Caribbean Literature

Caribbean Literature

Caribbean Literature is a collection of poetry, drama, and fiction produced by writers of the greater Caribbean region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Suriname, and Guyane. It includes works in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. The collection includes writings dating from 1900 through the 21st century.

Some of the writers represented include George Lamming (Barbados), V. S. Naipaul (Trinidad and Tobego), Cola Debrot (Bonaire and Curaçao), Charles Corsen (Curaçao), Alejo Carpentier (Cuba), Guillermo Cabrera Infante (Cuba), Roger Mais (Jamaica), Derek Walcott (St. Lucia), Edgar Mittelholzer (Guyana), A.J. Seymour (Guyana), Leon-Gontran Damas (French Guyane), Rene Depestre (Haiti), Edgar Cairo (Suriname), Dionne Brand (Trinidad), Sam Selvon (Trinidad), Jean Rhys (Dominica), Denis Henriquez (Aruba), E. Kamau Brathwaite (Barbados), and Hugo Pos (Suriname). Creole dictionaries are another collection highlight.

Dates covered

1900-21st century.

Resource types