• Articles
  • Books & Media
  • Journals
  • Course Reserves
Search for course reserves
Search for journals, magazines, and newspapers
Search for books, music, movies, and more
Search for articles across multiple library databases

To find a journal, magazine, or newspaper article in the most popular databases in your subject area, enter your search term(s) and choose a subject from the pull-down menu. To view a complete list of indexes and databases available at Rutgers, click on View all databases. For more information see "How Do I Find an Article?"

To find books and more in the Library Catalog, enter your term(s) and select a search type in the pull-down menu. For more information see "How Do I Find a Book?"

To find a print or electronic journal in the Rutgers collections, enter its title or keywords in the title and select the appropriate search type in the pull-down menu. For more information, see "How Do I Find a Journal?"

To find a list of books, textbooks, and electronic articles placed on course reserve by your instructor, enter your instructor's last name and search. You can also use the pull-down menu to search by course title or number.

Smith Library Workshops

Reference Department

To register for a class, please fill out the Class Registration Form.
All classes meet in the Library unless other arrangements are made.
Customized training workshops are available. Please contact Roberta Bronson Fitzpatrick at 973-972-5498.


Classes Available

Library Survival Skills

An introduction to the George F. Smith Library of the Health Sciences. This class is appropriate for individuals who need to use Library resources but lack training or experience in working in these areas. The class will cover the basics of locating books, journals and other materials in the Library’s collection. The class will also cover verifying incomplete references, using full-text resources and navigating the Library’s website. Click to register for the class.

Handout: Library Survival Skills

Upcoming Classes
Monday June 15, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Monday July 13, 2015 11:00pm-12:00pm
Monday August 10, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Monday September 14, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Monday October 12, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Monday November 16, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Monday December 14, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm

Introduction to EndNote, a Bibliographic Management Software

This session enables users to create databases of bibliographic citations and to format the citations for inclusion in the references of a research paper or journal article. EndNote allows users to search remote databases using EndNote's search engine and then copy the references directly into EndNote library. Participants will learn tips on manipulating reference, and sorting references by date, author, year, etc. Click to register for the class.

Handout: EndNote Basic

Upcoming Classes
Wednesday June 3, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wednesday June 24, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wednesday July 1, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Tuesday July 28, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Wednesday August 5, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Tuesday August 25, 2015 3:00 pm-4:00 pm
Thursday September 3, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wednesday September 30, 2015 2:00pm-3:00pm
Wednesday October 7, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Thursday October 22, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Wednesday November 4, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Tuesday November 24, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Wednesday December 2, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm

Advanced EndNote, a Bibliographic Management Software

This session enables users to work with Connection Files, Import Filters and Output Styles. Additionally, attendees will learn how to access and use Manuscript templates for MS Word.  They will also be introduced the various online help resources from the University Libraries’ EndNote blog as well as the EndNote YouTube channel. Click to register for the class.

Handout: EndNote Advanced

Upcoming Classes
Wednesday June 10, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wednesday July 8, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wednesday August 12, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wednesday September 16, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wednesday October 14, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wednesday November 11, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wednesday December 9, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm

Introduction to MEDLINE Database

In this session, participants will learn how to search MEDLINE Database on the Web. The session will cover scope and coverage of the database, search options (author, title, keyword, subject) and software features (Boolean operators, Explode feature, Limit function and saving search strategies.) Click to register for the class.

Handout: Searching Medline

Upcoming Classes
Thursday June 11, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Thursday June 25, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday July 9 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Thursday July 23, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday August 6, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Thursday August 27, 2015 3:00 pm-4:00 pm
Thursday September 17, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Thursday September 24, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday October 8, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Thursday October 29, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday November 5, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Thursday November 19, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday December 10, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Thursday December 17, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm

Introduction to PsycINFO Database

The session will cover the scope, coverage, document types, selection policy, thesaurus of the Psychological Index terms and PsycINFO fields. Participants will learn tips for searching efficiently and effectively. Click to register for the class.

Handout: The Basics of PsycINFOSearching

Upcoming Classes
Friday June 19, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Friday July 17, 2014 12:00pm-1:00pm
Friday August 21, 2015 12:00 pm-1:00 pm
Friday September 18, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Friday October 16, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Friday November 20, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm
Friday December 18, 2015 12:00pm-1:00pm

Introduction to CINAHL Database

In this workshop, participants will learn the following: how to access the CINAHL Basic Search menu; how to construct a research question and use key words from the question to devise search strategies; and to identify when it is best to use the Basic vs. Advanced Search formats. Click to register for the class.

Handout: CINAHL Basic and Advanced Search

Upcoming Classes
Friday June 12, 2015 2:00pm-3:00pm
Friday July 10, 2014 2:00pm-3:00pm
Friday August 14, 2015 2:00pm-3:00pm
Friday September 11, 2015 2:00pm-3:00pm
Friday October 9, 2015 2:00pm-3:00pm
Friday November 13, 2015 2:00pm-3:00pm
Friday December 11, 2015 2:00pm-3:00pm

Using Image & Video Collections

In this workshop, participants will learn how to: navigate to each image and video resource from the George F. Smith Library homepage, the web, or iTunes App Store using a desktop or mobile computing device; create and use the features of a personal account within each resource; browse and search for images and videos within each resource; capture images and videos and associated materials from each resource to use in one’s own work. Click to register for the class.

Handout: Using Image & Video Collections

Upcoming Classes
Thursday June 11,2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday July 9, 2014 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday August 13, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday September 17, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday October 8, 2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday November 12,2015 3:00pm-4:00pm
Thursday December 10,2015 3:00pm-4:00pm