You are here

Nancy Kranich Named Recipient of 2016 Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor Award

August 11, 2016
Award winner Nancy Kranich

Nancy Kranich accepts the 2016 Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor Award at the ALA Annual Conference in Orlando.

Nancy Kranich, special projects librarian for Rutgers University Libraries, was recently named a co-recipient of the 2016 Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) Roll of Honor Award.

FTRF promotes intellectual freedom by defending and protecting the First Amendment, supporting libraries as institutions that uphold the rights detailed therein. The Roll of Honor Award, which was established in 1987, recognizes and honors individuals who have contributed substantially to FTRF through adherence to its principles and/or substantial monetary support.

Kranich was presented with the award during the Opening General Session at the 2016 ALA Annual Conference in Orlando.

“Over the course of her distinguished career, Nancy has proven herself a staunch defender of the freedom of expression and the right of all libraries to collect and provide access to information freely,” said Melissa Just, associate university librarian for research and instructional services and director of New Brunswick Libraries. “Nancy is most deserving of the Roll of Honor Award and we at Rutgers University Libraries are proud to join the Freedom to Read Foundation in recognizing her accomplishments.”

From the American Library Association press release:

“Nancy Kranich, past president of the American Library Association and a former trustee of the Freedom to Read Foundation, teaches intellectual freedom, information policy and community engagement at the Rutgers University School of Communication and Information and serves as Rutgers' special projects librarian.  While president of the ALA, Kranich was instrumental in spearheading ALA’s and FTRF's effort to overturn the Children’s Internet Protection Act and has served as  chair and member of the Intellectual Freedom Committee, on which she served as a member of the IFC’s Privacy Subcommittee and helped to launch the ALA Privacy Tool Kit.  Among many other honors, she recently received the ALA’s Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship (2015) and was recognized that same year by the Rutgers University Department of Library and Information Science for her distinguished achievement as a part-time lecturer.  She continues to advocate for intellectual freedom, open access and privacy as a member of the board of the National Security Archive, the New Jersey Center for the Book, the Partnership for Progress on the Digital Divide and the ALA Center for Civic Life.”