Human Rights Studies Online

Human Rights Studies Online is a collection of digitized primary sources, secondary sources, and streaming videos that provide documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocities worldwide from 1900 to 2010, including the Holocaust, Armenian genocide, Bosnian genocide, Cambodian Genocide, Darfur genocide, Rwandan Genocide, and more. The collection aims to amplify the voices of victims and to help prevent future human rights violations by teaching people about the terrible atrocities that humankind has perpetrated and their affront to human dignity. 

Resources for each topic guide users through the full scope of the event, including historical context, international response, prosecution of perpetrators, and steps toward rebuilding. Materials include:

• Contemporary personal accounts and artifacts;
• Contemporaneous television footage, photographs, and NGO press releases
• Government, NGO, and court documentation
• Documentaries, interviews, monographs, essays, and articles
• Selected works of arts and literature that memorialize those affected by the crimes and efforts at reconciliation
• Reference material such as maps, bibliographies, chronologies, and newly commissioned essays.

Content is provided by preeminent historical archives,  Witness.org, Journeyman Pictures, Chip Taylor Communications, NARA Archives, Basic Books, and the Harvard University Press.

Some digitized items include graphic descriptions and imagery that help to document the full extent of the human rights violations that occurred. 

This collection may be searched alongside other primary source collections in Global & International Studies Collection (Alexander Street).