Twentieth Century Religious Thought Library

Twentieth Century Religious Thought Library brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s through the early 2000s. Religions represented include Buddhism, Christianity (including Catholicism and Protestantism), Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Judaism, and Taoism. Sub-collections include:

• Vol I, Christianity: Includes Catholic and Protestant perspectives as well as writings that challenged historical Christianity, including feminist theology and liberation theology. Highlights include the complete works of Dietrich Bonhoeffer in English and German; the nearly complete papers of Hans Urs Von Baltasar; the personal papers of Reinhold Niebuhr; texts by Pope Benedict XVI (Joseph Ratzinger); writings by feminist theologian Rosemary Radford Ruether; writings by Black liberation theologian James Hal Cone, and writings by Latin American liberation theologian Gustavo Gutierrez.
• Vol II, Islam: Focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition. Includes English translations of Muslim writers from around the world incorporating both Western and non-Western perspectives. Languages represented include Arabic, English (including some English translations), and French. Highlights include writings by Sadiq Jalal Al-Azm, Khaled Abou el Fadl, Fethullah Gülen, Sayyid Ahmad Khan, Said Nursî, Abdolkarim Soroush, Muhammad Tahir-ul-Qadri, and Amina Wadud.
• Vol III, Judaism: Focuses on modern Jewish theology and philosophy. Includes writings in English, Hebrew, French, Italian and German. Highlights include the Markus Brann Archive; works by Mordecai Kaplan; works by Jacob Neusner; books in post-holocaust studies; and works by women thinkers, Blu Greenberg and Hava Tirosh-Samuelson, who discuss the roles of women in Judaism.
• Vol IV, Eastern Religions: Includes materials related to Buddhism, Confucianism, Hinduism, Jainism, Taoism, and other religions originating outside the Western world. The collection includes writings by non-western and western authors. Highlights include writings by Thich Nhat Hanh, Alan Watts, Tamal Krishna Goswami, Shunryu Suzuki, Sister Nivedita, and Anantanand Rambachan. Also included is the complete run of the journal Contemporary Religions in Japan (1960-1970).
• Vol V, Religion in Video: Streaming video documentaries explore the intricacies of religious beliefs and practices, showcase religious rituals and ceremonies, and allow viewers to witness and appreciate the rich cultural heritage of many diverse religions globally. 

This collection may be cross-searched with other religion primary source collections in Religion Archive Collection (Alexander Street).