Oxford Music Online

Titles
Oxford Music Online
Grove Music Online
Access/status
Restricted
Connection note

Rutgers is limited to 11 simultaneous users of this resource.

Description

Oxford Music Online contains the full text of several music reference works, including Grove Music OnlineThe Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. It includes more than 67,000 articles on people and places, instruments and techniques, and genres and styles, including non-western and folk music. Periods covered range from ancient times to the present. Articles cover such topics as:

  • Composers, performers, music scholars, librettists, patrons, publishers, instrument makers, people in the music business, and people notable for their influence on or contribution to the world of music
  • Musical genres and forms
  • Musical instruments
  • Places
  • Organizations and institutions
  • Musicology, theory, and criticism

Some articles include images, music examples, and links to audio and video examples. Articles are written by scholars with expertise in the subject matter and include bibliographies pointing to important works of scholarship on the topic.

The majority of the content in Oxford Music Online comes from Grove Music Online, which contains the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition, 29 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition, 3 volumes).

Dates covered

Ancient times to the present.

Subjects
Vendor
Oxford University Press