U.K. History Collection (ProQuest)

The U.K. History Collection (ProQuest) contains digitized primary and secondary source materials covering the history of Great Britain. It includes the following sub-collections:

• British Periodicals: Nearly 500 titles published from the 17th century to the early 21st century. These are primarily popular titles covering areas such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
• The Cecil Papers: 30,000 digitized early-modern historical documents from the reigns of Elizabethan I and James I/VI, consisting principally of the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley (1520-1598) and his son Robert, the 1st Earl of Salisbury (1563-1612)
• Colonial State Papers: Combines the fully digitized Collection CO 1 from The U.K. National Archives (Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers) with The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739)
• John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera: Digitized archive of more than 65,000 items drawn from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera at the Bodleian Library, including advertisements, book trade documents, popular prints of artwork and landscapes, broadsides, posters for popular entertainments, and more.
• Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War: Fully digitized archive of over 1,0000 magazines published from 1914-1919 by and for people who served in the armed forces and associated welfare organizations from all nations during the First World War. All publications have been fully digitized and indexed.
• Queen Victoria’s Journals: Fully digitized archive of the 141 surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals. Also includes draft volumes and copies made by Lord Esher and Princess Beatrice, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages.

You may cross-search all the collections or choose just a specific collection to search.

U.K. History Collection (ProQuest) may be cross-searched with other history databases in ProQuest One History.