Browse collections by date

This list is a work-in-progress. Links are to online finding aids or to descriptions in the library catalog.


TITLE TIME SPAN CALL #
Paleography study collection ca. 1280-1571 MC 886
John Romeyn Brodhead papers 1613-1888 MC 1458
John Alexander Symington collection 1622-1937 MC 996
Nicholas Bayard papers 1640-1800 MC 219
Woodbridge Township records 1668-1930 Ac. 2378
Robert Morris papers 1677-1943  
Charles Hartman collection 1680-1978 MC 1261
Piscataway Township records 1682-1954 MC 1359
Middlesex County records 1683-1929 MC 784
Rue-Holmes-Meirs family papers 1695-1958 MC 715
Ten Eyck family papers 1725-1920 A(Ten Eyck)
Alan H. Strong papers 1732-1931 Ac. 404
Joseph Frelinghuysen papers 1733-1948 MC 1247
Julia Wells (Wells family) papers 1738-1953 MC 727
John S. Holmes papers 1750-1877 Ac. 421
Philip Freneau collection 1753-1857 Ac. 0.993
Gertrude N. Brick papers ca. 1763-1984  
Harry B. Weiss chapbook collection 1767-1945 GB 18
Carl Woodward collection 1767-1931 Ac.0955
Neilson family papers 1768-1908 MC 933
Peter A. Voorhees papers 1772-ca. 1930 Ac. 1065
Middlesex Board of Chosen Freeholders minutes 1778-1920, 1986-1995 MC 784
Nineteenth century children's chapbook collection 1780-1946 GB 4
Marcus L. Ward papers ca, 1782-1884 MC 1020
William Cobett papers 1792-1835  
North River Steamboat Company records 1800-1858 MC 1352
New Brunswick vertical file collection 1801-present NJ 014
Northern Missionary Society in the State of New York records 1803-1833 Ac. 873
Benjamin B. Cooper papers 1804-1930 Ac. 2248
William Elmer papers 1808-1879 MC 569
Gaston family papers 1808-1960 MC 547
Timothy Johnes Darcy papers 1811-1900 MC 564
Marcus L. Ward papers 1812-1884 MC 1020
Lewis C. Beck papers 1814-1853 Ac. 2146
Ferdinand Schurman Schenck papers 1820-1881 MC 1095
Allen Henry Brown papers 1820-1907 Ac. 2777
African Association of New Brunswick minute book 1817-1824 MC 50
Sheltering Arms Children's Service records 1823-1966 MC 1385
Roebling family papers 1824-1971 MC 654
George Hammell Cook papers 1824-1918 Ac. 590
Herbert family papers 1825-1908 Ac. 265
John I. Beatty account books 1826-1886 MC 319
George Sykes papers 1835-1878  
Daniel B. Frazier Company records 1836-1958 Ac. 2370
William Elliott Griffis collection 1838-1964 MC 1015
New Brunswick Colonization Society records 1838-1854  
Philip Lindsley papers 1839-1887 MC 321
Elizabeth Cady Stanton papers 1839-1902  
Philander Betts papers 1841-1938 Ac. 263
Daniel Bailey papers 1846-1865 Ac. 2475
Rumford Chemical Works records 1848-1948 MC 1368
New Jersey trade and manufactures' catalog collection 1848-2010 NJ 009
Yznaga del Valle & Co. records 1850-1881 MC 1227
Peter Still papers 1850-1875 MC 1392
Helen-Chantal Pike collection on Asbury Park, New Jersey 1850-2007 NJ 012
Willard L. De Yoe papers 1858-1962 Ac. 2248
Brooks family papers 1861-1924 MC 795
Charles A. Philhower collection 1862-1962  
Harrison A. Williams, Jr. papers 1862-2001 MC 2
Atkinson family papers 1863-1946 Ac. 1512
Theodore H. Stanton collection 1865-1925  
Thurlow C. Haunton Jr. New Jersey railroads photograph collection 1871-2014 MC 1450
Walter E. Weyl papers 1873-1919 MC 992
Terradell family papers 1873-1983 MC 829
Sinclair New Jersey restaurant menu collection 1873-present  
Thelma Parkinson Sharp papers 1874-1976 MC 876
Michiko (Michi) Nakao collection 1874-1993 MC 1219
Julius Nelson papers 1876-1920 MC 692
Woman's Christian Temperance Union Mercer County, N.J. records 1876-1981 MC 653
New Brunswick Children's Aid Society (Children's Industrial Home of New Brunswick) records 1878-1937 MC 330
Deborah Remington papers ca. 1880-2010 MC 1454
Modern School collection  ca. 1880-2011 MC 1055
Morris County chattel mortgages 1880-1934 MC 415
Isaac S. Van DerVeer Photograph Collection (New Brunswick) 1880-1975 Ac. 3546
New Jersey Zinc Company records 1880-1986 MC 672
Passaic Home and Orphans Asylum Association records 1882-1978 MC 428
Janet Hobhouse papers ca. 1885-1991  
Trenton Trust Company records 1887-1972 MC 1053
Middlesex General Hospital Aid Association records 1889-1962 MC 365
Lenox, Inc. records 1889-2005 MC 1390
New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Stations in New Brunswick records 1889-1962 RG 18/E0
Essex County Jewish Welfare collection (Jewish Counseling and Service Agency) ca. 1890-ca. 1961 Ac. 2366
Tracy Stebbins Voorhees papers 1890-1974 MC 1407
Farmingdale collection 1890-1995 MC 1056
Robert J. Alexander papers. 1890-1999 MC 974
National Musical String Company records 1891-1978 MC 890
Free Acres Association records 1892-1996 MC 1147
J.F.C. Fuller papers 1893-1965 MC 1250
Charles A. Hoffman Funeral Parlor records 1894-1961 MC 396
Paul A. Schack papers 1895-1983 MC 675
Order of the founders and patriots of America New Jersey Society records 1896-1916 MC 426
Frances Grant papers 1897-1986 MC 671
Mary Roebling papers 1897-1994 MC 1107
New Jersey State Nurses Association records ca. 1901-2009 MC 1413
Louis F. Bishop Jr. papers 1901-1986 MC 70
Sinclair New Jersey cookbook collection 1902-2006 NJ 003
Mary L. Dyckman papers 1903-1982 MC 1148
New Jersey postcard collection 1903-1989 NJ 018
Council for Human Services in New Jersey records

1904-1992

MC 913
Roy M.D. Richardson papers 1905-1968 MC 1166
Ernest Thompson papers 1907-1971 MC 1180
Women's Political Union of New Jersey records 1908-1910  
Congregation B'Nai Jacob, Passaic, NJ records 1908-1979 MC 674
Consumers Research, Inc records 1910-1983 MC 3
New Jersey Woman  Suffrage Association records 1911-1938 MC 1435
Arthur D. Waley papers 1912-1961 Ac. 1993
William T. Cahill congressional papers 1912-1996 MC 1226
Latin American newspaper clippings 1913-1914 Ac. 3190
Consumers League of New Jersey records  1913-1979 MC 1090
Adele De Leeuw papers 1913-1987 MC 810
Sydney Goldmann papers 1913-1984 MC 67
Bernard Bush collection on the KKK 1913-2010 MC 1402
Mary Norton papers 1914-1960 MC 1201
Noel Sargent papers 1916-1969 MC 1375
Selman A. Waksman papers 1916-1977 R-MC 003
Lena Anthony Robbins papers 1917-1945 MC 1204
Congregation Poile Zedek, New Brunswick records 1917-1968 MC 739
Boy Scouts of America, Troop 53,  Jamesburg records 1917-1972 Ac. 2840
Bildner Family Kings Super Markets records 1917-2010 MC 1409
Elmer T. Hutchinson of New Jersey printers and publishers records ca. 1920-1954 MC  866
William F. Augustine photograph collection ca. 1920-ca. 1970 Ac. 2765
New Brunswick Rotary Club records 1920-1964 MC 787
Temple Beth El records 1920-1985 MC 735
Congregation Ahavath Achim B'nai Israel, Irvington records 1920-1986 MC 737
League of Women Voters of New Jersey records 1920-1991 MC 1082
American Chemical Society records--North Jersey section 1920-2008 MC 1408
William F. Augustine photograph collection ca. 1920-ca. 1979  
Orlie Pell papers ca. 1920-1973 Ac. 2860
Congregation Knesseth Israel records 1921-1987 MC 736
Carol E. and Robert B. Dokes papers 1922-2000  
Brendan T. Byrne papers 1924-2008 MC 1215
Clifford Case papers 1925-1982 MC 656
Charles H. Detwiller architectural papers 1927-1983 MC 1104
I. Robert Kriendler collection 1928-1965 MC 908
American Association of University Women (AAUW) records--NJ Division 1928-1985 Ac. 3231
John Maurer papers 1928-1987 MC 832
New Jersey Water Environment Association records 1928-2011 MC 855
Lynd Ward papers 1929-1937 GA 10
John DePol collection 1930-2004 GB 2
Ben Shahn estate collection 1931-1991 GA 19
New Jersey master plans 1931-2004  
Winifred Milius Lubell collection 1933-2014 GB 8
Borough of Roosevelt historical collection 1933-1996 MC 1060
Records of the Borough of Roosevelt 1934-1994 MC 1057
Marian Stephenson Olden papers 1934-1970 MC 1086
Bernard Bryson Shahn etchings 1935-1990 GA 12
Dean Anderson Gallo congressional paper 1935-1994 MC 996
National Maritime Union of America recods 1937-1977 MC 718
Valentin Kenner papers 1937-1967 MC 1011
International Union of Electronic etc, Workers (IUE), president office records 1938 (c)-1965 MC 1197
Archibald Stevens Alexander papers 1939-1979 MC 1190
Congregation Adas Israel records 1939-1986 MC 738
Rutgers University collection of children's literature 1939-1991 Ac. 3078
Neal Ranauro photograph collection ca. 1940-1980 MC 919
Miriam Schapiro archives on women artists (multiple collections) ca. 1940-2016  
E.H. Tepper Collection on World War II posters 1940-1945 GB1
Sidney Margolius papers 1940-1980 MC 1308

Miniature fine press and artists' book collection

1940-2000 GB 7A
Art Educators of New Jersey records 1940-2016 MC 877
American Council of Voluntary Agencies for Foreign Service records 1942-1984 MC 655
Harry Kantor papers 1946-1981 MC 1013
Abram N. Spanel papers 1946-1985 MC 176
Frances Manola collection 1946-2014 GA 13
American Labor Party of the State of New York records 1947-1956 Ac. 2245
Institute for World Order records 1948-1982 MC 1275
Janet Hobhouse papers 1948-1991 MC 1111
Charles R. Howell papers 1949-1955 MC 269
Congress of Industrial Organisations (CIO) Industrial Union Councils, NJ records 1950-1957 Ac. 2440
John Ross collection 1950-2009 GA 15
New Jersey Academy of Science records 1951-1979 MC 1338
Jerry Cunliffe theatrical papers  1951-1985 MC 901
Siegfried Sassoon papers 1952-1966 MC 847
Blanche Grambs papers 1953-2004 MC 1463
Congregation Sharri Sholom, South Brunswick records 1955-1979 MC 1040
Robert Ardrey papers (restricted) 1955-1980 MC 190
Citizens Committee for Higher Education in NJ records 1956-1971 Ac. 2676
Eone Harger papers 1956-1982 MC 1260
Suellen Glashausser papers 1956-2001 MC 1260
Transatlantic Review records 1957-1982 MC 1422
Clare Romano collection 1957-2012 GA 14
Al Blaustein collection 1960-2011 GB 10
Edward J. Patten papers 1963-1980 MC 1042.1
Shirley Chisholm papers 1963-1994 MC 1194
Erma Angevine consumer papers 1963-1998 MC 122
James J., Howard papers 1965-1986 MC 677
Tom O'Horgan theatrical papers 1965-1991 MC 927
Faith Ringgold papers 1967-1999 MC 1213
Andrew Maguire papers 1969-1983 MC 670
Frank L. Lautenberg papers 1969-2013 MC 1464
Carol Hamoy papers ca. 1970-2016 MC 1459
Frances Barboza-Clark papers 1970-2002 MC 1397
Judith K. Brodsky papers 1971-1993 MC 1187
Contemporary Women's Artists files 1971-2015 MC 1400
Mary H. Dana Women Artists Series collection 1971-2015 MC 1403
Women's Caucus for Art records 1972-1986 MC 883
New Jersey Coalition for Fair Broadcasting records 1973-1983 MC 1341
SIGNS: Journal of Women in Culture and Society records 1974-1984 MC 652
Robert Heide theatrical papers 1964-1986 MC 917
Pinelands Cultural Society records 1974-1978 MC 940
Pacific/Asian Coalition of New Jersey Chapter records 1974-2007 MC 1419
New Jersey Folk Festival records 1974-2013 MC 748
Millicent Fenwick papers 1975-1982 MC 834
World Hunger Year records 1975-1984 Ac. 3222
Gloria Feman Orenstein collection on women artists 1975-2012 MC 1460
James Florio congressional papers 1975-1989 MC 780
Folk Project records 1976-2005 MC 1229
New York Feminist Art Institute records 1976-1990 R-MC 892
Somerset County Board of Realtors--Somerset County Multiple Listing Service records 1976-1991 MC 1420
Heresies Collective records 1977-1995 MC 1041
Philippine Nurses Association of America records 1978-2012 MC 1438
New Jersey Pinelands Commission records 1979-1989 MC 783
New Jersey Book Arts Archive 1979-2003  
Sisters in Crime records 1979-2004 MC 1105
New Jersey Association of College Admission Counseling records 1979-2006 MC 1417
Suellen Glashausser Artists' Books Collection 1980-2000 GA 16
Bernard J. Dwyer papers  1981-1992 MC 906
New Brunswick Music Scene Archive 1981-present NJ 004
Monroe Berkowitz arbitration case files 1984-1992 MC 931
Women's Project of New Jersey records 1984-2004 MC 833
Guerrilla Girls posters 1985-1994 MC 1461
New Democratic Coalition records 1986-1991 MC 952
Heritage Quilt Project of New Jersey records 1986-2004 MC 1223
Somerset County Cultural Diversity Committee records 1994-2011 MC 1420
Feminist Art Project collection 2005-2012 MC 1456
William Fernekes oral history collection re Clifford P. Case 2005-2008 MC 1436
New Jersey regional zine collection 2013-present NJ 010
Sinclair New Jersey beer collection 2016-present NJ 013
New Jersey portrait collection Undated NJ 015
Hymnals collection Undated Ac. 7527