African Writers Series

Rutgers Restricted Access

Off-campus users will be prompted to log in


African Writers Series is a collection of major works in modern African Literature. It includes more than 250 full-text volumes of fiction, poetry, drama, and non-fiction prose. Major writers represented include Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih. The collection is based on the print series Heinemann’s African Writers Series. A particular strength of this collection is the inclusion of women's poetry from The Heinemann Book of African Women's Poetry. This collection was formerly a sub-collection of Literature Online .

Dates covered


Type of coverage

Full-text fiction, poetry, and drama.

Producer/content provider


Vendor/electronic presentation provider