Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a platform for digitized primary source collections from the long 19th Century. Rutgers has access to 8 collections (archives) via Nineteenth Century Collections Online:
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange—includes government reports, diplomatic correspondences, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and other materials related to international relations between Asian countries and the West.
- British Politics & Society— includes papers of British statesmen, Home Office records, ordnance surveys, working class autobiographies, and other materials.
- British Theatre, Music & Literature: High and Popular Culture—includes playbills, scripts, scores, manuscripts, letters, financial papers, and other materials related to the arts.
- Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest—includes Colonial, Foreign, and War Offices Papers on Africa, personal papers, and newspapers. This collection documents exploration, military and missionary activities, and economic and political imperialism.
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection—includes 9,500 works of literature in English, French, and German, with a particular focus on the British Romantic Era.
- Photography: The World through the Lens—includes photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books, photography periodicals, and texts on the early history of photography. The collection includes photographs from Britain, Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas.
- Science, Technology, and Medicine, Part 1—includes journals, books, reports, and personal documents that explore the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge.
- Women: Transnational Networks—includes serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and images exploring gender and class issues and the suffrage movement. Highlights are manuscripts from the Mary Braddon Archive, papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and a collection of Quaker women’s diaries.
Rutgers does not have access to any other collections on this platform.
The collections include books, manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, photographs, and maps held in the British Library, the Bodleian Library, the National Archives in the U.S. & U.K., the Library of Congress, the Huntington Library, and other major libraries, archives, and government offices. Most materials are British or American, but the collections also include materials from other nations and in other languages.
Long 19th century.