We're constantly working to expand our collections to meet your research and teaching needs. Here are the databases and other online collections acquired over the past 18 months. Please also check out the databases we are considering for purchase.
Loeb Classical Library
Collection of over 500 classical Greek and Latin works in all genres with page-by-page English translations.
Global Press Archive
Contains digitized historical news sources from around the world. On this platform, Rutgers has access to the newspaper collections that are available via Open Access.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Urban Studies
A collection of detailed annotated bibliographies for important topics in urban studies. Given the multidisciplinary nature of urban studies, it includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, architecture, planning, engineering, environmental science, and legal studies.
Perseus Digital Library
Digital texts and images covering the history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus additional historical materials from other periods and locations.
A free archive of preprints, working manuscripts, and postprints in the psychological sciences.
African American Newspapers, Series 1 (Readex)
A collection of 280 digitized newspapers from over 35 U.S. states published by and for African Americans.
A free online archive of preprint and postprint manuscripts in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
A portal for research that indexes publications in astronomy, astrophysics, physics, and general science publications, including all arXiv e-prints.
A free online archive of unpublished preprint manuscripts in the life sciences.
A collection of educational resources produced by the American College of Cardiology (ACC).
A hub of scholarly information in high energy physics. Its core is a database of scholarly literature in high energy physics, and it also includes related information of interest to physicists, including information about authors, jobs, seminars, conferences, institutions, and experiments.
South Asia Open Archives (SAOA)
An open access collection of digitized primary source materials from and about South Asia. It includes materials in the arts, humanities, and social sciences in English and other languages of the region.
USGS Publications Warehouse
The official index and public access point for United States Geological Survey (USGS)-authored publications. It includes a wide variety of content types, including USGS publication series, journal articles, books, book chapters, other government and nongovernment publications, and conference proceedings.
A free index of scholarship in pure and applied mathematics. It covers all areas of pure mathematics and mathematics applications in other fields, including natural sciences, computer science, economics, and engineering.
Children’s Literature and Culture
A digitized collection of printed literature for children produced from the 1820s through the 1920s. The collection focuses on literature published in the Americas, but it also includes many sources published in Europe.
A digitized collection of primary sources from a global range of Christian missions, churches, and denominations produced throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. Geographic areas represented include Africa, East and South Asia, Australasia and the Pacific, and the Americas.
A free index of scholarship in pure and applied mathematics. covers all areas of pure mathematics and mathematics applications in other fields, including natural sciences, computer science, economics, and engineering.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
A database, based on the noted print Latin dictionary of the same name, that covers the Latin language as recorded in printed manuscripts dating from the classical period through 600 A.D.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
A collection of digitized newspapers originally published by incarcerated persons in United States prisons for the years of 1800-2020.
A collection of streaming lectures for continuing medical education (CME/CE) for a variety of specialties, presented by experts from leading institutions.
LWW Health Library - Premium Basic Sciences Collection
A collection of over 60 current textbooks on core and fundamental medical science topics, including anatomy, microbiology, pathology, physiology, and more.
The New York Times
Provides full access to all New York Times digital content, including news, multimedia, reviews, opinions, blogs, videos, podcasts and newsletters.
A collection of over 150 art and architecture e-books and over 32,000 images of art objects.
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Surveys of common subjects throughout human history.
LEF Digital Archive
Contains the complete run of the influential Soviet art journals LEF, published from 1923 to 1925, and Novyi LEF, published from 1927 to 1928.
Translated Texts for Historians E-Library
Major historic texts dating from from 300 to 800 A.D. translated into English.
Age of Exploration
A collection of digitized primary sources depicting key events in European maritime exploration from 1410-1920.
American History, 1493-1945
A collection of digitized primary sources depicting the history of the United States of America from the earliest settlers to World War II.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
A collection of digitized primary sources from the 17th to mid-20th century depicting American Indian history in the United States, Canada, and Mexico from American Indian and European perspectives.
American Indian Newspapers
A collection of digitized American Indian newspapers from the United States and Canada dating from 1828 to 2016.
A collection of digitized primary sources depicting the history of westward expansion in the United States from the early 18th to the mid-20th centuries.
Apartheid South Africa: 1948-1980
A collection of digitized British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices dating from 1948 to 1980.
Area Studies: Japan
A collection of digitized primary sources documenting, from a Western perspective, the political, social, and cultural history of Japan from the 1400s to the 20th century.
China, America and the Pacific: Trade & Cultural Exchange
A collection of digitized primary sources depicting, from a primarily Western perspective, the history of North American trade and cultural interactions with China from the 18th through the early 20th century.
China: Culture and Society
A collection of pamphlets, dating from 1750 to 1929, digitized from the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, which is one of the major English language collections of literature on China in the Western world.
China: Trade, Politics & Culture
A collection of digitized primary sources depicting, from a primarily Western perspective, trade and cultural exchange with China from the 18th through the 20th centuries.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals
A collection of digitized primary sources originally produced by the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society, and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) between 1804 and 2009.
A collection of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives of the United Kingdom in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them.
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
A collection of digitized British government documents produced by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, 1834-1966.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969
A collection of digitized British government documents produced by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, 1833-1969.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
A collection of digitized British government documents produced by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, 1839-1969.
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
A collection of digitized British government documents produced by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, 1824-1961.
East India Company
A collection of the digitized India Office Records held by the British Library in London.
Eighteenth Century Drama
A collection of nearly every play manuscript submitted for license in the United Kingdom from 1737-1824.
Eighteenth Century Journals
A collection of unique and rare periodicals representing the wide range of English language print culture in the long 18th century.
First World War
A collection of primary sources produced by soldiers, civilians, and governments on both sides of the conflict and in multiple theatres of war.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
A collection of files from the British Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) regarding China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
A collection of files from the British Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) regarding India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.
Foreign Office Files for Japan
A collection of files from the British Foreign Office regarding Japan.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981
A collection of files from the British Foreign Office regarding the Middle East.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
A collection of primary sources documenting European migration to and colonization of Africa, Australasia and North America.
Gender: Identity and Social Change
A collection of primary sources depicting gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement, and the men’s movement.
A collection of primary sources documenting British travel to the European continent from the 16th through the 19th centuries.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising in America
A collection of publications, reports, research, memoranda, correspondence, meeting minutes, creative briefs, scripts, speeches, newsletters, artwork, and advertisements produced by J. Walter Thompson, a major American advertising agency.
Jewish Life in America, c.1654-1954
A collection of primary sources from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Mass Tourism
A collection of primary sources documenting the development of mass tourism from the mid-19th through the 20th century.
Literary Manuscripts: Victorian Manuscripts from the Berg Collection
A collection of Victorian manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of the New York Public Library.
Literary Manuscripts: 17th and 18th Century Poetry from University of Leeds
A collection of manuscripts from the Brotherton Library Collection at the University of Leeds. The collection’s primary focus is poetry, but the manuscripts also include songs, riddles, recipes, musical scores, plays, miscellanies, commonplace books, political works, and religious texts.
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive
A collection of primary sources from the archives of the Stationers’ Company, which controlled the early British publishing industry.
London Low Life
A collection documenting popular culture in 19th century London consisting of a wide variety of material types, such as fast literature, street ephemera (posters, advertising, playbills, ballads, and broadsides), penny fiction, cartoons, chapbooks, street cries, tourist guides and topographies, and swells’ guides to London prostitution, gambling, and drinking dens.
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
A collection of the complete Cabinet conclusions (minutes) and memoranda of the government of British Prime Minister Harold Macmillan.
Market Research and American Business Reports, 1935-1965
A collection of the complete digitized reports of midcentury marketing expert Ernest Dichter. Material types include primarily reports, but proposals, pilot studies, memorandums, letters, supporting material, and advertising images are also included.
Mass Observation Online
Archive of the organization Mass-Observation, a United Kingdom social research organization founded in 1937 to document the actions of ordinary Britons in everyday life.
Medical Services and Warfare
A collection of primary sources documenting medical history during times of armed conflict dating from the mid-19th to the mid-20th century.
A collection of Edward Sylvester Morse's written observations, with hand-drawn sketches, of life in Japan.
Migration to New Worlds
A collection of primary sources documenting migration from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe, and Asia to North America and Australasia.
The Nixon Years, 1969-1974
The complete files of the United Kingdom Foreign & Commonwealth Office regarding Richard Nixon’s presidency of the United States.
A collection of digitized writings by Early Modern women. A variety of genres are represented, including poetry, religious writing, autobiographical material, diaries, drama, cookery and medical recipes, and account books.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
A collection of primary sources representing mass culture. Material types include photographs, posters, manuscripts, pamphlets, typescripts, and ephemera.
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
A collection of primary sources documenting the advertising and use of health treatments marketed directly to the American public.
Race Relations in America
A collection of primary sources originally produced by the Race Relations Department at Fisk University, including over 100 hours of audio recordings of speeches given by prominent members of the Civil Rights movement, surveys, case studies, photographs, and scrapbooks.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
A collection of original verse manuscripts, working notebooks, and correspondence of William Wordsworth, as well as materials from other Romantic poets and artists.
Service Newspapers of World War II
A collection of newspapers originally produced by members of various service branches on both sides of the conflict.
Shakespeare in Performance: The Folger Shakespeare Library Prompt Books
A collection of over 1,000 rare and unique prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda
A collection of digitized films originally produced in communist countries during the 20th century. Films were produced in the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, Korea, East Germany, and Eastern Europe.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home
A collection from major department stores of catalogues, pamphlets, trade cards, and other marketing materials originally directed toward the American consumer.
Victorian Popular Culture
A collection of primary sources depicting popular entertainment in Britain, the United States, and Europe in the long 19th century.
Virginia Company Archives
A collection of primary sources from the archives of the Virginia Company of London, an English joint-stock company chartered to establish colonial settlements in North America.
World’s Fairs: A Global History of Expositions
A collection of primary sources documenting over 200 fairs and global expositions, ranging chronologically from the Crystal Palace exhibition of 1851 to the Milan Expo 2015.
A legal research database containing case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, constitutions, law review articles, and other types of legal content. Its focus is state and federal primary source materials.
Provides legal news and current awareness tools in a wide variety of law practice areas. It is updated every business day.
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law
Two encyclopedias (Public International Law and International Procedural Law) containing peer-reviewed entries by legal experts on nearly every aspect of international law.
NCLC Digital Library
A set of consumer law treatises produced by staff attorneys of the National Consumer Law Center.
Oxford Legal Research Library
A collection of leading legal works in international commercial law, international commercial arbitration, financial and banking law, and private international law.
Oxford Scholarship Online
A multidisciplinary collection of over 16,000 ebooks published by Oxford University Press published through 2022.
U.S. Constitutional Law
Provides the full text of current and historical state and federal constitutions. State constitutions are accompanied by article-by-article commentaries.
A 3D anatomy visualization database. Our subscription includes Human Anatomy Atlas; Muscle Premium; Skeleton Premium; Physiology Animations; and Heart & Circulatory Premium.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection, Second Edition
Contains over 1500 documentaries on contemporary social issues by producers, distributors, and independent filmmakers from around the world.
RIPM Jazz Periodicals
Over 100 full-text and full-image jazz journals. Its focus is on historic titles that ceased publication in the 20th century.
U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive
Over 4900 complete full-page issues of U.S. News and World Report (1948-1984) and its three predecessor titles, United States Daily (1926-1933), United States News (1933-1948), and World Report (1946-1948). Each issue has been scanned and indexed from cover to cover, including advertisements.
New York Academy of Sciences
The complete digitized archive of the New York Academy of Sciences.
Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland
The complete digitized archive of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland.
China Data Online
Detailed official statistics on the population and economy of China.
Over 5000 eBooks, including monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, mostly in the social sciences.
African American Communities
Primary source material related to African American community life from the second half of the 19th century through the 20th.
Medieval Travel Writing
Primary source material describing real and fictitious travel in the Middle Ages, with published editions and secondary sources. The main geographic focus is the Holy Land, India, and China.
National Social Sciences Database (China)
A resource hosted at the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, the National Social Sciences Database (China) provides full-text access to about 10 million articles from over 2,000 Chinese journals in social sciences and humanities.
Black Women Writers
Over 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays by women writers from the African nations and African Diaspora, documenting their identities, cultural backgrounds and social activism.
ANCC AGACNP Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Board Review
More than 1800 ANCC-style practice questions that can be used to prepare for the AGACNP board exam, with detailed explanations.
Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGPCNP) Board Review Question Bank
A question bank of over 1450 Adult-Gerontology Primary Care NP board review practice questions with detailed explanations for both correct and incorrect responses.
Family Nurse Practitioner ANCC Board Review Questions
More than 1850 ANCC Family Nurse Practitioner board review practice questions with detailed explanations for both correct and incorrect responses.
Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Board Review
A question bank following the exam content outline for ANCC, PPCNP-BC, PNCB, CPNP-PC, AACN, and ACCNS-P certifications.
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Board Review
Practice questions for the PMHNP-BC board certification exam that provides an assessment of the entry-level clinical knowledge and skills of nurse practitioners.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: U.S. Northeast Recent
Indexing and full page images of recent issues of the Home News Tribune (East Brunswick) and the Courier-Post (Camden). It also includes indexing and some full text for 6 other regional newspapers.