Minutes for February 19, 2010 Meeting

Grace Agnew, Katie Anderson (remote), Ka-Neng Au (remote), Stephanie Bartz, Ed Berger (remote), Natalie Borisovets, Jeanne Boyle, Jerris Cassel, Vibiana Bowman Cvetkovic, Melissa De Fino, Kayo Denda, Mary Fetzer, Lila Fredenburg, Tom Frusciano, Judy Gardner, Rebecca Gardner, Melissa Gasparotto, Marianne Gaunt, Sara Harrington, Karen Hartman, Qian Hu, Tom Izbicki, Marty Kesselman, Nancy Kranich, Triveni Kuchi, Linda Langschied, Haipeng Li (remote), Elizabeth Leister, Mei Ling Lo, Jackie Mardikian, Rhonda Marker, Laura Mullen, Jim Niessen, Michelle Oswell, Jane Otto, Vincent Pelote (remote), Donna Schulman, Bob Sewell, Jane Sloan, Gene Springs, Eileen Stec, Farideh Tehrani, Ann Watkins (remote), Mary Beth Weber, Myoung Wilson, Mark Winston (remote), Ryan Womack, Connie Wu, Tao Yang

Marianne Gaunt called the meeting to order at 9:15 a.m.

Gaunt explained that a special meeting of the library faculty had been called to discuss the composition, charge, and status of the Committee on Scholarly Communication as a faculty or administrative committee. The CSC is beginning its 3rd year with ad-hoc status.

Gaunt called a vote to approve CSC as a standing faculty committee. By a show of hands, the faculty voted to approve the CSC as a standing faculty committee.

Gaunt reviewed the background and proposed membership of the CSC. Discussion followed on the proposed membership, which will include three elected subject liaisons and two elected digital library issues representatives. Faculty concurred that subject representation should be from those who have liaison responsibilities. The new composition will likely include fewer members than the current committee. Vibiana Bowman Cvetkovic explained that for the purpose of the by-laws, as few members as possible will be mandated to serve on the committee. The committee chair can also appoint members to fill in the gaps of knowledge that are deemed necessary to work effectively. Gaunt added that mandated members should only those that are necessary for every discussion at every meeting. There was some discussion about including in the bylaws the explanation of what is meant by digital library issues representation as expressed in the background document. Cvetkovic responded that details about committee membership will be included in the forthcoming handbook for chairs of faculty committees.

Gaunt called a vote to approve the proposed membership of the CSC. By a show of hands, the proposed membership was approved.

Gaunt reviewed the wording of the proposed change to the faculty by-laws. Discussion continued on the membership of the committee. Gaunt noted that the term of office for appointed members should be no longer than two years, but that this will be determined by the chair. Members will be appointed based on discussion within the committee. After the first year, elections for mandated members will be staggered. A few minor changes in the wording of the by-laws were discussed and the proposal was revised to reflect these changes.

Gaunt called a vote to approve the wording of the proposed change to the by-laws. By a show of hands, the wording of the proposed change was approved.

Gaunt reviewed the proposed charge of the CSC. Discussion followed on whether specific areas of activity such as RUcore and open source should be directly addressed in the committee's charge. Cvetkovic and Gaunt noted that it will be the committee's responsibility to determine which areas to discuss in their annual goals. These areas may expand or change from one year to the next. It was determined that the charge should remain broad to allow for these changes in the committee's annual goals. Boyle noted that there was no external area included in the charge related to advocacy, and the charge was revised.

Gaunt called for a vote to approve the charge, as revised. By a show of hands, the charge was approved.

Gaunt called for a vote to revise the faculty by-laws to include the CSC as a standing faculty committee, with the membership and charge as approved. By a show of hands, the revision to the by-laws was approved.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:15 am.

At 10:30 faculty reconvened with staff for a presentation by Jim Neal, Vice President for Information Services and University Librarian at Columbia University. Neal's topic was "Primal Innovation and Radical Collaboration: Deconstructing the Future of the Academic Research Library."

Respectfully submitted,
Melissa De Fino
Faculty Secretary

Committee on Scholarly Communication

Background and Justification for a standing Committee on Scholarly Communication:

Libraries play an essential role in communicating the results of scholarly research. As producers, providers, users, and teachers of scholarly research, Rutgers librarians are actively engaged in scholarly communication. The recommendation to make the Committee on Scholarly Communication a standing committee recognizes the central role that Rutgers Libraries faculty play in developing the future of scholarly communication.

The proposed membership of the standing committee includes 3 elected subject liaisons, ensuring that the diverse practices, literatures, research methodologies, and communication cultures of the disciplines are represented. Membership also includes 2 elected digital library issues representatives, ensuring that technical expertise and understanding of digital issues relating to scholarly communication are represented. Examples of areas of knowledge that digital library systems representatives may represent include but are not limited to: metadata, digital repositories, open source software, and copyright. A provision for the chair, in consultation with the committee, to add members to the committee as needed is also made.

Draft of wording as it would appear in the by-laws:

The Committee on Scholarly Communication (CSC) shall consist of three elected faculty members with liaison responsibilities to provide system-wide representation in each of three subject areas, and two elected faculty members to provide system-wide representation in digital library issues. Candidates will be nominated, and the faculty will elect one representative each for arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and two representatives for digital library issues. The term of office shall be for two years, two members shall be elected one year and three members the following year. The AUL for Collection Development and Management shall serve ex officio as a member of this committee. Additional members may be appointed as needed by the chair in consultation with the committee.


The committee is responsible for developing policies, services, and advocacy efforts that facilitate scholarly communication and support the scholarly research process.


Following the model of governance of other faculty committees, these provisions in the by-laws will apply to CSC: the committee will elect a chair, and may elect a vice-chair; records will be retained for future use by the committee, and an annual report will be distributed by June 30th; the committee will seek the advice of other groups and individuals both within and outside the University.

URL: http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/staff/groups/rul_faculty/minutes/rulfac_10-02-19.shtml
Website Feedback  |  Privacy Policy
© Copyright 1997-, Rutgers University Libraries