LIBRARIES HOME
SEARCH IRIS AND OTHER CATALOGS
FIND ARTICLES
FIND ARTICLES WITH SEARCHLIGHT
FIND RESERVES
RESEARCH RESOURCES
RUCORE
CONNECT FROM OFF-CAMPUS
HOW DO I...?
REFWORKS
SEARCHPATH
LIBRARY INSTRUCTION
BORROWING
DELIVERY AND INTERLIBRARY LOAN
REFERENCE
FACULTY SERVICES
ABOUT THE LIBRARIES
NEWS AND EVENTS
ALUMNI LIBRARY




RETURN TO RUTGERS HOME PAGE

SEARCH RUTGERS


VALE - Virtual Academic Library Environment
> Tom Izbicki
Humanities Librarian
tizbicki@rci.rutgers.edu
April 2006
Research Resources: Subject Research Guides: Religion:
Periodical Databases

The Rutgers University computer network allows access, either in any of the libraries or by remote access from home or office, to an increasing number of electronic sources--including periodical indexes, catalogs, the full texts of literary works, discussion groups, electronic journals, etc. The following is a list of some of the more interesting and immediately relevant sources for students in literature. Connect through the Libraries Home Page ), and click on "Not logged in" to log in.

The most important sources in a group are highlighted by two asterisks (**).

** ATLA Religion Database. (1949+).
Probably the best starting place for students of Religion. Contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages. It includes article citations from 650 current journals, essay citations from 14,000 multi-author* works, and book review citations.

Academic Search Premier.
A multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions, providing the full-text of nearly 4700 periodicals. Covers around 200 journals in religion and theology, but also useful for interdisciplinary studies. Full-text coverage mostly begins around 1996.

L'Annee Philologique. (1959+)
The primary database for classical studies and information on ancient Greece and Rome. Coverage includes Judaism and Early Christianity, Greek and Roman religion, and religions of the Near East in the classical period. Coverage includes articles in the modern European languages.

Anthropology Plus. (Late 19th Century to the Present)
A good source for anthropological approaches to religion, from prehistoric to the contemporary scene.

Humanities Full Text. (1984+ for citations; 1995+ for full-text)
Provides full text, images, abstracts, and bibliographic citations for noted scholarly resources as well as specialized magazines in the humanities. Religion and Philosophy are among the disciplines covered.

JSTOR.
Provides electronic access to back runs of journals, beginning with Volume 1 of each journal. JSTOR includes several collections, and while none of the collections Rutgers has acquired thus far focuses specifically on religion, there are a number of journals in related areas-philosophy, classical studies, and history-that might be of interest.

Periodicals Index Online.
An international interdisciplinary index useful for finding articles from over 4500 journals from as early as 1770 up to 1995, including several hundred in French, German, Spanish, and Italian. Periodicals Index Online includes a constantly growing online archive of full-image articles in over 470 (Fall 2005) of the journals indexed in Periodicals Index Online. Includes significant coverage of religion and theology.

Philosopher's Index. (1940+)
Useful for coverage of the philosophy of religion, religion and ethics, and other topics at the intersection of religion and philosophy.

PsycINFO. (1872+)
Covers the psychology of belief and religious practice.

Sociological Abstracts. (1963+)
Useful for coverage of the sociology of religion and religion & science.

Back to Top of Page
 
URL: http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/religion/databases.shtml
Send Website feedback to the Libraries Webmaster
© Copyright 1996-2008, Rutgers University Libraries   (Further Copyright Information)