
publications, state statistical publications, and approximately 2000 documents
from international governmental organizations, e.g. the United Nations,
the International Monetary Fund. Dates of coverage vary.
UNdata
UNdata provides selected series from 30 specialized international data
sources for all available countries and areas.
Web of Science (1994-present) [Rutgers Restricted]
The Web of Science is an enhanced web version of the Institute for Scientific Information's
citation indexes, including the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the
Arts and Humanities Citation Index. The Web of Science measures the impact of particular journals
and is one of the sources used by the National Research Council to rank graduate programs.
Women's Studies International [Rutgers Restricted]
Women's Resources International is one of the most comprehensive women's
studies resource available. Citations and abstracts are drawn from a
variety of essential women's studies databases which range in coverage
from classic works & core studies to the latest scholarship in feminist
research
World Biographical Index ==Internationaler biographischer Index [Rutgers Restricted]
This database provides unified indexing for the following K.G. Saur
biographical archives which include more than 5,300 individual
biographical sources:
African Biographical Archive,
American Biographical Archive,
Archives Biographiques Françaises,
Archivio Biografico Italiano,
Archivo Biográfico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica,
Australasian Biographical Archive,
Baltisches Biographisches Archiv,
Biografisch Archief van de Benelux,
Biographisches Archiv der Antike,
British Biographical Archive,
Chinese Biographical Archive,
Deutsches Biographisches Archiv,
Indian Biographical Archive,
Jüdisches Biographisches Archiv,
Polskie Archiwum Biograficzne,
Russisches Biographisches Archiv,
Scandinavian Biographical Archive
World News Connection
Offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information.
Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides references and abstracts from public affairs magazines, major
newspapers, professional journals, and books devoted to politics and political analysis.