Genealogical Resources

Pallantios family portrait, 1930

Special Collections and University Archives’ genealogical holdings provide one of the state's richest sources of information on New Jersey family history. The bulk of the records have been deposited by the Genealogical Society of New Jersey and the New Jersey State Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution. The Rutgers genealogical collection is smaller, but is also a unique resource. Most frequently used are cemetery inscriptions, family Bible records and extensive notes and compilations by professional genealogists, many of whom have spent a lifetime studying the state's early families, both prominent and obscure. Supplementing the materials in Special Collections and University Archives are a variety of source materials on microfilm available in Alexander Library's basement-level microforms reading area, as well as additional (largely non-New Jersey) printed genealogies and related books in the stacks of Alexander Library.

For more detailed information regarding holdings at Special Collections and University Archives, consult Genealogical Resources in Special Collections & University Archives and the Archibald S. Alexander Library (pdf). For additional information about New Jersey resources view the New Jersey Genealogy libguide.


Genealogical Research

We are happy to assist genealogists in their quest for specific information regarding ancestors. We will not do in-depth genealogical or historical research. If at all possible, patrons should conduct their own research on-site or hire a professional researcher to do so for them. Most of the genealogical records we have are in print and not available online. 

Please contact the Genealogical Society of New Jersey for questions related to their materials. The Society also maintains a list of professional genealogists who will conduct research for a fee. In addition, the Board for Certification of Genealogists also maintains a searchable database of professional researchers who specialize in New Jersey families.

We can provide limited genealogical lookups for specific questions about the following collections:

Bible and Family Records (Genealogical Society of New Jersey)

Inquiries require, at a minimum, a SURNAME. Other information such as first name, BIRTH, DEATH and MARRIAGE dates, TOWN, COUNTY, etc. should be provided if known.

Cemetery Records: Master File of New Jersey Gravestone Inscriptions (Genealogical Society of New Jersey)

Inquiries require, at a minimum, a SURNAME. Other information such as first name, BIRTH and DEATH dates should certainly be provided if known.

Please note that the Master File is not complete, and does not include records from every cemetery transcription in the GSNJ's holdings.

Cemetery Records: New Jersey Cemetery Records (Genealogical Society of New Jersey)

Inquiries require, at a minimum, a SURNAME, and the COUNTY and NAME of the cemetery. Please refer to the GSNJ's online Cemetery Records and Transcriptions to see what transcriptions are available.

Please note that unpublished GSNJ cemetery transcriptions may not be photocopied in their entirety; any such requests for these should be made directly to the Society)

Charles Carroll Gardner Collection

  • Card file: Essex, Union and Morris County families, early 1800s.

Inquiries require a minimum of a SURNAME and FIRST NAME.

  • Bound volumes: New Jersey families through the mid-1700s.

Inquiries require a minimum of a SURNAME and FIRST NAME.

Emigrant Register (Genealogical Society of New Jersey)

Inquiries require a minimum of a SURNAME.

Marriage Records: Middlesex County Clerk Marriage Records, 1795-1870

Inquiries require a minimum of a SURNAME and FIRST NAME; an APPROXIMATE YEAR of marriage is also recommended.