Minutes for October 26, 2012 Meeting

Ka Neng Au (remote), Stephanie Bartz, Natalie Borisovets, Jeanne Boyle, Bonnnie Fong, Judy Gardner, Rebecca Gardner, Marianne Gaunt (University Librarian), Tom Glynn, Karen Hartman, Tom Izbicki, Ron Jantz, Melissa Just, Nancy Kranich, Mei Ling Lo, Megan Lotts, Jackie Mardikian, Rhonda Marker, Laura Mullen, Jim Niessen, Jane Otto, Francoise Puniello, Wen-Hua Ren, Eileen Stec, Li Sun, Minglu Wang, Ann Watkins, Mary Beth Weber, Ryan Womack (Faculty Coordinator), Tao Yang (Faculty Secretary)
Ningfen Wu

Gaunt called the meeting to order at 9:15am.

1. Adoption of the Agenda

The agenda was adopted.

2. Introduction of New Faculty and Guests

Gaunt introduced two new faculty members: Angela Lawrence, Processing Archivist of IJS, and Zara Wilkinson, Reference/Instruction Librarian of Robeson. Ningfen Wu, a visiting librarian from Shanghai Tongji University of China, was present as a guest.

3. Approval of the Minutes

The June minutes were approved with a few suggested changes.

4. Old Business

Senate Open Access Policy Initiative (Otto and Mullen)

The Open Access resolution that Otto and Mullen helped draft was passed at the Senate meeting in October. They reported that there were few and friendly questions at the Senate meeting. The resolution was passed almost unanimously, with 2 no votes among over 100 people present. President Barchi personally endorsed the resolution at the meeting and the RU administration will issue a formal response later. The resolution charges the EVPAA with creating the Open Access Policy Implementation Working Group to develop an implementation plan. The implementation plan will cover a range of issues, including governance, compliance, RUcore, support for publishing on open access journals, and OA education. University Relations is working on a story about the OA policy.

5. New Business

Bylaws changes on Voting Eligibility (Womack, Lo, and Ren)

The Rules of Procedures proposed some amendments to the RUL Faculty Bylaws. A draft of the amendments was distributed at the meeting and in advance. The changes were proposed in response to a question about the involvements of NTT faculty in committees and their eligibility to vote in faculty elections. The changes are intended to make the voting more inclusive. A major change is that the RUL faculty is now defined as librarians and faculty reporting to the VP for Information Services and University Librarian. In addition, non-RUL librarians at Rutgers can become invited members of RUL faculty. Is the intention to allow RUL faculty to vote, regardless of rank and terms of services? Yes. The changes were passed unanimously.

6. Report of the University Librarian (Gaunt)

7. Report of the Faculty Coordinator (Womack)

Planning and Coordinating Committee has two goals for this year. In connection with the research services goal, there will be a post- meeting at 11am today. A discussion on faculty lines will begin in the spring. The committee also worked on the following tasks:

Gaunt added that new language about diversity is added to the job descriptions. About UMD liaisons in RUL committees, she will ask Judith Cohn of UMD to recommend names for the liaison positions if she is agreeable to this approach. UMD librarians and staff have been invited to the post-meeting and the State of the Libraries.

The meeting is adjourned at 11am.

Submitted by Tao Yang, Faculty Secretary

URL: http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/staff/groups/rul_faculty/minutes/rulfac_12-10-16.shtml
Website Feedback  |  Privacy Policy
© Copyright 1997-, Rutgers University Libraries