MLA International Bibliography

Alert icon.

9/27/2021: EBSCO databases are experiencing linking problems. To access an EBSCO database through a working link, please click the database title in the A-Z list. Please do not use the search box autocomplete link.

Titles
MLA International Bibliography
Access/status
Restricted
Description

MLA International Bibliography is an index of scholarship on all aspects of modern languages and literature. It indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, scholarly websites, and other materials. It includes over 2.8 million citations, and over 66,000 are added each year. The database is international in scope, with citations in over 60 languages. It covers literature from all over the world, including Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. It covers the study of both natural and invented human languages, but it excludes Classical Greek and Latin and other “dead” languages.

Subjects covered include criticism, drama, film, folklore (including folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems), history of printing and publishing, language, linguistics (including history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, syntax, and translation), literary theory, literature, radio, television, and college-level teaching of language, literature, rhetoric, and composition.

This database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Bibliography Thesaurus, which can be accessed through the top menu bar links. MLA International Bibliography is the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print publication Modern Language Association Annual Bibliography.

Dates covered

1880s-present.

Resource types
Vendor
EBSCO