Myoung Wilson
Library and Information Science Librarian
mywilson@rci.rutgers.edu
Updated by Steve Chudnick
December 10, 2007
|
Research Resources:
Subject Research Guides:
Library and Information Science Resources:
Journal Articles and Journal Lists
Library and Information Science Focused Databases
ASIST Digital Library
Includes four major ASIST publications in full
text. They are the Journal of the American Society for Information
Science and Technology (JASIST), Annual Review of Information Science
and Technology (ARLIST), Bulletin of the American Society for
Information Science and Technology, and Proceedings of the ASIST Annual
Meeting. Electronic coverage varies for each title.
BUBL Journals/Library and Information Science. 1990+
Table of contents, abstracts and some full-text articles.
Arranged by broad subject groups.
Current Cites
An Annotated Bibliography of Selected Articles, Books, and Digital Documents
on Information Technology. 1990+.
Digital Library of Information Science and Technology (dLIST)
dLIST is an open access archive for the Information Sciences and supported by the
School of Information Resources and Library Science and
Learning Technologies Center,
University of Arizona. Established in 2002.
E-LIS
An open access archive for scientific or technical documents, published or unpublished,
on Librarianship, Information Science and Technology, and related areas.
Library Literature: Index to Library and Information Science.
New York: H.W. Wilson.
ALEXANDER REF. AI3.L55. 1921+.
This is a cumulative author/subject index to over 500 journals issued annually in library and information science fields.
Also available online (indexing 1984 - present, full-text 1994-present).
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA).
Indexing with abstracts for periodicals, conference proceedings, book reviews, and research
reports, 1969 - present; indexing with abstracts for unpublished research, 1981-1999.
Information Science and Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
Medford, NJ: Information Today Inc.
ALEXANDER REF. Z699. A1D6. Vol. 1, 1966-2004
The Library Association. Coverage is international.
Includes abstracts from about 300 periodicals with some pamphlets and conference proceedings.
Includes an author and subject index.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA).
Allied Databases and Indexes
ACM Digital Libraries 1985+
The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library contains the full-text for articles
published in ACM and affiliated organizations periodicals and proceedings since 1985, as well as
bibliographic information, abstracts, and reviews for those articles. These publications cover various
fields related to computing, including software, hardware, computational theory, artificial intelligence,
information science, human-computer interaction, instructional technology, and the research & development
communities involved in computing.
Business Source Premier
Covers most business and management topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance,
international trade, marketing, and public administration. It contains the full-text (or abstracts) of
articles from thousands of scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade
magazines. This database also includes profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies, reports for over
two thousand industry sectors, and hundreds of country risk and economic reports.
ERIC
(Educational Resources Information Center). 1966+.
Available online. This is primarily a comprehensive education database that
includes a large number of entries on topics related to library and information science..
IEEE Xplore (Digital Libraries Research).
All matters related to digital libraries
ScienceDirect
This is a full-text database of materials covering the science and social science fields. This database contains the full text of major LIS journal titles such as the
Information Processing & Management and the
Journal of Academic Librarianship.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases are appropriate for library and information science studies.
Academic Search Premier
Full text articles are available from selected library and information science journals.
CiteSeer.IST
A "scientific literature digital library" and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature of computer and information science.
Dissertations and Theses
Online version of Dissertation Abstracts. This is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester.
Factiva
A huge archive of publications, reprints, and newspapers focusing on business.
Google Scholar
Includes peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and open access publishers. Some content is available in full text.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (e.g. questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Ingenta
A multidisciplinary index. The Rutgers Ingenta gateway is a searchable database of more than
11 million citations from over 25,000 publications. Links to electronic full-text journals that
Rutgers University subscribes to and has registered with Ingenta are available through the gateway.
ScientificCommons
Aims to develop the world’s largest communication medium for scientific knowledge products,
which is freely accessible to the public. Includes many LIS topics.
TableBase
This database specializes in tabular data on industries, products, and demographics, including the library and information industries. It features precise indexing and unambiguous table titles and links to full text and gives access to thousands of tables.
Web of Science
An enhanced web version of the Institute for Scientific Information's citation indexes, including the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index.